We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coventry City Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Coventry City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Do not stay here if you do not smoke cannabis, or even appreciate the smell. Also the following defects were found during our overnight stay: External entrance / exit door tampered with Shower rooms defective, and wreaking of smoke toilets completely saturated in urine!! Rudevstaff member barging within room when we had just left, not obvious we were not coming...

1Thank DaveG24
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. Please, note that Formule 1 is fully non smoking hotel and regular fire safety checks are done both internally as well as by external company. Also Health and Safety checks are done in the hotel and I can only assure you that our bedroom windows fully comply...

Reviewed 2 July 2011

Thank charliechat85
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 26 June 2011

Great service, wonderful helpful staff, bus into town from outside the front door. Only problem was a defective card swipe at the front entrance. Get it fixed accor! Then its 5 stars. Formule 1 is a great budget brand. I would recommend it to anyone, except fussy Americans, of course.

Thank runton
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive feedback. It is very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Let me assure you that the problem you experienced with key card will be followed up. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed for one night after attending a concert at the Ricoh. Was just wanting something cheap in a good location and this fitted the bill perfectly. Pleasantly surprised with the room, very clean, comfy newish bedding and the decor was simple and modern. The shared showers and toilets were self cleaning cubicles so seemed clean whenever I used them and...

Thank roxyheartsus
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again. Joanna/ General Manager.

Reviewed 31 May 2011

On booking this hotel for the kings of Leon concert I booked this hotel on location to the centre and it was the first to pop up so u I went for it. I have stated at the etap hotel in Cardiff and assumed this would be the same standard!! How wrong. I arrived from a long journey to be...

1Thank Southwalesjrthomas
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that on this occassion the communal toilets in Formule 1 Hotel were not communicated clearly enough. I am also sorry that the cleanliness standards of them were affected when you needed to use them. I can assure you that they are cleaned on a regular basis during the day. We treat...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After getting my swipe key from the Ibis across the way I checked into my room. The room itself was clean but a bit scruffy. There were cigarette burns on the (all plastic) furniture, the window handle was snapped off and so wouldn't open and the decor was non-existent. However, having said all that, I did only pay £18 a...

Thank sleepytimeok
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Formul1 Coventry. I’m pleased that you quite enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about teh bathroom cleanliness as well as the bedroom disadvantages reported in your review. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I wanted a cheap and cheerful overnight stay after a long and tiring ride on a motorcycle rally around Wales. The hotel is in the centre of town and is alongside the Ibis. The F1 reception was uninviting and a note pinned on the wall said to go the Ibis to book in. Here the staff were friendly and checked...

Thank InvictaMoto
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. I am sorry that despite security being on duty each night, you did not have good night sleep due to the noise. I have shared your feedback with Housekeeping Department and am currently investigating the matter. Please feel free to contact me on 02476 250 500 to...

Reviewed 17 April 2011

I have stayed in a lot of budget accommodation but this was by far the worst. To be fair on first impressions the room was clean and adequate, but the lack of toilets in the room was disappointing. I could have coped with a normal, but clean shared bathroom, but what is provided is a plastic box with an integral...

Thank keddekat
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us at Formule 1 Coventry Centre. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Please, let me inform you that we have recently installed additional bathroom extraction fan so that the humidity you mentioned is significantly reduced. I have also shared your...

Reviewed 11 February 2011

I have stayed in many low cost locations as well as the very best, This place was booked for me to stay in whilst doing some sub contract work in the Coventry Area. The place was awful, the room smelt of smoke, the bed sheets were not clean and the ablutions were shocking. There was hassle booking in as the...

Thank awayalotSwansea
An Accor traveller
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Thank An Accor traveller

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#15 of 39 in Coventry
513 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
1.1 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
1.5 km away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#26 of 39 in Coventry
444 reviews
1.8 km away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#31 of 39 in Coventry
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Coventry City Hotel

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: €49 - €74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Coventry City Hotel Coventry
Formule 1 Hotel Coventry
Coventry City Hotel England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coventry City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles 534travellingm, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles christH8765OH, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms far away from toilets will in theory be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles craigj854, 9 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Ask for one far from the bathrooms, as you'll get less traffic in front of your door that way.”
 of 5 bubbles PastryNinja, 6 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Don't stay there END OF!”
 of 5 bubbles SAP91, 22 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5