We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Station Hotel

Save
Share
Neville Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DH England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$217
View deal
Hotels.com
US$217
View deal
Snaptravel
US$240
US$191
View deal
SAVE US$49
PricelineUS$212
eDreamsUS$240
Trip.comUS$215
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (620)
Room & Suite (335)
Dining (38)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#40 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in the heart of the city adjoining Newcastle Central Station and metro system, just 10 minutes walk from the bustling city centre with its shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The Royal Station Hotel Newcastle was built circa 1850 and is a grade 1 and 2 Victorian listed building which boasts elegant architecture and was opened by Queen Victoria. We offer spacious rooms, a fabulous bar and restaurant, indoor swimming pool and fitness centre, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and limited free car parking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
2,470Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 831
  • 865
  • 428
  • 189
  • 157
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul V wrote a review Nov 2020
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom239 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here on a thursday evening with the girlfiend. It seemed a very decent deal we got on booking.com for a king size room with breakfast included. We arrived before check in and i parked in the adjacent station hotel, knowing it would be quite expensive. However, when we went to check in we were informed that there are actually far cheaper spaces before the car park barrier that are exclusively for the hotel, this was too late though unfortunately. We entered our king room and it was nothing like the photos shown on the website.. it was a small bedroom and then a bit of a living room added on with the bathroom. You could barely even squeeze past the tv at the end of the bed!.. The room was clean & tidy though so that wasn't an issue. Our room was at the front of the hotel and the noise from 6am onwards on the morning was ridiculous! Buses & cars galore.. I can't imagine it's much better out the back with trains either. We had to pre book our breakfast slot and did so for 9am which was the latest available.. We were shown to a table and were literally served with a breakfast in front of us at about 9.02... It seemed all too rushed and was not an enjoyable dining experience at all. We weren't offered cereal or anything either, just a choice of drinks that were also brought over. The food itself was ok but nothing special. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone really, not at premium weekend prices that's for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
lcraig867 wrote a review Nov 2020
Seahouses, United Kingdom41 contributions16 helpful votes
After staying as a couple in August, we returned for a couple.of nights during half term as didn't want to go out the local tier restrictions. Again received a very warm welcome and we were able to check in early. Lovely, clean, spacious family room with an actual single bed for my daughter, not a pull out like many other hotels. We enjoyed shopping and looking around the city before returning for a drink on the hotel bar both nights we were there. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was plentiful, served quickly and hot. Overall, another lovely stay, and we will be back as soon as we are allowed. Stay safe, keep up the good work, we felt safe the entire time. Hopefully you can re open asap
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Mops wrote a review Nov 2020
Whitby, United Kingdom24 contributions26 helpful votes
Booked a family room for myself and 3 children. It was in the attic area and decorated a dreary cream and brown. Ok...basic but large - 2 rooms connected. Staff had wedged a rolled up towel into the sash window. The radiators were barely warm. I phoned Reception to have the heating fixed as I could not budge the radiator dials. Whilst we were out, a member of staff came to our room and turned the radiators fully off! They left us 2 dyson heaters which were ok but noisy. We slept without them on due to the noise. I phoned reception again in the morning. It was cold and my daughter’s bed was next to the window in the other room - she had been cold. The manager came to the room and he managed to turn on the radiator dials that I could not move. He apologised - he had no idea why the staff member had turned the radiators off! He had no idea why a rolled up towel was wedged in the window. He gave us a £30 discount. Not enough to compensate for basic needs...a warm room! I spoke to the day manager who refused to compensate more and was very dismissive. I would not stay again. Pool area - ok but you had a chilly walk between the sauna and the pool down a tiled corridor. Breakfast - v good. Restaurant and public areas very nice so it’s a shame the room was so basic!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
drhodesbfs wrote a review Oct 2020
Bradford, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
This has to be one of the poorest hotels I have ever stayed in. Stayed in a superior double, I would hate to imagine what a standard room would be. The poorest budget hotel is more comfortable than this embarrassment. No room controlled temperature, it was hot really hot. Couldnt open the windows due to the racetrack outside with little boy racers driving round with crap gangster rap blaring out. Bathroom was poor, toilet paper you could literally put your finger through. Hotel has lovely antique features though like chandeliers. I'd rather have a premier inn if I'm totally honest. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from TRACY SEWELL, Other at Royal Station Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your allocated room, Had you contacted reception upon check in we could have looked into moving you to an alternative room that may have been more to your liking. With regards to your room temperature issue, Again had you contacted us we could have tried to rectify this for you. We do not have air conditioning so could have arranged a fan for your room or moved you to an alternative. Unfortunately we can not try to put things right after the event. So apologies that you did not have a comfortable stay. Once again thank you for your comments we do appreciate all of our guests feedback. Regards Christine
Read more
Rachael N wrote a review Oct 2020
Carlisle, United Kingdom20 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here for a night away last minute with family. Excellent location. 😃 Great price. 😃 Clean rooms and very spacious. 😃 Friendly staff.😃 Fabulous breakfast.😃😋 With all the COVID restrictions about now, I think the hotel is doing a great job. 👏👏 The breakfast service was extremely well organised and very efficient. 😃
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from TRACY SEWELL, Other at Royal Station Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2020
Dear Rachael, Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay! We are thrilled to hear that you all had a safe and great stay with us. We do hope to welcome you all back again very soon. Best Wishes Christine
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal station, royal station newcastle upon tyne
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
145
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Station Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Station Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EXIT Newcastle (0.2 km), The Glamorous Owl (0.3 km), and Crown Posada (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Station Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Royal Station Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Station Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Simla Restaurant, The French Quarter, and Pizza Punks.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Royal Station Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royal Station Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Royal Station Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Royal Station Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (1.6 km), The Quayside (0.8 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (0.3 km).