We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,325: English reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

The room was with outdated furniture and the plug sockets look like they are from the 60s. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in months. The windows were Vile and there were no safety catches on them. The guy on reception didn't even ask why we wanted a refund like he was used to getting complaints about...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Davehartles
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide, thus enabling us to make improvements where necessary. Regards

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I stayed here with my granddaughter on Saturday night. The room was dirty and drab, in desperate need of a refurbish. However, the bedding was immaculately clean, and the staff were polite, friendly and very helpful, so i would stay again if the rooms were updated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainejennings2014
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies that certain aspects of the hotel failed to met with your expectations. As I would advice any guest, there is a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them to inform them that you were unhappy with any aspect of the Hotel, they would have been able to address...

Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel after a concert at the NIA as the location was great but during the night it was rather noisy which we could have lived with especially after seeing a mouse in our room! It was awful. We were standing on our beds as we rang down to reception. A lovely man came up to our...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank alishaCampbell
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. This complaint was dealt with directly at the Hotel. Regards

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

We booked to stay here for one night over the Easter break. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made a MASSIVE mistake. It felt a bit like a hostel, it was dark and dingy. Room smelt of smoke and was so filthy! We were only in the room for 5 minutes to know that we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gemma H
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide, thus enabling us to make improvements where necessary. Regards

England
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I stayed here a couple days ago with two friends and after reading the reviews prior to our stay we were dreading it! We were pleasantly surprised upon entering the reception - the staff were welcoming enough and we even got checked in early. The room was clean, the view wasn't great but we weren't worried about that! And the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank heeidiii
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased that you take the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and are not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 6 April 2015

Then Room was shabby and grubby. I only stayed one night and paid a bargain rate. Thank god! The only saving grace was the hot shower. If you want romance, mod cons, cleanliness or comfort, The this is not the hotel for you. The room was hot and so I had to sleep with the window open. The noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank belinda t
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide, thus enabling us to make improvements where necessary As I...

Reviewed 4 April 2015

This establishment makes the Liverpool Adelphi and Blackpool Metropole look palatial and state of the art. Alas this is just in a sorry state. Neglected by the owners for many years, neglected by its housekeeping and management and abused beyond belief by its temporary or possibly ex-permanent residents (awaiting housing, benefits to be sorted, immigration papers etc) I can't comment...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kevin B
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. I do disagree with the majority of your comments completely. Regards

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Where do I start. This sorry excuse for a hotel looked nothing like the pictures, room stank of bleach gave me and my partner a massive headache! It was supposed to be a non smoking room and there was cigarette ash all over the dresser! The bathroom was dirty, I have no idea what the hell that toilet was supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SillySausage111
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. As I would advise any guest, we do have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you asked to see them at any time, they would have been able to address any issues first hand allowing you to have a much...

Barnet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Was a bit disgruntled but don't believe all you read . Paid 15 a night and was surprised staf friendly and helpful centrally located quiet and clean. Room was big enough. Only downside is is There is no parking

 Report
Helpful?
Thank An D
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased that you take the opportunity to sample first hand the perfect location, and exceptional value for money we at Britannia Hotel Birmingham offer, and are not put off by some of the negative reviews posted here. We look forward to welcoming you back in...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Friendliness ok, I'd was a bit of a an overload or OTT.. Surroundings grubby ! Lift grubby, rooms grubby, we don't Mind cheap, but have stayed in better hostels . We were offered an upgrade, but college already upset over condition, and wanted to go..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lozhow
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel I will certainly discuss your comments with the relevant departmental manages for improvements to be made where deemed necessary Regards

698 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (674)
Viewed
Room/Suite (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:42
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (345)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#93 of 117 in Birmingham
492 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#55 of 117 in Birmingham
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#26 of 117 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: €35 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was on the 5th floor which was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles catherineh736, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like a quiet room make sure to ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanM, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just don't go here!!”
 of 5 bubbles M6813OUamyj, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Very Noisy from street all night, Walls paper thin between rooms, hear people having sex. Ladies of the night in the hall at times”
 of 5 bubbles S1031MGdavidt, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't run away this hotel is disgusting”
 of 5 bubbles TheWildcolonial, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5