We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 106: English reviews
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The site is a little old & tired, but the staff have always made the stay. Helpful, friendly & professional. They always seem to be cleaning. Location wise, it's a typical motorway side set-up, but set amongst trees & grass at the back of the services. Nice little 'sneaky' back door exit avoiding the motorway.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rob C
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our team members, we will make sure to pass this on to the hotel for you. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay for all of our guests and we are delighted to see this has been achieved. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we do hope to see you... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I have booked in to travelodge frankly Birmingham from the 18/11/16 and are due to leave on the 09/12/16 . Staff very unhelpful. The bed that my son was to sleep on was I single bed . As he got in bed he complained about a urine smell coming from the bed . I went to reception... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahmed512016
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team. at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. In such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our... More 

Weston-super-Mare
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, good en suite, clean and spacious room...shame there was no lift and were given a family room upstairs. Good value for money compared to other hotels! Appreciate the 12 noon departure time!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 292angelae
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for this review. It is a real pleasure for us to see our efforts being appreciated by valued guests such as yourself. We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found the staff to be helpful and your room to be clean and spacious during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All the reviews about loud traffic noise and the WiFi not working are accurate. Cleanliness is not quite up to scratch. We had dirty towels and the bathroom is functional but little touches like the bath plug being broken and stains really shouldn't happen. Sleep was disturbed at night by other guests and in the morning by staff shouting from... More 

Helpful?
Thank carwyn c
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear of your experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this does not reflect Travelodge standards. Could we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form with your review to look into... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a coach driver I stop at many services and frankley is the worst! Horrible food horrible staff very unhygienic! I will never stop there again terrible staff terrible food equals terrible experience!.

Helpful?
1 Thank ableman
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a long journey and these services were a great place to stop off and break up our journey. There are plenty of fast food places to eat nearby, and the service station was open all night. Lots of people around, the room was lovely and clean, and the shower was fine, and my children loved being able to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pam B
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here as a half way point on the way to Devon. The family room we stayed in was clean and adequate for 2 adults and 2 children for one night. Although our room was on the motorway side we had no issues with noise. The staff were pleasant and the motorway services were ok. As others have mentioned we... More 

Helpful?
Thank hmcg1707
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the WiFi service. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback such... More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

An excellent welcome by friendly staff. WENDY was both helpful and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms excellent with a good sized TV. Plenty of tea and coffee available. Hotel is in a good location with easy access to both sides of the M5

Helpful?
Thank tim p
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we used it for the NEC. Although 26 miles away it was all motorway and found it easy driving. Very clean and and handy to get on and off the motorway 25minutes and we were there. Better than a drive from Plymouth first thing in the morning.. Food was from a service station Burgerking. We have used it three times... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank tmatthews25
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Many thanks to Nusha for being so helpful (sorry for delay was few weeks ago now) re shower for my daughter :) even though is lodge is on the M5 it is set back and away from the main services so it is relatively quiet

Helpful?
Thank lenkalass

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
#54 of 141 in Birmingham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#70 of 141 in Birmingham
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound

Address: Frankley Motorway Services Illey Lane, Birmingham B32 4AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: €39 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound 1.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Frankley m5 Southbound Hotel Birmingham
Travelodge Hotel Birmingham
Travel Lodge Birmingham
Travelodge Birmingham
Birmingham Travel Lodge
Birmingham Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Birmingham Frankley M5 Southbound staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing car park further from motorway so probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles lenkalass, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi is only 30 minutes.”
 of 5 bubbles gma5018142, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the quieter car park side”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn_T149, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Car park side of building probably quieter than motorway side.”
 of 5 bubbles lmb723, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“only stayed in room 213 no idea what other rooms are like”
 of 5 bubbles johnmitchell814, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay