We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,236: English reviews
Bristol
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I was a bit apprehensive about our stay after reading some of the recent negative reviews. My husband had booked a 1 night DBB break without reading the reviews but after attending a function at the Alveston Manor last summer. I have to say I needn't have worried, everything was fine. Check in was efficient, our room was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
Birmingham
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Grounds are lovely, short walk into Stratford town. However the hotel rooms are ridiculously basic, old tiles in bathroom, room was disappointing, bed was not a king, two separate beds put together so we couldn't sleep close to one another without falling in the 'dip'. Breakfast was even worse, cold buffet food, tried to get one of the girls attention,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaylissS
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful setting and perfectly situated hotel. On arrival the lady on reception was difficult to understand but quite helpful. We were impressed with our room. Large comfortable and very warm room. Bathroom spacious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was ok, we have both had better but it was edible although not very hot. Breakfast menu was quite limited. The two waitresses...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maxine n
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over on Saturday night arriving around 6pm. The room itself was nice enough and the bed was very comfortable, although it was a good walk from reception. The staff in the bar were very courteous and friendly, which made for a nice atmosphere. The main issue came the next morning when we headed down for breakfast at 10am...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hoppy75
Oliver W, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that your first impressions of the hotel were so good, we work hard to make sure everyone feels welcome throughout their stay at the Hotel. I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the bar team, I will be sure to personally pass on your positive comments. However I am extremely disappointed and sorry to hear that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You are given the impression you will be staying in a nice period building as displayed on the website but the truth is you are shoved out into prefabricated building behind the main hotel. Our room must have been over 100 metres from reception small disappointing rooms like rabbit hutches.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walshy56
Oliver W, Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your valued feedback. The majority of our classic rooms are located in the modern wing of the hotel, which is clearly stated on our website, and the photographs are reflective of these rooms, with executive and feature rooms in the Manor House. Our sincere apologies that you were disappointed with...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on New years day for a birthday treat, beautiful looking place and perfect location for strolling around the town. Originally booked the swans nest across the road but as they had closed their restaurant we had transferred We checked in and used the pool facilities straight away as they were closing early... staff in leisure club were happy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel E
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, thank you for taking the time to review our property.. I was delighted to read that in general you enjoyed your stay and found that most of the team were helpful and polite. Your comments are very valuable to us as it is feedback such as yours that assists us in constantly reviewing our standards and quality delivery...

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a 3 night half board executive package staying right over Christmas and were assured we had been given the best room in the hotel, room 5, a 2 bedroomed suite situated right at the front of the property detached on all sides from all other rooms. Although the room was somewhat dated there was no excuse for the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 65KMK
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.I was very disappointed to read your comments as the issues raised are certainly not in keeping with the standards and customer care normally associated with our hotel. In terms of menu choice and certainly in availability and as per our previous correspondence was vast and available trough out...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a VERY disappointing stay at this hotel. We stayed New Years Day for 2 nights. Upon arrival we weren't given what I would regard as a "proper" check in - weren't asked if we wanted newspapers in the morning (we received them anyway and were charged!), weren't told what time breakfast was served etc and were told...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carly C
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carly C, thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read your comments as the issues raised in terms of customer service is certainly not in keeping with the standards and customer care normally associated with our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies and be assured that I have requested that my Head of departments conduct a...

Hale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean and pleasant. Lighting very poor, The staff apart from the head waiter were friendly and courteous. Main problem on the day before New Years Eve at dinner there was only a set menu and to be honest it was poor quality with only 3 choices for main one of which was vegetarian. We were booked for 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brimacone
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologise if we did not meet your expectations, I was pleased to read your comments about the friendliness and courtesy of our team which I will share with them. I was disappointed to read you comments about the New years eve dinner, having been directly involved in writing the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday, room was ok nothing to write home about. The restaurant was nice with nice food but a bit pricey, wine was expensive. The spa and swimming pool was ok. The people that were there when went were all stuck up and rude! The bar manager was excellent cant remember his name, but he chatted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hurricanehannon
Antonio C, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review our property. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the food. I was also pleased to read your comments about the bar manager, I am sue he will be pleased to hear those comments. I am sorry that you found the rest of the team...

324 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (141)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
2.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,660 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,954 reviews
0.1 km away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,911 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,590 reviews
0.9 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: €92 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 was quite close to reception. Nice spacious and warm room in the original building”
 of 5 bubbles 234maxinen, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I don't imagine there are any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 65KMK, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are in modern wings overlooking the garden”
 of 5 bubbles brimacone, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room that isn't a million miles away”
 of 5 bubbles edwardxiv, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ist floor overlooking rear green and parking quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles lorraineh682, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay