We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

913 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 896: English reviews
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a night for a Christmas party at the NEC. Check in was quick and easy. Staff were helpful throughout and welcoming. Room was warm and comfy. Shower was powerful and the beds comfy. To say it was so close to the airport I never once heard a plane. Breakfast in the morning ( included in the price)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last Saturday night for our visit to the motorbike live at the NEC The hotel is spotless the moment you walk in and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and clean and had all the facilities you could ask for. The ac units in the rooms are great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpm74
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the night after attending a concert at The Genting Arena. Took a taxi from hotel which was easy to do. Hotel comfortable and every thing you need was available. Breakfast was fine. Bar open in the evening when we returned from event so nice to have a night cap. Would definately stay again and recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123DMC007
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear 123DMC007, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with ourselves. I am pleased to see that we met all your needs and you would choose to stay with us again, hopefully that will not be too long. Regards Fiona

Wakefield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four years on and we stayed here once again for the Classic Car Show. On the last stay we rated this hotel just 1 star as it was truly awful. And what a big improvement since then. Firstly we were not charged an obscene amount over the standard rate and the check in was very pleasant and welcoming. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldYorkie
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear WakefieldYorkie, I am pleased to see that you found many areas of the hotel improved since your last stay with ourselves. It's always good to know we are moving in the right direction. I will be sure to investigate the problems you had during your stay particularly around customer service so that we ensure we continue to improve. Thank...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy check in, very comfortable and quiet room with excellent shower. Dinner was slow and after waiting for a while we were told that only one of us could have a beefburger as there was only one left, we agreed and I changed to a chicken burger to then be both served chicken as they had discovered there was actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteCanberra
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear GeorgetteCanberra, Thank you for the feedback I am sorry you had problems with your evening meal, but I am pleased to see that the team tried their best to put it right for you. I am pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you would choose to stay with us again the next time...

Mosta, Malta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel close to the NEC. Great and cosy air-conditioned room. Clean, and spacious room. Excellent staff and service. Great breakfast which is included in the price. As i said in another review, 'You can't go wrong' at a Holiday inn. highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesmond c
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Jesmond C, Thank you for the lovely feedback it's always nice to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Fiona

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is generally ok, clean and friendly staff but I was surprised to have to pay for parking at £7 for 24 hours and finding a spot to park on the tiny carpark wasn't easy. They do have a bigger car park around the back of the hotel but it was chained off. I had heard rumours of cars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Chris c, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay. I am pleased to see that you found the hotel clean and the service good. I can see that you were frustrated by paying for parking, due to our location as with all hotels by the NEC and the Airport we do charge...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely friendly and helpful greeting from reception on arrival. We had a twin room clean and warm and enough space to move around. Only issue was our air conditioner was a bit noisy when running at night . Bed a little soft for me but was comfy. Breakfast was ok hot and plenty of it. Day staff were lovely helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Di-pebbles
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Di-pebbles, Thank you for taking the time to write the review of your recent stay. It's always lovely to hear positive comments about the team. If you choose to stay with us again please always contact the front desk team with any issues with the room and we will always do our best to help. We hope to see...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel unfortunately had uncomfortable beds. The breakfast was a rip-off, so we went somewhere else to have breakfast. Fortunately we only slept there for a short night to reach Gatwick International Airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karina H
JCH1709, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Karina H, I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast we do include this in the room rate so it is not charged an additional charge. We have recently added in bacon to the choice of hot items as well as more items to the cold...

Reading
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here primarily for its location. It is quite easy to find (recommend you use a sat nav) - there is a pub/restaurant located next door. It is a large hotel primarily for Brum Airport. Note you have to pay for parking £7 for over 24 hours.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stumpy12345
JCH1709, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Dear Stumpy12345, Thank you for the review I am pleased you found are location perfect for your needs. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area. Regards Fiona

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#30 of 141 in Birmingham
807 reviews
2.1 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
1.6 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 141 in Birmingham
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. In addition to free Wi-Fi, facilities at the hotel include evening meals, parking, meeting rooms, licensed bar and prices which always include breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: €43 - €278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5 months ago
CUMBRIA
6 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“third floor very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles christinea561, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the attic rooms- these are fairly small and have height restriction areas in room.”
 of 5 bubbles shellw_12, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor at the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hughe954, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for quiet...we were front and we would have heard lots...just we were too tired”
 of 5 bubbles JacquieM833, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room which does not overlook the front as they are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles kty910, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay