We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

876 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bloc Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 852: English reviews
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for 1 night it was fab Reception ok not the friendliest receptionist but hey we weren't there to make friends there is no tea or coffee in room but they do have 2 vending machines they cost £1 regardless of which drink you choose first impression very clean We were in room 219 just a few doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank montiabella
Felsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night. Well...the only plus about our room was that it had a window. For £80 night I really expect a little more. The flooring is some sort of plastic tiles which were badly fitted and moving so there was gaps all around the flooring area and felt sticky in bare feet. I can not believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sh29
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to publish a review of your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. You have raised a number of issues that you had with your stay at BLOC and I am sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. Our rooms are all accurately and honestly described on our website and all our booking...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The room was very small but bearable for one night, I don't think I could've staid any longer than that though, the staff were pleasant and polite, a bit disappointed in the morning when I went to use the microwave & found a half eaten chinese take away left by the previous guests, although all in all it wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. We acknowledge quite openly that our standard rooms are compact, but with rates starting at just £49 for a double room for the night they offer incredibly good value for money. You mention that BLOC may not suit if you wanted to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The rooms are small but this is proportional to the cost. Very swish inside, clean and quite, and it has the wiff of quality. I would Recommend this hotel to business travellers who want a quiet nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncollier
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting such a great review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. Our aim has been to provide affordable luxury in a convenient location, with immaculately presented, comfortable rooms. To achieve this at the keenest cost, with rooms starting at just £49, we have had to make some compromises as to floor space...

London
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Perfect for an affordable room where all you expect is a bed and a shower. Do not expect to much and you will not be disappointed. I was given a room without a window, slightly surreal but OK for £60 I suppose.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JASON247
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Jason Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham and for high-lighting the fact that BLOC provides good value for money. Rates actually start at just £49 if you book well in advance and you also have the choice of a Sleep room (windowless), a Vista room with a window,...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I chose the hotel as we know the location well. It was clean, tidy and close to everything - the room is compact but we knew that when booking so it was fine. Location wise, it's really close to the city centre, there are lots of food places to choose from nearby and it's quiet. Overall, good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katherinestent
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Katherine Many thanks for posting such a great review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Gatwick. I am really delighted to hear that your room was just as you expected it to be and that you particularly noticed the immaculate condition in which it was presented. You are right about the St Paul's area, there's lots to...

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Very modern good location and fair price good parking discount, I would definitely stay again. Only slight criticism would be, it could do with a bit of fresh air circulation in the room, it's a small room which is ok because it's big enough for what you need, but feels a bit enclosed, it would help with a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nbreezo
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the great parking discount that we can offer our guests, which reduces the cost of parking in the nearby NCP car park by more than 60%. We worked with the Scandinavian Sleep...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I've stayed in a lot of hotels recently and always try to be honest. I'm not a high maintenance kind of girl, clean, comfy bed and a good shower and I'm happy. So on these 2 points, the Bloc delivered. Excellent powerful hot shower in a wet room (although one drawback is that the floor hadn't dried overnight from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
Sarah O, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Emma Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am very glad that your list of the positives of your stay at BLOC far out-weighed the length of your list of negatives! So far as those negatives are concerned I would say that the wet-room floor is designed to drain...

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Probably the worst nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel! The sound proofing between rooms ( and we had the higher price vista plus ) is so poor that we could hear next doors conversation all night , I now know all about her family and her medical problems despite the chap further down the corridor (!) knocking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s h
Sebastian S, Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know in your review how you got on during your recent stay with us at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. I am very sorry to hear that you felt the sound-proofing let us down on this occasion. We are constantly up-grading the seals around the doors and improving sound-proofing generally. We occasionally come up against guests who...

staffordshire
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

When we arrived the front door was broken. It should have been automatic but you had to push it and it was quite a heavy door. Reported it to the two chaps on reception but was met with "yea we know " have to say there was no warmth to our welcome. Found this hotel on the whole to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loanstar59
Sebastian S, Guest Relations Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear loandstar59, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at BLOC Gatwick. You're absolutely right - first impressions do matter. I am genuinely very disappointed to read that you felt the atmosphere at the hotel to be "unwelcoming". This is totally unacceptable and I will be speaking to the team to find out...

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (124)
Viewed
Accessible Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Standard Double Room No Vista (27)
Viewed
Standard Double Room With Vista (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#58 of 142 in Birmingham
1,006 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 142 in Birmingham
2,202 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#27 of 142 in Birmingham
1,060 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 142 in Birmingham
3,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: €47 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bloc Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and ask for a window in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles JASON247, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The apartments are definitely worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ladowding, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room with a window is better”
 of 5 bubbles Samboii, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the option of a windowless room for a budget price but do accept that they will be small.”
 of 5 bubbles MessengerM, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lots of light switches, hours of entertainment!!”
 of 5 bubbles 293leigha, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay