We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Torlundy House B&B

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Torlundy House B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Start your review of Torlundy House B&B
 Click to rate
Rancho Cordova, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Torlundy House the first week of April with another couple we traveled with. We were only able to stay for 2 nights but they were superb! From the moment we arrived, our host Michael was friendly, informative and very warm and welcoming. He had loads of advice on where to go for long day trip and short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duker20
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Hello Duker20, well what can I say, you were a fantastic party of folk to have staying with us. Having laugh along with guests is great fun for all, and you all have a wicked sense of humour as well. It was a real pleasure having you all stay here, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your short time...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were greeted and made very welcome. We were told about places to eat, given guides on places to visit, information on local highlights and given Internet access. The room was spotless, the breakfast was 1st class (salmon and scrambled eggs... Yes please) and everything was meticulously placed and presented (even the tea pot and cafetiere were like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jake O
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

"Jake O", thank you for your great review of your stay with us. You are right this is a wonderful area with so much to see and occupy yourself with. I am just sorry that you were unable to climb the Ben, but the upside of that is that you will be back for another go. There are plenty more...

Esher, Surrey
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I can't rate this B&B highly enough. From the moment we arrived our host (Michael) was very welcoming and showed us where everything was and recommended some great places to eat and visit nearby. Our room was very spacious and absolutely spotless; with everything we could have needed (tea , coffee, biscuits etc). We were staying with the sole purpose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simonjdoy
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Torlundy House. I am very happy that your time with us was good and that you found your room clean and spacious. You really were very lucky to have made it to the top of the Ben at this time of year. I have another pair of guests attempting it today....

Reviewed 23 February 2017

I stayed for 3 nights and was met by owner Michael. Humble and happy to help Michael provides a perfect stay to the last detail. With the modern and well kept rooms I've never slept so well. Just set a few miles away from Fort William it provides access to all the amenities needed whilst still feeling that you're a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Hi David P, that is great that you enjoyed your stay with us. I wish the weather could have been a little better for your ice climbing, but at least you got some in. The beauty of staying out here with us is that it is lovely and quiet and it is good to know you got some good shut...

Puy-Saint-Vincent, France
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights, it's just a wonderfull to place to stay. Michael is very helpful and welcoming and makes a delicious breakfast. Nice view on the Ben Bevis (when it is visible ;-) ) Thank you Michael!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterlaFrance
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Great that you found Torlundy House a wonderful place to stay and that you enjoyed our breakfast. Yes the view of Ben Nevis is great when it is clear, just a shame it is sometimes shrouded in cloud. Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Best regards, Michael.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Sent from my iPad. Torlundy House is an excellent B and B, the best we've ever stayed at! The room/ensuite was spacious and very well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious, beautifully presented, with quality local produce. The location is very peaceful and perfect for exploring this area. It's on the way to Skye, Lock Ness etc. Host, Michael, has put together...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

That is great that Torlundy House is the Best B&B you have stayed in and am am more that pleased that you found the tour guides useful. Most of our guests are only here for a few days so we like to ensure they get the best from their short stay. There is so much to see and do in...

Calne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased we had made this choice. Mike gave us a warm welcome, the accomodation and breakfasts were faultless. It is located in a small hamlet very near to FW and really quiet, great view of Ben Nevis from the dining room. We are looking forward to going back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NDWiltshire
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, "NDWiltshire" for taking the time to write about your stay at Torlundy House. It is great that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our location and that wonderful view of Ben Nevis. I am really happy that you enjoyed your time and found everything to your liking and satisfaction. We will of course be more than pleased...

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our four night break at the end of September. Mike's breakfasts are wonderful, so much choice using fresh produce. Just what a guest needs to set them up for the day. From the breakfast room we were so fortunate to see Ben Nevis on two mornings as the day was clear and sunny. Maxean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jend41
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Yes you were very lucky to see the top of "The Ben" twice during your stay. It certainly is a great view at breakfast time. As guests usually only have limited time in the area we like to help them get the best of it, so over the years we have built a good knowledge and found the sights to...

Canby, Oregon
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Torlundy House is a little tricky to find, but once you find it it's a wonderful place to stay. We spent two nights there and found the breakfasts to be excellent. Our hosts were very helpful in finding us great places to eat. The room large, lovely, and well-appointed. We've been disappointed in the past with accommodations in Fort William,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you "Bob J". I am sorry you found us a little difficult to find, although because we are a little off the main road it does have the upside of being quieter, more peaceful and relaxed and that I believe is our appeal to most guests. It is certainly what drew us to Torlundy. We have eaten at most...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This B & B was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Very welcoming and helpful owner (we had to be up very early the next morning and he provided an early breakfast). The room was spotlessly clean and really big. But the best thing was the crisp white linen and very cosy duvet! Brilliant night's sleep and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krob2907
Michael D, Owner at Torlundy House B&B, responded to this review

Ah, that's good, I am pleased you liked the bed linen. We opted to put double duvets on the single beds this year to stop that old problem of single duvets wandering off you at night! Many of our guests have commented about this and very positively as well. It makes the bed cosier as well. It is a shame...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torlundy
4.3 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.5 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
533 reviews
4.1 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
644 reviews
0.6 km away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#18 of 21 in Fort William
4 reviews
8.1 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 3 miles from the centre of Fort William in the rural village of Torlundy we offer a quiet retreat for your stay. We recommend you have your own transport as local public transport is limited. We have free private off road parking for all our guests. Our rural location means that you will need to travel into Fort William for your evening dining on Scottish and International cuisine. The house is furnished in a contemporary modern style. All our 5 rooms have their own ensuite private bathroom with free toiletries, large soft towels and a hairdryer. Also in your room is a flat screen TV, DVD player, and tea/coffee making facilities. Some rooms have garden and mountain views. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. For relaxation we have a large residents lounge where you will find local information and our own written tour guides to help you get the best experience of the Highlands. For guests wanting to conquer Ben Nevis, the North Face Route is accessible on foot from Torlundy House, or the normal easier “tourist route” and visitor centre are just a couple of miles away. For those wanting to sample a local whiskey the Ben Nevis Distillery is just 1 mile away. Our breakfast experience is well renowned with mainly locally sourced fresh produce, full Scottish cooked breakfast, porridge (not in summer), smoked salmon. Lighter options of fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals are also available. Our breakfast room has a large picture window with magnificent views of Ben Nevis. Also just 2 miles away is Aonach Mor with mountain biking and skiing among the activities available and the Caledonian Canal with Neptune’s Staircase, the gateway for boats travelling through Scotland from the west coast to Inverness on the north east coast. Your hosts have been offering Bed and Breakfast for 15 years in Torlundy. In 2011 we moved to Torlundy House and refurbished it to a VisitScotland 4 Star property. Every year we continue to upgrade and improve facilities. We have many guests coming back to stay with us on a regular basis as they like the area, the peace and quiet and the fact that we are located outside the main town, but within easy reach of it. Torlundy House is the ideal place to make your base while touring the Highlands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Torlundy House B&B

Address: Happy Valley, Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Torlundy
Price Range: €84 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torlundy House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Torlundy House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Torlundy House B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms were fabulous !”
  • The beautiful Ben Nevis from the dining room
Duker20, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 upstairs was ideal for us”
peterf370, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good”
judyw377, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only stayed in top floor room which was large and spacious”
GerryD766, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 2 - it was great for anyone with crutches or sticks - possibly even a wheel chair.”
narwhal1973, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates