We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,833 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,800: English reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Dated tired rooms with 1980s style furniture.Curtains not attached at one end of rail,and all of chair upholstery soft furnishings and carpet felt grubby. (Felt need to keep shoes on whilst walking on carpet )Bathroom has been partially renovated but only had tiny corner shower with rainfall shower & no handset . Not at all what would have expected from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carl H I am extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and have a refurbishment programme taking place in 2016. On this particular occasion it appears you were allocated one of our older bedrooms, although I fully appreciate this should not detract from...

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The biggest problem was lack of efficient staff on reception booking in and worse booking out 1 person and a line of frustrated customers concerned they would miss the train.The room had cups and saucers but no tea coffee or milk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 752gwenb
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 752gwenb I was extremely concerned to receive your review and would like to apologise for your disappointment. Please can I ask you to contact me directly on hotelmanager.burlington@macdonald-hotels.co.uk so that I may investigate with the team and reassure you personally. Best wishes James James Bee Hotel Manager

London
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This hotel may be bang central in Birmingham but it's decor throughout is tired and, frankly, depressing. The hotel itself was surrounded by impressive developments when we visited - New Street Station right opposite undergoing something of a renaissance, the city centre also being rebuilt in key places...sadly Macdonald Hotels have not followed suit with their hotel. I made the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank businesscameraman
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear businesscameraman Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am truly sorry to learn of your experience and very disappointed that we appear to have let ourselves down and failed to meet your expectations. I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly so I may discuss your stay and event and give you...

Coalville, Leicestershire
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic one night stay at the hotel it is perfectly located in the city center opposite, New street station so this was excellent for train travelers like myself. Upon arrival we were given a free upgrade to one of the Suites which was very welcome. It was a fantastic experience and I would recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingsy21
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kingsy21 Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

It may be four star but I would say it's showing its age. The room size was very good and they have made an effort to make the rooms more contemporary but as you can see from photos it's creaking a bit. Broken lights, bath panel, tiles, rubbish non steam iron, thin ironing board; I would expect more in budget...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EthanHawk
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EthanHawk I am very sorry to learn we did not meet your expectations on this particular visit. Being a Victorian Hotel, our rooms do vary considerably in size and décor. We believe this adds character to our product which is sadly lacking in many of today’s newly built hotels and chains; however, I take on board your comments and...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We had an excellent overnight stay made even more enjoyable as we were upgraded. We look forward to returning someday. We enjoy the high standard of service and food quality consistently provided at Macdonald Hotels

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim B Thank you for your review following your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share it with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it! Kindest regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

London
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed for one night and we can't say we enjoyed our stay. The location is very good, right opposite the train station. Building is beautiful (victorian) but then the staff is dry and not really helpful. We booked an executive double room and were given a tiny room with the smallest bed on earth. When we complained to reception...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ivanute
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ivanute I was extremely concerned to receive your review and would like to apologise for your disappointment. I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate into your feedback and reassure you personally. Please can I ask you to contact me directly on hotelmanager.burlington@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Best wishes James James Bee Hotel Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Good hotel in a great location close to shoos, bars and restaurants. Breakfast was great, plenty if choice. Staff friendly and very helpful. Thought the room was a bit small for an executive double. Charming building with lots of original features.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rob G Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warm regards James James Bee Hotel Manager

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Just a step across the road from the train station. The hotel is clean and has a friendly environment. The staff are exetremely accommodating and willing to help in any way. The lavender bath products are lovely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 788heather
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 788heather I am delighted you enjoyed a relaxing stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review! We believe our location could not be any better; with world-class shopping and entertainment just a short walk from the hotel. If you have the opportunity, I would personally recommend a re-visit towards the end of November,...

Llanelli
Reviewed 10 April 2016

The location is the best thing about the hotel. Ideally placed for everything Birmingham has to offer. I wish I had booked another hotel for our Easter break. Not a lot of organisation following fire alarms going off. Weekend spoiled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill P
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill P Thank you for taking the time to write your review. May I take this opportunity to assure you fire safety is of paramount importance to us and our guests’ safety is our primary concern in the event of an evacuation. The Hotel is located in the Burlington Arcade and in order to ensure the health and safety...

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (436)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (197)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 142 in Birmingham
2,203 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 142 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#26 of 142 in Birmingham
2,052 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 142 in Birmingham
783 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 142 in Birmingham
2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: €85 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#26 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles AztecCarlisle, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles tinamE3758NK, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Luxury hotel, but mid range price”
 of 5 bubbles 119jennie, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors are always quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Mike99Marg, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book a room but NOT with Breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles LucyCKBerkshireUK, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay