We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wentworth Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wentworth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 629: English reviews
Start your review of Wentworth Hotel
 Click to rate
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took my mother here for her birthday since my parents live locally. We each had the Wentworth Afternoon Tea. The quality of the tea and accompanying sandwiches, cakes and scones was very good, the presentation okay but it is very good value at £15.95. I would have happily paid more had it been presented in a china tea pot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonTexy
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble in posting a comprehensive review of your recent visit to the hotel for Afternoon Tea. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the experience and considered it good value for money. We are very proud of the hotel and thank you for the complimentary comments about the property. Your comments concerning...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very enjoyable 3 night stay at this delightful hotel. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. The food and service in the dining room could not be faulted. The location of the hotel is perfect for the seafront (great coastal walk to Thorpeness) and for the (attractive) town centre There are views of the sea from the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 316bradleyf
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn that the services and facilities were to your satisfaction, that you enjoyed the food, the hotel, the log fires and the location of the hotel. We are in an enviable location and we do try to make use of the position. It is...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Met a friend for her birthday.., we chose the three course set meal at £19 each... excellent value! Delicious meal but just one tiny complaint... the lemon posset was far too sweet. Sadly this spoilt our almost perfect lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J777TES
Solihull
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An individual hotel on the seafront which has been run by the same family for approaching 100 years. Spacious ensuite bedrooms overlooking the sea, or across to the church on the hill. We found a range of lounges or outside seating, and a great choice of breakfast options using local produce. The dinner menu was changed daily, but was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments will be passed on to the team. It is good to know when we get things right. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Aldeburgh.

Surrey, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic position and all the comforts. Absolutely no complaints. We had a very large room in Darfield House which was really comfortable and well appointed. There was a large event which rather took over the hotel for an afternoon but the manager was quick to find us a suitable lounge ib which to relax, even lighting a fire to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HareHiller
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were not too inconvenienced by the Memorial Gathering we held at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here three time over the last 18 months, winter and spring. In the winter time we take full advantage of the several lounge area and open log fires. In the summer time you are 30 feet from the promenade and beach. The restaurant is of a good standard and the bar area is small but cosy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review following your latest stay with us. We were delighted to learn that you enjoy the charm and qualities of the hotel at the different times of the year. The newsletter can be subscribed to by completing the details on the hotels website, for those not sure of how to do so. We look forward...

Norwich
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We choose this hotel having read about it's comfortable lounges and fires. On arrival to our room facing the sea we noticed how very cold it was. There was a wall heater but no instructions whatsoever, we called for assistance and the hotel maintenance man came to explain how it worked. The television only gave us 'radio', the maintenance man...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norwichpair
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and for the constructive comments you posted as to how we could improve the services we offer. We will review our guests service directory with the intention of advising guests how to work the heating in the bedroom. Thank you for the idea. The TV in the room was working prior...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

great hotel. great food. nice service. the car park is tight but spaces are available on the sea front my room was a single and was a touch small, but adequate. the car park had spaces for around 20 cars and is located to the rear. the carpark is very tight, though, so a 4x4 might not fit. breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

We love your description of the hotel in that it oozes class. It is very kind of you. This is something that we try to achieve without being too pretentious about it. I was glad to read that the team dealt with your request to your satisfaction. We do always try to help when we can and am glad that...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at the Wentworth, as part of a reunion weekend, re-kindling memories of my husband's youth. The hotel couldn't have been more helpful in meeting the needs of the entire party. We booked one of the superior rooms. The lounge part was a little faded, but in the end we had hardly any time to sit in it! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonofbiggs
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review of the hotel following your recent reunion weekend with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the weekend and thank you for your kind comments about the hotel, the food and the service. It is always good to know when we get things right. We all take great satisfaction when we get...

Billericay
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I can't understand the negative reviews. We've just had a couple of days at the Wentworth and I cannot find one fault. The room was very comfortable, the food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. Plenty of lounges to hide away in and relax with a book or paper and no annoying music. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney T
Chris H, Manager at Wentworth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you could not fault the hotel and that you found the food and service to your liking. It is always good to know that we have happy, satisfied customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldeburgh
0.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
959 reviews
0.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,400 reviews
32.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
782 reviews
20.6 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
13.5 km away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant
The Wentworth Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wentworth is a country house style hotel right on the seafront in the coastal town of Aldeburgh. It has many seafacing bedrooms and provides the ideal getaway for the discerning couple. Gardens in the summer and cosy fires in the winter provide comfortable places to enjoy the atmosphere of this charming hotel. Couples, families and the business traveller are all welcome at this family owned hotel, now in its 3rd generation of ownership ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wentworth Hotel

Address: Wentworth Road, Aldeburgh IP15 5BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Aldeburgh
Price Range: €165 - €267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wentworth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wentworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth Hotel Aldeburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wentworth Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Stamford, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Luton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wentworth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are best but otherwise try Darfield house.”
HareHiller, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dogs welcome”
X4026NBpeterw, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front of hotel has sea views.”
Norwichpair, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“sea facing for the views”
415MichaelB415, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The sea view rooms are lovely”
anonofbiggs, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5