We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beeches

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Beeches
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Beeches
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Hotel looks OK from outside but soon find that its very dated. Desperate need of decoration. Rooms basic. Windows old. Walls thin and could easily hear anyone walking by, and doors banging at all hours. Bit pricey. About same as a Premier Inn but no where near as good or comfortable. Disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Keith M. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. We are working our way around our hotel as quickly as we can with refurbishment. Hopefully, if you are in a position to re-visit at anytime, you would see the improvements we have been making. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General... More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2016

I booked this hotel as I was told it was within walking distance of The Royal Hospital. I made the reservation over the telephone and was told they had a 3/4 room for £70 which I duly booked. I had not noticed my booking was bed and breakfast. On arrival 24/2 I asked what time breakfast was. 7am for continental... More 

Helpful?
Thank jr10002016
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear jr10002016. Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read of the experience you had with us. I am sorry you had difficulty changing your reservation with us. I can see it was created on the 15/2 and an email confirmation was sent to you. I would of course love to refund the breakfast for you and... More 

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Bosham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

I've just returned from The Beeches where I had a three day conference. The staff were friendly and welcoming, especially the dining room staff. Food was of a very high standard for a conference centre and I was pleasantly surprised. My room, although small, was clean and well equipped. The conference rooms where bright and comfortable, and the communal areas... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eciloppots
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Eciloppots. Wow, 5 stars! Thank you so much. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be friendly and welcoming. The chef says thank you too. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Beeches. Kind Regards Debra Jones General Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Our company booked double rooms for 5 people, we were given very small rooms which were cold, the beds are not the best and the one I had had seen much better days. They don't serve breakfast until 07:30, only rice crispys and yoghurt etc which was no good to a couple of us as we needed to be gone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Lee M. Thank you for your review. I apologise if breakfast was not served early enough for you, although having checked with the chefs and waitresses, I understand on a few mornings, the chef did indeed cook food earlier for your group. However, the fruit juices, smoothies, fresh and dried fruits, yogurts, cereals, toast and pastries were all available... More 

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016

As this was a purely business trip plus studying in the evening, this hotel was perfect for me, I stayed in a single room which is at the top of the Hotel which allowed me the peace and quiet I required for my studying in the evening. The room is compact but it was clean and warm and was ideal... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobF19
DebraJonesGM, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear BobF19. Thank you for your review and thank you for your score of 4 stars. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean and warm with free WiFi. The chef is pleased you enjoyed his food. However, reception will endeavour to learn the local area a little more - my apologies. Kind... More 

Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

My visit to The Beeches was as part of a package, as I was attending a training venue near by. My room was relatively small but adequately resourced with en suite, single bed, tv and access to wi-fi. The food was satisfactory, reflecting a bar menu and routine breakfast selection. I was aware of another room problem with a colleague... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philip K
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Philip K. Thank you for your review and for awarding us 3 stars. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches should you be in the area again. Kind Regards Debra Jones More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Fortunately I only had to stay here one night because the establishment I normally frequent when on business in this area was fully booked - both the headline rate and the tariff for food / drink at The Beeches can be bettered by another facility nearby that is more homely / more welcoming / better maintained - thankfully I wasn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cwh562
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear cwh562. Thank you for your review. There will always be somewhere better, regardless of where you stay. I am pleased you have found somewhere you like. Regards Debra Jones General Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Firstly, compared to other hotels in Birmingham I paid peanuts for my room. I had a conference at the ICC the following morning and this was a 20 min drive away, a good base considering I was coming up from Kent. Therefore I wasn't expecting lavish rooms with marble bathroom surfaces. What I got was a pleasant little attic room,... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards. Debra Jones More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday at about 13:30. The hotel was all locked up no one around no one answering the door bell. Called the telephone number answer message was the hotel reopens at 07:30 the next morning! Great start! Went back on Monday, the reception staff were friendly and tried to explain what happened. The room is small and dated,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy D
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear Andy D. Thank you for your review. I have investigated and understood the Sunday issue. However, when bookings are made through Navarino, as indeed yours was, a "note" is flagged to the booking agent, which tells them that the check-in time is 3pm on Sundays. I can only apologise on their behalf if this was not passed on to... More 

wiltshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2015

Recently stayed at the hotel when visiting the Birmingham Xmas Markets with friends. We had looked at lots of packages but many were overpriced in my opinion especially when we only needed somewhere to put our head down. The hotel is in Bournville and was originally part of the Cadburys estate. The building is old but the rooms are functional... More 

Helpful?
Thank baholden
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review

Dear baholden. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I totally agree with everything you say. Although we are not the most modern venue in Birmingham (but then we never profess to be), we have great staff who love to look after you and serve and cook you great food, keep the venue... More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westmead Hotel
#27 of 141 in Birmingham
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beeches

Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: €44 - €86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Beeches staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Beeches staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just request a room in a quiet area”
 of 5 bubbles charlessim1, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here is my tip”
 of 5 bubbles 600Jan, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go to the Premier Inn”
 of 5 bubbles jr10002016, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Just don't go”
 of 5 bubbles 188leem, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quiet good price lovely atmosphere”
 of 5 bubbles 411katyp, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay