We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Burlington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,884: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed on a Sunday night for a meeting on Monday. Food was excellent. The waiter explained everything on the menu well. Rooms a little tired looking but lovely toiletries. Breakfast was a bit sparse and tasted value beans and sausages. Staff all welcoming and friendly. Across the road from new street. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davinder S
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davinder S Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff are fab at 'The Burlington' and will always go the extra mile to help you and make feel like a VIP. The concierge helped to advise us which mode of transport was best to use from the city centre to the NEC and even printed out a map & train times. A taxi would cost £60 return, whereas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian B
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sian B Thanks for such a detailed review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - especially the friendliness of the team! We appreciate your helpful feedback which I will share with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Warmest regards James James...

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is as near to the centre of Birmingham as you can get. Adjacent to Birmingham New Street station, situated in the main pedestrianised street with all the shops and business locations to hand. The staff were the usual Macdonald high standard as were the facilities. The bed was a little hard for my liking but that's a personal preference....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peacorp
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peacorp Thank you for your review following your stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I will be sure to share it with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards James James Bee General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in was a smooth process. The hotel is beautiful. I booked a feature room which included a four poster bed. The room was spacious and well presented. This room was an inside room so could not hear the noise from the trams and trains other reviewers commented on. Breakfast was continental and freshly made cooked breakfast. Most breakfast staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vprecious
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vprecious Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Burlington following your recent stay. I was pleased to learn of your enjoyment. I really appreciate you taking the time to recommend us and share your view of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kindest regards James James Bee General Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed two nights for business, had a conference in the day which was very well organised and the food very good. Breakfast had a good choice but was so busy the service although very friendly a little disorganised and spread over two areas which was odd (you have to go out of the breakfast room to get anything continental). The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Virginia K Thanks for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay; however, I would like to apologise for the shortfalls you experienced. Your comments will be the subject of a remedial training review with the team so that your disappointment could not be repeated. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I feel a little unkind only giving this an average score as the service was excellent, conference lunch and breakfast excellent and the bedroom comfortable and clean. The challenge is the hotel is in need of a refurb quite badly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea S Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. We are committed to investing in and improving our product for the future and have a refurbishment programme taking place soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you need to stay in Birmingham and I will ensure...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in to our dark cell last night.. room 211 where u have to crane your neck to see put the windows which only look on to walls and air conditioners.. I would not recommend this place if you are driving. The car park is a long way from the hotel when you have luggage and hard to find....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude L
James B, Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jude L I am sorry to learn it would appear we have not met the high standards we set ourselves for you on this particular visit. Please be assured that your feedback will be discussed with the team at our weekly management meeting to ensure that any similar disappointment could not be repeated. It is always helpful to receive...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stay there for 2 days for business training and it's was really nice to have hotel that have easy access to city centre and also food at restaurant inside hotel was great oh breakfast was amazing with some much to choose from definitely stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sasi786
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sasi786 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your kind comments are really appreciated and I will be sure to pass them on to my team! Kindest regards James James Bee General Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best position for city centre shopping. Suite on 4th floor was lovely with all amenities plus water and fruit. Stayed many times. Friendly staff but dining room as ever with no heating at breakfast. Will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nprocter1
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nprocter1 Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate your constructive feedback. I will share your comments with the team as I know they will be motivated by it. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel. Kind regards James James Bee General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked this hotel last minute, convenience of meetings the next day. Lovely décor and style, rooms were lovely with high ceilings and comfort. I stayed in room 332 , which only has access via some stairs. Not a problem for me, although my case was heavy, but may not be suitable for less mobile guests. Worth asking a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyson S
James B, General Manager at Macdonald Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alyson S I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular your room and the service you received from the team. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and writing such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back! Warmest regards James James Bee General Manager

475 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (459)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (209)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,162 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
2,818 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Macdonald Burlington Hotel

Address: Burlington Arcade, Birmingham B2 4JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: €91 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Burlington Birmingham
Hotel Macdonald Burlington
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#27 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
newcastle staffordshire
4 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Burlington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one facing the internal courtyard”
Vdp54, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“surprisingly quiet rooms, even the ones looking out onto New Street.”
Peacorp, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room which does not overlook thr metro”
vprecious, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front (New Street) can be noisy with late revelers.”
nprocter1, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check accessibility when booking”
alysons409, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5