We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Save
Traveller (500)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (33)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“new street station”(321 reviews)
“lovely hotel”(138 reviews)
“train station”(130 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (3,115)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
3,078 results
Traveller rating
1,158
1,013
530
240
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,158
1,013
530
240
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew street stationlovely hoteltrain stationcity centreexcellent locationcooked breakfastgerman marketexecutive roomreception staffchristmas marketa lovely staycentral birminghamlovely roomenjoyable stayfull englishbreakfast was excellentbull ring
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
511 - 515 of 3,078 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Central located in the city centre. Reception staff were not very good and didn't point out any of the hotel facilities. Rooms are in need of redecorating and fall way below the standards expected with dirty walls and badly fitted carpets. The TV remote was...More

Thank Mike E
Response from James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington HotelResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Mike E I am extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your room. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and have a refurbishment programme taking place this year. On this particular occasion it appears you were...More

Reviewed 26 August 2016

Good value for city centre hotel, however be aware that the cold buffet is in a separate room and that may not be drawn to your attention. Room was small but adequate and did not overlook the Main Street which could have caused some noise.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anon675738
Response from James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington HotelResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Anon675738 Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming...More

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Nice hotel, but very hot weather and air con not working, so had to open windows and had street noise, trams and trains all night. Breakfast next day, meat and cheese left I chilled and so meat dry and cheese sweaty. Not great.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rf677
Response from James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington HotelResponded 30 August 2016

Dear rf677 Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, however I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced. Your comments will be the subject of a remedial training review with the team so that your...More

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed here overnight a couple of weeks ago. Very well located in city centre and close to New Street station and shopping centres. Staff incredibly helpful and efficient. We often stay in MacDonald hotels but felt our room was a little "tired" here. However, it...More

Thank Lorraine S
Response from James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington HotelResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Lorraine S Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of...More

Reviewed 22 August 2016

This hotel is right in the centre of Birmingham and therefore very convenient for everything. It is very stylish and provides an excellent base when visiting Birmingham. Our rooms were very good, well appointed and featured the usual facilities that you might expect from a...More

Thank cheshiremike09
Response from James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington HotelResponded 28 August 2016

Dear cheshiremike09 I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service you received from the team. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and writing such a positive review! We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$100 - US$250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (500)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (33)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CAPRICORN1Rhodes
18 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jeremy F |
I once stayed here a couple of years ago and also encountered a mouse.
1
Vote
CAPRICORN1Rhodes
18 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Chris K | Reviewed this property |
We booked a suite and I don't think it was recently refurbished but modern and very comfortable apart from grubby blinds and window.
0
Votes
Closed_Quarters
17 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jacquelinefleet | Reviewed this property |
Our breakfast was included in the price of our stay.The usual price of it was more expensive than other places but it was really good.Sorry I can't help more
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Some rooms have views of the air conditioning units, so worth asking when you book."
Read review
"The hotel is opposite New Street Station which is very busy, rear rooms are quieter but beware of..."
Read review
"we had an inward facing quiet room, and it was quiet"
Read review
"Go for the higher floors - and use the staircase rather than the lifts to come down."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing