We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The New Northumbria Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The New Northumbria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 444: English reviews
Kirkham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

I went with my boyfriend and we had paid for a double superior suite. We were very disappointed to find out our bed were two singles pushed together (room 118) these were held together by a double sheet, this did not matter, the mattresses kept slipping apart and were at different heights which meant it was extremely uncomfortable to cuddle...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sophie E
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback following your stay. I'm so sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We have took all your comments on board. Thank you, Stephanie

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We were worried about our first christmas away from the house but all the staff couldn't have made us feel more welcome. We were allowed to use reception area to have drinks & play games & our christmas meal was in a set back part of the restaurant so it felt like a dining room anyway. Rooms were perfect &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannahr0se
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us over the festive period. We hope to welcome you back again soon :). Kind Regards, Steph

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Working in the North East for a couple of days, chose this hotel as it is close to my son's Uni accomodation, i was impressed by the colour scheme of the internal decor and how pristine and clean everything looked. I met my son and neice who are both studying at Northumbria and we ate in the Hotel Restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveyc1964
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for such a lovely review. I'm so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Glasgow
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night and was very pleased with the room and customer service. Stayed in a room at the front but couldn't really hear any noise from the adjoining pub. Would definitely stay here again. Only £7 in a taxi from Newcastle train station,30min walk. Great deal on Groupon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andybryan11
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

the bed was awful, could feel the gap between the mattresses. No pillow protectors disgusting! However the pillows were called countess supplied by a company called mitre! Like bricks I certainly didn't sleep like a princess! Duvet flat ! Room in dire need of upgrading. Road work yellow paint, old tatty window cold and damp. Basically awful..... Will stay across...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon L
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate feedback both good or bad. I'm so sorry to hear about your disappointment during your stay. If this had been brought to our attention, we may have been able to move you rooms or rectify any issues. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

Our first visit to this hotel and we will definitely return. Good, clean, well laid out room. Good clean, bathroom. We used both the restaurant and bars attached to the hotel and the food drink and atmosphere were very good. Hotel staff excellent, arrived with a heavy cold and the reception staff offered no end of remedies to ensure our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barrie L
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, It was lovely to have you stay with us recently at The New Northumbria Hotel. We hope you are feeling better now! Thank you for such a lovely review. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Reviewed 18 January 2016

The room was lovely, food was great in the Italian restaurant and the staff were very helpful and friendly making the trip easier :) Receptionists were all lovely and held our bags for us if we went out for the day and were checked out of our room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank megh121
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Hope you're well. Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016

As a regular traveller its easy to see a well pictured hotel on a website and think whoo that looks nice. My experiance is purely based upon the room I stayed in. Other rooms are available at a higher cost, which I hope are better. Breakfast costs £10, didn't have breakfast due to this. Positives, Pleasant staff, the reception and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SparkyM-25
The Malhotra G, Assistant Manager at The New Northumbria Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to post some feedback following your stay here at The New Northumbria Hotel. I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment, we have taken all your comments on board. Kind Regards, Stephanie

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016

On arrival, very friendly receptionist (but you do get that being in Geordie land) and they stored our bags as the room was not ready, coming back it was. We had a superior room which was small and compact but immaculately clean and big king comfy bed! My only quip the room was so hot.....Also car parking a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyWard1
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Amazing rooms, friendly staff and steph on reception was lovely and couldnt do enough to help, made the stay alot better. Thank you to all...especially steph. The restaurant was fantastic and bar next door is good for sport and a beer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richie H

320 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (267)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Dining (100)
Viewed
Second Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
Second Superior Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
430 reviews
3.0 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,931 reviews
0.9 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#3 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,720 reviews
2.2 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
348 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Northumbria Hotel is a boutique hotel located on the outskirts of Newcastle upon Tyne, in a busy vibrant residential area. We pride ourselves on our personable, friendly customer service and strive to make every guest feel special and valued. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Northumbria Hotel

Address: Osborne Road, Jesmond | 61-73 Osborne Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: €56 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Northumbria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The New Northumbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Northumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Northumbria Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The New Northumbria Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two suites are worth considering”
 of 5 bubbles simonbjofsurrey, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“head for the top floor. Lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles konradc864, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The superior room was beautiful,”
 of 5 bubbles AngelaP73, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in a front room and was very little road noise”
 of 5 bubbles jx4mcg, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for upgrade to Exec rooms as they are lovely. 2nd Floor as well.”
 of 5 bubbles Charlie543210, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5