We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel

Save
Share
Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PremierInn.com
US$81
US$49
View deal
Trip.comUS$81
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (322)
Room & Suite (161)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#51 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Soak up Newcastle's rich shipping history at the Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel. With stunning views over the River Tyne, this Grade 2 listed building is in an ideal spot for getting the most out of the city. Explore Newcastle's most popular bars and restaurants or get a taste of the local music culture at the iconic Sage Gateshead. Sports fans can watch a match at St James Park or at the Stadium of Light in neighbouring Sunderland. After a fun day out in Newcastle, you can head back for a tasty meal at our in-house Thyme restaurant before relaxing on an extra-comfy Hypnos bed. As well as being a landmark of the city, the iconic Tyne Bridge is also home to a large flock of breeding Kittiwakes and - as our hotel is close by to the bridge - it's worth noting that some noise disturbance may be heard in the bedrooms.
Read more
Room & Suite (161)161
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
2479Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 898
  • 826
  • 447
  • 187
  • 121
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
paulquinn1965 wrote a review Nov 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom19 contributions8 helpful votes
Well, that was an awful experience. I arrived in late afternoon on 4th Nov. to an empty desk...waited 4mins before someone turned up looking like I had interrupted their day. After getting my room key I made my way up to the room, only to find that the bed had not been made...so back to reception, I demanded to be switched differ different room, ideally one that had been cleaned ready for a new customer, some 20mins after arriving I finally managed to take my shoes off in a room. The night was uneventful but I found the pillows to be very uncomfortable, I mentioned this to the gentleman on reception in the morning as I left early to catch a train. I will be filling in a refund request as this was not a "great nights sleep" as they promise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we're happy to hear you stayed with us, we're sorry your room wasn't ready when you first arrived and you then found your pillow's to be uncomfortable. We can imagine this left you feeling let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guest's to feel. Our team are in house 24 hour's a day to assist with any issue's you may have and they would've been happy to replace your pillow's had they been made aware. Just so you know, we've now made a record of your comment's and have passed them to the hotel management team to see what improvement's can be made going forward. We wouldn't want standard's like these to continue so the pillow's will be checked and this will also be raised with the team to ensure any necessary retraining is arranged and the best service is being provided. We hope this doesn't make you think twice about returning so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comment's will be picked up. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to see you again soon. Ricky
Read more
Jamie A wrote a review Sep 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom60 contributions16 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Me and my partner have not long returned from our break in Newcastle and I must say the staff on reception where fantastic helping with the underground parking and jumping into the bar to fix us a drink after our drink from Edinburgh especially with this covid stuff the app wasn’t working and the manager was really helpful. The room itself is pretty basic but for the time we where there it wasn’t important it’s walking distance from the main pubs and restaurants in the city and we will return to this hotel as it was exactly what we where looking for.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lee wrote a review Nov 2020
Morpeth, United Kingdom190 contributions50 helpful votes
Arrived after walking 15 miles (training for a charity hike), so obviously a little tired and looking forward to a good nights rest. Unfortunately for me, that wasn't going to happen. The staff on the desk would rather have been anywhere else but at work clearly, as the attitude was poor from the moment I stepped in. That night there was doors slamming between corridors throughout an hour (10-11pm), the following morning the noise of crashing glass bottles acted as an alarm clock at 6.25am as the recycling trucks turned to clear the mess from the night before. The room itself was okay, but the bed wasn't as comfortable as other Premier Inns I have used. Upon leaving the hotel the following morning I emailed and submitted the form to Premier Inn about not having a great nights sleep (following their NO QUIBBLE GUARANTEE policy) expecting to receive a refund at a later date...however, this morning I received an email to say they would not be doing this on this occasion as I did not tell the staff in the morning. Which is strange, as the website DOESN'T state you must do this, also, during a global pandemic, I'm under the impression we're meant to try and avoid face to face contact with each other as much as possible, which is why I choose to do it online. Won't ever use again...and I'll be sure to make sure I let the users of my gym, swimming pool and sports centre aware of the scam Premier Inn are running.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we're happy to hear you stayed with us, we're sorry for the noise disturbance's you experienced and the issue's you had with bed quality. We can imagine the overall experience left you feeling let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guest's to feel. With disturbance's such as these, we'd always encourage speaking with a team member as soon as you can as this would give them the chance to put thing's right which would hopefully help improve your visit. We appreciate you may not want to go to reception, however you're also welcome to call down if you'd rather. As the team weren't made aware within a reasonable amount of time, we wouldn't have been able to invoke our Good Night Guarantee or offer a refund on this occasion. The exclusions are advised in the terms on our website. Saying this, I'd like to assure you we've made a record of your comment's and have passed them to hotel management team to see what improvement's can be made going forward. We wouldn't want standard's like these to continue so the bed's will be inspected and this will also be raised with the team to ensure noise check's are being carried out. We hope this doesn't make you think twice about returning so please have confidence this isn't our usual standard and your comment's will be picked up. Thanks again for getting in touch and we hope to see you again soon. Ricky
Read more
Tina S wrote a review Nov 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
I stay at a lot of Premier Inns and this is the worst. Great location and car parking but the hotel is very tired and desperate in need of a referb . Bathrooms old and stained, struggled turning off the shower tap, furniture very dated and battered, carpets in need of changing desperately. It’s definitely not covid friendly and I was there for 3 days and the only 3 hand sanitizer stations where empty, non near lifts or near doors. Bedding and towels clean. Can imagine when Newcastle is open fully the hotel will be very noisy. The staff where nice
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2020
Hello there, thanks for taking the time to share your review. Whilst we're happy to hear you stayed with us and you found the location great and the bedding and towels were clean, I'm sorry you feel the the hotel is in need of a refurb and you also had trouble turning off the tap. We can imagine this left you feeling let down and this certainly isn't how we want our guest's to feel. Just so you know, we've now passed your feedback to the hotel management team to see what improvement's can be made going forward. We'd of course like to ensure the sanitizer's are kept full so this will be raised with the team to ensure any necessary retraining is arranged and the rooms are also inspected. Thanks for taking the time to get in touch and we hope to see you again soon. Ricky
Read more
Eddiehelenp wrote a review Oct 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom70 contributions46 helpful votes
We have stayed in many Premier Inns and always had a comfortable stay. We stayed at the Premier Inn Quayside recently which is located really well for Newcastle city centre. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay and had a good night sleep but felt the hotel wasn’t up to the usual standard of Premier Inns. The room we stayed in was tired and the hotel needs renovating or freshening up as the walls were dirty and the basement smelt really bad. I have always recommended Premier Inns and will still use them however wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn newcastle quayside hotel newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
152
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Nearby attractions include Crown Posada (0.2 km), The Quayside (0.2 km), and Grey Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, The French Quarter, and Pizza Punks.
Is Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (1.1 km), The Quayside (0.2 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (0.3 km).
Does Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.