We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,130: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I use this hotel on a regular basis. Always get a great service. The rooms are always clean and very comfy. You can eat in the brasserie or restaurant depending on your budget. Great breakfast. A very old building that has been updated with a new spa which I haven't tried yet. It can get busy at times with weddings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penfoldisking
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer comments and we thank you for yours. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy your business trips to The Swan at Lavenham Hotel & Spa. Our Front Desk staff can assist you with your dining bookings, so that you can avoid busy times....

London
Reviewed 27 November 2015

I was travelling with a friend and our two young sons. We'd been let down by another hotel (Ickworth, see another review on that place) and after calling around to find availability were lucky enough to get a room at The Swan Hotel. From the second we arrived, all the stresses caused by our disappointment at the Ickworth, disappeared. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Twiz72
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We like to receive customer comments and yours are so lovely, many thanks. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at The Swan at Lavenham Hotel & Spa and we hope to see you all again, next time you're visiting the area. If...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We had a trip to lavenham and popped into the swan for a drink. It is such a beautiful place for a drink. Tons of space and lots of comfy chairs to sit on. Great local cider too.. they were not serving food on the day we went due to a big function they had on. Look forward to going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paradiseash
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer comments and yours are lovely, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again. To pre-book for dining, please email: bookatable@theswanatlavenham.co.uk or call 01787 247477. If I can assist you further, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager...

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

This elegant and beautiful setting is matched by attentive, professional staff and imaginative food. The food was artistically presented and unpretentious. The delights of the eye were matched by the tastes and textures on the tongue. My seafood starter with Lobster bisque had a wonderful depth of colour and flavour. I found it hard to part with my plate. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheFlowerPhoenix
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback is very important to us and we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to The Swan at Lavenham Hotel & Spa. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business...

Romford
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

Wonderful repose facial with Emma then afternoon tea for a hen do which was great value for money with attentive staff. Parking was limited but free parking in the village meant it wasn't really an issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssentialFeeling
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback is very important to us and we so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to both Weavers' House Spa and The Swan. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

22 of us had dinner to celebrate our investment club anniversary; the team at the swan could not have been more welcoming. Dinner was excellent washed down with their well priced Sauvignon Blanc and Malbec. It will be an evening to remember for us all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carobelle2
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback is very important to us and we are delighted to hear that your group event, was an enjoyable occasion at The Swan at Lavenham Hotel & Spa. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Lavenham is a lovely little "Wool village" full of timber frame buildings with lots of decorated plaster work. It also has great little both tourist and everyday shops, The Swan is a very very old, timber frame building in the centre of the village. As such It is a maze of small and large rooms, it is beautifully furnished. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stuart220
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback. We're extremely proud of our Airmen's Bar and the WWII signatures and memorabilia within in and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was our second stay at this delightful hotel. Our room overlooked the pretty garden, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The staff are attentive without being intrusive, and go the extra mile to ensure guests are well provided for. Having arrived feeling tired and run down, we left, 4 days later, totally refreshed. It's certainly not a cheap break,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279jackie1948
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. If I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know. Kind regards Jane Jane Larcombe Business Development Manager E: jane.larcombe@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2015

We booked one night at the Swan with Secret Escapes, as a very special treat. One really good thing about the hotel was the level of staff service from most staff members. Considering how much the room is normally let for, we were surprised about a number of things. Firstly the mattress had a plastic protective cover - are all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maisielane
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer feedback, however I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues, during your stay. We'd like to identify the room you were in, so I wonder if you could please email me with the details. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind...

London
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel, old & historic, just a beautiful setting in Lavenham and the weaver spa was an added bonus. The service was exceptional, I could not fault it. Breakfast service was too if the bill, evening carvers was accompanied by a piano. Would 109% recommend this hotel & historic town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleirish
JaneLarcombeBDM, Director of Sales at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We welcome customer comments and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Swan at Lavenham Hotel & Spa, together with the lovely village of Lavenham itself. We look forward to welcoming you back again. If I can assist you further, at any time,...

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (127)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
17.6 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
957 reviews
13.1 km away
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
851 reviews
29.0 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Lavenham, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Price Range: €142 - €273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Norwich, United Kingdom
Alicante, Spain
over a year ago
Hinckley, United Kingdom
10 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room very hot even though all radiators turned off .No lovely fluffy towels again all ok but nothing special Room quiet on side of hotel .”
Tredgold1948, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for. I had a single room and it was small and a little compact but the suites are excellent.”
656tamarn, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are very different. I suggest you ask the hotel when making a booking.”
timspurrier, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you are clear ref size of room and bed if this is important to you.”
garthj614, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Your room may not look like the website photos.”
EmmaH439, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5