We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,008 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,004: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel, staff and surrounding area was excellent. Unfortunately there were works taking place and this impacted on our stay but we received a full refund without asking for one. If it was not for this it would have got top marks.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nebloc
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

View of the building works from room 312. No parking here at all and tricky access with the building work on site. As notified on the website the rooms here are small. I had only 12 inches my side of the bed and the bed was shorter than normal. Clean and very comfortable though and in a perfect location for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila r
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Shocking hotel not even prem inn standarfs, rooms tiny and place a buiding site. Only positive was the staff were all very friendly and trying their best. Bar didnt have much choice and food wasnt great. There was a constant noise in room coming from thermometer kept waking me up with a start all through the night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny60268
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jenny Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. While I'm pleased the team looked after you, I'm really sorry to hear your room & meal wasn't up to the usual standard you've experienced while staying with Premier Inn. It's particularly disappointing you were kept awake throughout the night by a noise from the thermostat. This has been...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I arrived to a building site, not great. I got to my room after a shaky ride in the elevator, two single beds (different heights) bolted together. Obviously not perfect bed perfect pillows as advertised. I went down to grab a bite to eat, wouldn't usually rat in a hotel but as it was valentines day didn't want to dine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qGonga
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel. I am sorry that your recent stay with us was not up to our usually high standards. We pride ourselves on the great service and experience we offer and so I apologise we let you down on this occasion. I am sorry you were...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Premier Inns are always a good bet in my view. The staff at check in here, were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The room is exactly what you know you are going to get. The staff moved me to a double room with canal view because the hotel was not full. The hotel is very well situated. No more than 10...

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 70weekender
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff absolutely wonderful...and because of some loud disrespectful drunks waking us up in the early hours, we had a full refund on the room without even asking!!! and it was not even the hotels fault! Customer service was above and beyond and although major renovation work is going on, it was still a lovely hotel.

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley L
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have nothing positive to say! The room was small,the shower had a curtain,which is unhygienic, you expect in a new establishment they would have a screen for hygiene purposes, the bed had a summer duvet on and its early February, and I would have got more heat off a candle than I did from the heater,had to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephinew1973
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Josephine, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this...

staffordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at the Premiere Inn as I have used them before, good clean and tidy. But this time we felt as if we where staying in one of the more expensive hotels in the area . We had a few problems with the booking, but Peter the duty manager was fantastic and sorted us out . It was our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adrian1664
Stanmore Middx
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having just returned from a business trip where we stayed one night in this hotel I really felt I had to comment on how poor I think this premier inn is compared to other premier inn hotels. The hotel itself is in a very good position in the centre of Birmingham, however does not have a car park and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevmarc
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night without breakfast. The room was damp, cold and in need of a deep clean. Worse still, the room was next to an electrical cupboard, which generated a constant humming noise that could be heard through earplugs. The bathroom was clean, but tatty with a faint smell of damp and the toilet. The hotel building is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
WhitbreadHotels, Premier Inn Team at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to review our Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience staying with us as it was not up to the standards you were expecting. We aim to ensure every stay is perfect and so I apologise we let you down on this...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 115 in Birmingham
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 115 in Birmingham
1,031 reviews
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#55 of 115 in Birmingham
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: €63 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Refurbish with better sound insulation and air conditioning.”
 of 5 bubbles petm2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor canal view”
 of 5 bubbles marka467, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the canal”
 of 5 bubbles LOVEOURHOLIDAYS60, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Car park is currently closed nearest one they direct to on website is pay and display so take change its 6 for 24 hours”
 of 5 bubbles SerenaT641, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Canal side is probably quieter whilst building works underway.”
 of 5 bubbles Alan5001, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5