We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Angus Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Angus Hotel
The Royal Angus Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 816: English reviews
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just came back from a weekend break at this hotel and i have to say all good reports. We were only there for 2 nights, staff were very helpful in explaining where everything was, which is all on 2nd floor, the bar and the restaurant . As we only had breakfast here, we found the food very good... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Only stopped 1 night , hotel seemed in decent condition but showing some signs of age .Check in was slow as they were struggling to find my reservation , they claimed it was the fault of the booking site but who knows . There was a guy booking in at the same time and he had to leave as they... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul h
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy check-in and standard room - strange wardrobe arrangements - not that accessible as at the bottom of the bed - no pen or paper in the room - would have been useful and also no information on telephone so in order to phone another room you have to phone recepetion. Very good breakfast - but no spare cutlery -... More 

Helpful?
Thank NJAH1962
Penzance
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, nice easy walk into the city centre. The room was well equipped and comfortable. The Bar however, did not have any beer. (actually, they had two bottles!) and a very Limited choice of wine. On returning from a trip to the centre, at 4pm. Our rooms had not been made up (despite leaving request on the door). Which... More 

Helpful?
Thank BlueHarbour
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So the room is comfortable if cosy and for those that think there has been a refurb...there hasn't...stayed here before it changed hands and it is exactly the same! The restaurant food was good and the staff who served us accommodating...but that is where the praise ends. The bar closes at 11pm...well actually the shutters went down well before then... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amanda S

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst my initial impressions about this hotel would not have put me off returning, the service and food in Monty's Restaurant was such an unpleasant experience, that I do not intend to return. I had high hopes for my stay when I walked into what appears to have been a recently refurbished reception. The fact that I had to wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank 1066Tim
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked this as it was close to two things we were planning to do and had a voucher. We parked at B4 which cost £1 for 24 hours on a sat or Sunday up to Christmas. The room was adequate and although the bed springs made a strange noise it was comfortable . Breakfast was a typical average hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ninapup
Simon D, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ninapup, Thanks for the feedback! I'm really sorry you feel your experience in the bar did not meet your expectations and I will ensure this is acted on by the food and beverage team. I know we were exceptionally busy on Saturday with the restaurant booked out but this shouldn't have impacted the service and quality of food. Due... More 

Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really, whilst nothing was perhaps outstanding, there was nothing at all to complain about either. Location was good, central enough for walking into the city centre (about 10 mins or so) yet far enough out that it seemed quiet. Car park attached to hotel, plenty of spaces. Room was adequete, bed was very comfy! Breakfast decent too. Not left wanting.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
Simon D, Front Office Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul A Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review of your stay. I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Ilana du Preez Reception Manager More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A great hotel for a city break. The rooms are amazingly comfortable and warm. It's a great location for the city centre, within about 5 mins walk to 1st little pub. The staff are so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Even when we came back at 12:30am and the TV remote didn't work it was sorted within minutes. The breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank L0ul0u78
Simon D, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi L0ul0u78, Smashing review thanks very much. We all love receiving great feedback & we're so happy you had a fantastic trip to Birmingham. You have loads of detail in the review which is brilliant and we'll look at the shower height point that you raised to see if there is anything we can do. Keep posting your reviews. Kind... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Only stayed one night on a shirt business trip. The hotel reception, bar and restaurant look like they have been recently refurbished. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. The room I stayed in was very small considering it was a double and was definitely looking tired and need of a refresh. The room had some sound insulation but was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cadazan
Simon D, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cadazan, Many thanks for posting the review & I agree some of the rooms can be cosy. We are hoping that at some point in the near future we will be modernised but we do have a good programme in place to keep the rooms clean and well maintained. Once again thank you for taking the time to review... More 

389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Deluxe (23)
Viewed
Disabled Access (21)
Viewed
Double (21)
Viewed
Family (21)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single or Small Double (19)
Viewed
Suite (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#24 of 141 in Birmingham
858 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 141 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#7 of 141 in Birmingham
2,153 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Conference Aston Hotel
#49 of 141 in Birmingham
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Angus Hotel, part of The Hotel Collection, is a welcoming, contemporary hotel close to the city's famous Bullring. Located in central Birmingham, The Royal Angus Hotel is an excellent choice for discovering Britain's second-largest city. Local highlights include the Bullring Shopping Centre, with several theme parks and other outdoor attractions within easy driving distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Angus Hotel

Address: St. Chads Queensway, Birmingham B4 6HY, England (Formerly Thistle Birmingham City Centre, The Royal Angus)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: €51 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Angus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Royal Angus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Birmingham City Hotel Birmingham
Thistle Hotel Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Angus Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Angus Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good value unless you get decent deal , full price is way to much”
 of 5 bubbles 135paulh, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms that face out onto the busy road junction outside.”
 of 5 bubbles 1066Tim, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 537 is very generously sized”
 of 5 bubbles Lolaandrews, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floor at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles NinaT884, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go high level”
 of 5 bubbles Alanavfc, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay