We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Bridge Hotel

Save
Share
Newbridge Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8BS England
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (48)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#60 of 89 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With the City Centre shops just down the road, and St James Park within easy striking distance, it's all your feet. Check out the latest trends at Eldon Square shopping centre. Dive into the nightlife or catch a gig at The Metro Radio Arena. When you have spent the day doing business or dancing until dawn, come back and relax in one of our super comfy beds.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
162Reviews10Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 45
  • 36
  • 18
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lin58 wrote a review Sep 2020
Durham, United Kingdom20 contributions4 helpful votes
Having stayed here before we were shocked by the state of the hotel. Its run down,TV in room doesn't work, towel heater cable and air con cable cut so can't use. No hot water throughout the stay. Reception claimed 5 plumbers had been called but have my doubts.I know the industry has been hit hard but hot water is a basic need. Staff were friendly but were embarrassed when responding to the no hot water.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
djc64 wrote a review Sep 2020
Maidstone, United Kingdom43 contributions19 helpful votes
We had booked the hotel when I got a ballot place in the Great North Run, it was a panic buy because rooms were selling quickly but we’d stayed here a couple of years ago when it was a Premier Inn and it was a nice hotel (then). As we weren’t expecting anything to go wrong we didn’t book a flexible room so consequently when the GNR was cancelled we couldn’t do anything about our room. The hotel was SO disappointing. The good point is that the location is great, right near the centre. The room was okay but like the whole hotel very tired and desperate for a refurb. Carpets are shabby, walls need a lick of paint, lift needs new floor covering and the place had an unattractive smell. We paid a lot for our room because of when we booked it but there was no restaurant or bar. Also, they had the audacity to charge a “damage deposit”!! It will be interesting to see how long it takes to get that back. Will never stay at this place again. Avoid unless you want to be really near the centre of town and don’t care about eating and drinking at your hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Michelle wrote a review Sep 2020
Durham, United Kingdom1 contribution
We were booked to stay here for 1 night, we had been before but a couple of years ago when it was a Premier Inn. On check in there was only 1 member of staff, all the rest still furloughed. We went to our room and immediately returned to reception and asked if we could look at another... this unfortunately was no different. They were not fit for any guest. We advised we wanted to check out. At this point no attempt was made to resolve this by offering a 'better' room (which after a lengthy discussion with Dan he informs me there is a room which he sometimes uses that we could have been offered!!) We asked about a refund and were told to contact who the booking agent. So off we went to find somewhere else to stay. This hotel should be closed for a deep clean. It seems to us that nothing has been done since the hotel reopened. Given the current situation all the more reason to keep the hotel/rooms immaculate. * There was so much dust/dirt round the edges of the carpets all round the skirting boards, you could scrape it up with your shoe. It appeared no hoovering had been done since lockdown. * Massive cobweb (with spider) next to the bed in the corner against the skirting board. * The air conditioning/heating unit was disgusting… covered in dust, dirt and cobwebs. * Smell in the room. * The stairs in reception are filthy, they look as if they have never been cleaned/hoovered. * The flooring in the lift is dangerous. * Graffiti on the outside of the hotel. We travel a lot in the UK and abroad and have stayed in many hotels but this is the first time we have checked out without staying !! We have asked for a refund and were offered a nights stay 'to make amends' which we obviously declined. The refund has been refused. I emailed my complaint and informed Dan that I would be putting a bad review on here, in return he replied 'Now that you have threatened us with posting a damaging review on TripAdvisor. I regret to inform you that I must withdraw my offer and that anything we offer you from this point on would be seen as blackmail' Hmmm I had already turned down the offer of this!!! Since returning we have established the hotel is owned by Gainford Hotels which also owns the County and the Vermont in the city. We have stayed in the Vermont a couple of times and what a difference. What is this company doing being associated with the Newbridge? We do wonder!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't bother even looking at this hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Master eats wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions5 helpful votes
I used to stay at this hotel when it was a Premier Inn for business. First stay since it has changed hands. What an absolute dump the hotel is now. Reception area, corridors, lift are in desperate need of a lick of paint and a good clean. I didn't pay a lot for my room but you do expect it to be clean. The carpet looked like it hadn't seen a vacuum for month's, the dust above the bed and on the air-conditioning unit was about an inch thick. The family of spiders living by the side of the bed looked like they'd been in situ for many a week. In these very uncertain times when cleanliness is paramount the hotel management obviously missed the memo.My advice, stear well clear of the flea pit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Anthony O wrote a review Sep 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom54 contributions33 helpful votes
Firstly I have to say I booked this earlier in the year for a concert and all room in Newcastle the rates had shot up and this was at a good price. Due to Covid I had to rebook for September as the concert was cancelled. On arriving the outlook isn’t great and check in is ok staff are friendly. The room is basic and clean. Would I stay here again probably not but for what I paid and the price the rooms usually go for it is a fair price for what you get. Basic and clean and central to the city.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$37 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTyne and WearNewcastle upon Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
186
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The New Bridge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The New Bridge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Glamorous Owl (0.4 km), Tyneside Cinema (0.3 km), and Grey Street (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The New Bridge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The New Bridge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The New Bridge Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The New Bridge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sushi Me Rollin', Pizza Punks, and Snackwallah.
Is The New Bridge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Are there any historical sites close to The New Bridge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Victoria Tunnel (1.0 km), The Quayside (0.7 km), and Newcastle Cathedral (0.6 km).
Is The New Bridge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.