We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rutland Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rutland Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

443 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rutland Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 437: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We stay here at least once a year with up to 20 people occupying 10 rooms . The rooms really need updated as they are very tired . At £160 per room I feel this is vastly over charging race goers and others who find themselves in Newmarket. Location is great and meals are decent . Breakfast staff weeee good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biglurch
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is on a rolling maintenance program and we try our best to make sure everything is as up to date as possible but unfortunately some things are out of our control.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights will not bother returning no staff about when needed, did not make our stay feel welcome at all.. Overpriced and hardly what I would call clean... The sink was stained and the shower not much better still rubbish in the room from previous occupant"

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucy S
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two days and had a lovely visit. The comedy part comes in when you realize you go up a flight of stairs, down a hallway, up more stairs, across a road inside a pedway, up more stairs turn left through a door down a flight of steps to your room. The room numbers make no sense...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Cholsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Forget the modern boring styles of the usual chain hotels, this is a proper hotel! Not luxurious but comfortable, charming and welcoming. The staff were all very friendly, my room was clean enough and admittedly a bit tatty but everything worked and it was perfect for a 1 night stay. Theres no lift and its quite a hike to some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexJ262
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The 'Quirkyness' of the hotel is not always to everyones taste but, i am glad you found the hotel charming. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Used this hotel with a group of friends when we visited Duxford war museum. Very good location in the centre of Newmarket. Pleasant rooms, good size. Hotel is quite quirky with lots of stairs and passages. Would not be very good if you have difficulty in walking which one of our group had. Breakfast was nice, freshly cooked. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyweld1
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Hotel looks romantic from the outside. However our room had a non-functioning toilet. After complaints it was not repaired. Our room on the top floor was difficult to reach with luggage. Receptionstaff was not too friendly and preoccupied with themselves. After heavy showers the roof leaked in several places and buckets were placed to prevent water from seeping through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of your experience. We have an on site maintenance person who would have been avaliable to repair the toilet. Unfortunately due to the layout of the building some of our rooms are a fair distance from reception however, there should have been someone avaliable to help take your luggage to...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Went to celebrate a friends birthday with a meal and a few drink after the races at Newmarket. The meal was fabulous the steaks great. The staff very professional, nice touch at the end of the meat with the chef and staff singing happy birthday to our friend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gay C
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. we look forward to welcoming you back.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after the racing.. The room was very tired, needing a major revamp and had no air conditioning .. To charge £157 in a small double for one night, it should have been up to date with all the comfort you would expect of a hotel worthy of charging £157 a night .. Staff we nice.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline O
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review. Our prices are based on local events and demand, this means that during the racing or sales the prices reflect the demand. The hotel is a listed building and as such we are unable to install air conditioning in our rooms, we do provide fans in all of our rooms to try to make guest...

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for three nights combining a friends wedding with a short break. The hotel is very charming and full of character, if in need of a small touch up every here and there. Our family room was large even for three and a half of us, very clean and very comfortable. Even quiet considering we overlooked the high street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil jennings loughborough
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable and that the service was good. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

masham
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Arrived from France via the tunnel, en route home to Yorkshire. Having booked a character room we were directed through a maze of corridors and up lots of stairs, ending up almost in the attics. I am recovering from a broken ankle and struggling with using steps, so after an enquiry from my husband the staff immediately moved us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendymaryMasham
Josh R, General Manager at Rutland Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am please to hear that the team were accomodating with your request and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
0.3 km away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
0.9 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
851 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Newmarket Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Newmarket Boutique Apartments
2.6 km away
Cadogan Hotel
Cadogan Hotel
#7 of 8 in Newmarket
38 reviews
12.1 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where history and hospitality combine.This 17th Century former Coaching Inn is at the top of the High Street in the heart of the vibrant racing town of Newmarket.The Hotel has a rich and vibrant history and has continued to offer the highest levels of service and hospitality throughout the years. The motto on the coat of arms, 'pour y parvenir' meaning 'to attain or succeed', underpins everything at the Rutland Arms.The Hotel is built around a cobbled courtyard that dates back to the 17th century reign of Charles II and now has 46 individually decorated bedrooms.The distinctive and attractive building retains many of the original period features adding to the charm and character of the Rutland Arms.For early risers, a morning stroll to the gallops is something not to be missed. Watching the horses out on exercise certainly builds up an appetite for a hearty breakfast.The Nell Gwynn bar is an ideal meeting place for morning coffee, drinks, lunch or a traditional afternoon tea. After a day at the races, celebrate in style with a drink in the wine bar and dinner in the award-winning Carriages Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel

Address: 33 High Street, Newmarket CB8 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Newmarket
Price Range: €66 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rutland Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Hotel Newmarket, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rutland Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 111 which is most people's favourite.”
michaelr155, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lots of stairs, some rooms are on different sides of the hotel.”
linp576, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not get room out the front on high St,NOISE”
kerryp652, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It really depends on the needs of clients the staff would talk it through with them.”
Beryl1513, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying at a weekend, ask for a room away from the main road if you are an early bedder”
BattyOne, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5