We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Parkwood Hotel

Booking.comUS$66*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$66*
Great Deal
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Parkwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Start your review of The Parkwood Hotel
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A colleague happened across the parkwood whilst looking for a one night stay for work purposes and what a gem she found. Stunning property that's undergone some big upgrades that deliver a very comfortable homely feel. Modern but staying sympathetic to the building in a way that just works. Loved the decor and everything was so clean and fresh. From...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank diane111167
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Parkwood Hotel is a lovely Victorian/Edwardian property with some history to it We booked 2 rooms and the owners couldn't have been more accommodating to our needs with a small child. On arrival we had a pleasant welcome and check in. We ate in the bar area and had a good meal at reasonable price. The bar, restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Phil S
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

room and location fine. food below average . management very unprofessional could do with a up to date customer service training to refresh the importance of customer relations. NOT A VERY PLEASENT STAY.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patriciacockburn
Chelli T, Manager at The Parkwood Hotel, responded to this review

We would be very interested in knowing when you stayed and the name in which it was booked as we cannot find your booking in your name. Please email hello@parkwoodstockton.co.uk the details so that we can investigate. Many thanks

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel cancelled our room without explanation 2 weeks before our stay .Basically they did not record our booking and double booked.I would not stay there under any circumstances on future Fortunately we were able to stay T Premier inn Stockton which wS superb

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Sheila C
Chelli T, Manager at The Parkwood Hotel, responded to this review

The reason for the cancellation wasn't as you state and was fully explained to you by the manager who spoke to yourself and numerous members of your family over a three day period, including the son of the family member you were visiting who is a regular here and a friend of the managers. The reason for the cancellation was...

Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Just home after a lovely stay at the parkwood. Lovely rooms with really comfy beds. Great staff, nothing too much trouble and great food. Really made to feel welcome by staff & locals alike, will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

I visited on the 29th March at lunchtime with a few friends (5) I had checked out the menu beforehand and had also checked out reviews,well, I can only say the food was great the manager could not have been nicer. We had the pensioners special's and they were all really nice and very well priced(£5.95) drinks were not expensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willingtraver
Chelli T, Manager at The Parkwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I remember your group. We do always try to go above and beyond for customers. I still haven't tried the rice pudding custard combination yet. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Visited here one saturday night with a couple of friends for a few drinks the bar manager and mangeress were quite ignorant chatting away to the locals and ignoring the new customers. As we read the menu we decided on a meal. Oh god what a mistake over priced meals. Absoultely rubbish. Plus the service was rubbish as the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Bella000000
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I went there with 5 friends and one of them ordered fish & chips. When it came it was hard in the centre and we surmised that it was frozen. We complained to the waiter, then the chef came out to look at it then the landlady came out. She intimidated the guy whose meal it was getting right into...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank 834angie1966
Chelli T, Manager at The Parkwood Hotel, responded to this review

It saddens me that you felt the need to leave this review and leave out some details. Firstly an apology was made with the offer of a free fresh meal and a refund of the fish and chips which was taken up. I was stood to the corner of the table and the gentleman was sat to my right I...

Lower Stondon
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Very comfortable room with all that you would need provided. Good Beer & Food Staff very friendly & helpful Parking on site It was a pleasant place to stay, looking forwards to the next time I visit! Many Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
Mosta
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Centrally located guesthouse 2 mins awaybfrom Oxford Street. Area very safe and quiet. Good breakfast, comfy beds but no lift. Very steep stairs especially the last flight. Hosts very welcoming and helpful. Free wifi and receptionist let me use pc to print and even made a few calls for me at mo extra charge!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oyster18

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Middlesbrough Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees/Mid...
#2 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
452 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
438 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees West Hotel
Premier Inn Stockton-On-Tees Wes...
#3 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
46 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
5.0 km away
Metro Inns Teesside
Metro Inns Teesside
#7 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Parkwood Hotel is a converted Victorian house built in 1865 and set in its own grounds in the smart suburb of Hartburn, just a few minutes drive from the centre of Stockton. This three star rated hotel incorporates a vibrant public bar and two restaurants, which are enjoyed by locals and guests alike. The hotel is only a few minutes drive from the old market town of Stockton. Stockton Business Park is nearby. The region has a wealth of scenic country roads, excellent footpaths and cycle routes. It is approximately 30 miles from Newcastle and York, 20 miles from Durham and six miles from Teesside Airport. The spectacular countryside of the North York Moors, Cleveland Hills and the Durham and Northumberland coastlines are nearby. Our six comfortable rooms are all ensuite and contain the little luxuries that make a stay at the The Parkwood enjoyable. Some rooms have garden views. The Parkwood offers freshly prepared food at very reasonable prices. Lunchtime bar meals, from sandwiches to sweet and sour chicken, are excellent value for money. In the two restaurants, the chef's specials change on a regular basis and include original dishes prepared from locally sourced meats and fish. Free onsite parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Parkwood Hotel

Address: 64-66 Darlington Road, Stockton-on-Tees TS18 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Stockton-on-Tees
Price Range: €70 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Parkwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Parkwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parkwood Hotel Stockton-On-Tees
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Parkwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't comment on the rooms.”
himfromDelmonte, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Despite being over a pub, even the front rooms were quiet”
philtraveller, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't know”
patriciaj938, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All sound nice & pub has lovely garden - with regular squirrels!”
R7769GHerics, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Stay there but eat at the Masham down the road.”
742griffh, 1 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$66* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUS$92
Travelocity
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates