We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Salamander Guest House

Booking.comUS$81*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$81*
US$81*
US$81*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Salamander Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 272: English reviews
Start your review of Salamander Guest House
 Click to rate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at Salamander. Pascal was very friendly and welcoming. He gave us excellent tips on what to do in and around the town. Parking was provided which was very handy in a small town like Stratford. It is also within 3 minutes walking distance of the town centre. All in all, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chebe01
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Salamander has a great host, Pascal. The rooms could do with an update, and are fairly small. Prepare to have a laugh with Pascal, especially over breakfast. Pretty close to everything, so a good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda1373
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with family in two rooms for one night.Rooms were very basic. My room is obviously not cleaned above eye level as dust laden cobwebs could be clearly seen above bed. Old chipped furniture. Scaffolding in front of house with a weed filled front garden. Obviously chose worst place to stay as salamander is situated along a row of guesthouses,others...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
Conwy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed here for one night only. I booked through Booking.com because had read other reviews that the breakfast was worth having. Met by a lovely lady called Viv, who was very knowledgeable and made us feel very welcome. She said the owners were away in France and she was covering. Couldn't fault the bedroom, she put us downstairs instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joesambobsnow
SalamanderGuestHouse, Owner at Salamander Guest House, responded to this review

We are so very sorry that due to a staff member not turning up you were not satisfied with your Breakfast. To recap we serve orange juice, large choice of cereals including Muesli, locally dry cured English back Bacon, local "Barry the Butcher" sausages, fresh Tomato and locally farmed Eggs fried, scrambled, poached etc. Our emphasis is on quality. English...

Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

we had a message left on my phone to turn up by 7.00pm, we cancelled out meetings and arrived by the allotted time. We were shown to our room, room 3, freezing cold, but we are told to turn the radiator up, this we did , but no heating until 6.30 in the morning. We arrived for breakfast at 7.45...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robv12
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Very friendly chatty Frenchman , made us feel welcome ! Nice walking distance to town , well worth the visit ! Room was quite basic , but all you need, good value for money .. Would definitely recommend this guest house !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We had a good welcome from Vivien, a very nice lady, who gave us all the information we needed to find our way around Stratford and places of interest. (Also helped me find my mobile when I thought I'd lost it!!). Our room and ensuite on the ground floor was comfortable. Cereals were available at breakfast together with a full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night and the room was very comfortable. We were in the attic room and would have struggled had we stayed for a longer period as the room was quite small and on one side needed to be careful of the sloping roof in the dark! Pascal the owner invited us in and gave us a map of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jfo113
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Salamander Guest House is at only seven minutes from the railway station. The house is tipical and Pascal, the owner, is really nice. He gave us all the information about what to vist, timetables or prices. The bedroom was big and the breakfast....well.... a full english breakfast!!! It's a good place to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiriamCoco
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

when we arrived,we were met by pascal.. a very entertaining host, brimming with information about stratford and places to visit! the rooms were spacious and cosy and very clean. would recommend the salamander guest house to anyone! thoroughly enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerald h

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.0 km away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#19 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
125 reviews
0.4 km away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#33 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
272 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
#30 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Applegarth
The Applegarth
#22 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
257 reviews
0.3 km away
Emsley Guest House
Emsley Guest House
#3 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
507 reviews
1.1 km away
Faviere Guest House
Faviere Guest House
#15 of 95 in Stratford-upon-Avon
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edwardian family-run guesthouse located in the town centre and close to all tourists attractions/restaurants. Offering quality en suite bedrooms and freshly cooked breakfast. Free car parking/garaging on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Salamander Guest House

Address: 40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: €62 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salamander Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Salamander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Salamander Guest House Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salamander Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Pontefract, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Salamander Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the attic if you can, it's quite small.”
Amanda1373, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“stay elsewhere”
robv12, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our rooms where on the ground floor,with its own access with outside door.”
  • we stayed here
  • front view of salamander guesthouse
geraldh773, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The downstairs unit with 2 bedrooms was really good.”
david-Rd49, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front suffer traffic noise from very early to well into the night.”
Nichol28, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$81* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$81
TripAdvisorUS$81
PricelineUS$81
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates