We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plough and Harrow Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Plough and Harrow Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 684: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nowhere on their website do they say that the hotel is unsuitable for disabled or people with poor mobility. Clean rooms and lovely white towels but the showers are so poor it's takes for ever to have your shower. You actually go upstairs then downstairs to get to a ground floor room. And the stair hand rail is very awkward...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandrawhite13
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I pre-booked, in person, on Saturday 14th January, an Afternoon Tea for Monday, 16th January, 2017 reserving a specific table and time of arrival being 3.00 p.m. On arrival at 2.45 pm no reception staff on duty which, left me to wander around the hotel looking for any staff. Eventually, an affable but scruffy, large man appeared and eventually showed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louieville
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the booking with the wonderful and very helpful Sereen, who couldn't do too much for us, to the great New Years evening event at the hotel was more than we could wish for. We spend every year at a venue - 30 - 40 of us as a group booking, and have often had disappointments. Not here though, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. I am very pleased you had a great time and I will pass on your comments to the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant night with excellent food, professional actors perform a murder mystery while you eat. It was fantastic entertainment and great value for money plus about a 20min walk to the centre. Thought the hotel was abit dates but this just added to the atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayme1989
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Happy you had a good time and hope to see you again

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Sisters and I took my mother to this hotel for her birthday, We had afternoon tea in the Beaufort Bar lounge. The food was lovely and the little cakes and scones were exquisite, we even had a glass of Prosecco. The staff were friendly but a little thin on the ground. We would visit this venue again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandjbaker
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and I am pleased you enjoyed

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with a friend for afternoon tea before she leaves the country. Stale food, awful service and ridiculously overpriced. Absolutely appalling. I love visiting new places and recommending them to friends but this is one place I will be making sure people avoid. After complaining we were told the best they could do was offer us 2 for 1.1...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemma H
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and will look into your comments

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Having read a lot of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about our visit to this hotel. I am happy to say that we were really pleasantly surprised. We had a wonderful stay!!! The downstairs communal areas are stunning, staff all lovely and very helpful. Corridors are meandering and tired but this made no difference to our stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaViz1990
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you and look forward to seeing you again

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Wanted to really like this hotel as the public rooms were really nicely done, sadly the renovations haven't extended to the bedrooms. Our room, which was a really long way from reception and up and down innumerable stairs, was badly in need of a facelift. Torn armchairs, peeling wallpaper on both walls and ceiling and the room was so cold....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirleylyn
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and will look into your comments

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Dated decor in bedroom but clean with a decent shower as well that you don't need to be in Mensa to figure out how it works 😉. Good parking facilities. Nice bar downstairs. Friendly staff, would stay there again next time I visit Birmingham 👍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonymccall
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

First the staff. Some are pleasant and friendly....the breakfast staff are good, but reception staff when booked in were short and rude but others pleasant. Bar staff one helpful member but others really give the impression that they don't care and told by one couldn't eat from restaurant menu in the bar...which is nonsense. The rooms are a long way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel H
paulsmyth1, Owner at Plough and Harrow Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write. Much appreciated

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (145)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 142 in Birmingham
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#105 of 142 in Birmingham
406 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#38 of 142 in Birmingham
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome and traditional hospitality awaits guests at the Plough and Harrow Hotel Birmingham. Built in 1704, originally as a wayside inn, the hotel has over the centuries become steeped in history and is recalled by many as being one of the most popular places to stay in Birmingham during the last few decades. The red brick Victorian architecture of the original building together with the large garden, lawns and plentiful car parking serves to set the Plough & Harrow Hotel apart from other Birmingham hotels This 45 bedroom hotel brings a country house style to the city with elegant & intimate lounges, a restaurant & terrace overlooking the garden. In recent years the hotel has become a very popular wedding reception venue in the city & also offers happy couple the chance to get married & hold the reception in the same place. While staying at the hotel guests are within 1 mile of Broad Street, the NIA, ICC, Symphony Hall, the Botanical Gardens and Edgbaston Cricket Club as well as the shopping precinct & other attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plough and Harrow Hotel

Address: 135 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: €55 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plough and Harrow Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Plough and Harrow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plough And Harrow Birmingham
Hotel Plough And Harrow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Plough and Harrow Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Plough and Harrow Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles louieville, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms aren't the best, but price reflects this”
 of 5 bubbles 152jacquelineb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“From the two I saw none of them are good”
 of 5 bubbles N9482WOdavidw, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else, especially if a wedding is in progress. Expect rooms at front of hotel to be very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles C8271GKsarahc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go else where”
 of 5 bubbles kelandchez, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay