We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weathervane Hotel

Save
Share
Lysander Road, Stoke-on-Trent ST3 7WA England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (109)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Weathervane Hotel
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 13 hotels in Stoke-on-Trent
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Weathervane Hotel lies just 4 miles from Stoke city centre itself, perched conveniently by the A50 to make access to all major routes as easy as falling asleep in one of our wonderful rooms! Our lodge style hotel has been recently refurbished, and offers a contemporary-yet-comfy setting for any stay whether you're here on a romantic getaway, a business stopover or a family break. In fact, we're so family friendly that even 'Mr Tumble' once paid us a visit on his way home from Alton Towers!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
529Reviews7Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 173
  • 163
  • 114
  • 39
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
owain_smith wrote a review Yesterday
Wrexham, United Kingdom103 contributions68 helpful votes
We had a lovely overnight stay at this hotel as part of a Virgin experience. Plenty of parking just outside the hotel and a huge retail park within walking distance of the hotel. The staff are a real asset to this hotel as they are so polite and cannot do enough for you. Food at the adjoining Hungry Horse is cheep and cheerful. A great menu for families and children at a superb price. Our room was on the ground floor and was a decent size with a comfortable bed. However, the hotel does need upgrading as the furniture and other fixtures have seen better days. The floor in our bathroom was also very uneven as if there had been a leak sometime in the past and it had not been repaired properly. Great location though and having checked the cost of an overnight stay I would say that the hotel was reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Nicole wrote a review 21 Sep
8 contributions2 helpful votes
Weathervane Hotel I’d first like to start by saying that the ladies and gents on the bar/restaurant team are all absolutely wonderful. So kind and lovely and couldn’t do enough for us :) A big thank you to them for everything. So, the rooms. As soon as you enter Room 2, the smell of damp/musty/ and some kind of cheap perfume just hits you, and the room itself was very stuffy. I had to open the window immediately and left it open the entire time. My mum wasn’t too keen on her room either unfortunately, although hers didn’t smell quite as bad as ours. The room above us seemed to be having some kind of dance battle because they were very loud and the floor was making lots of noise (more on that later). Progressively as the evening went on, lots of drunk people and groups of friends started going past our room, just generally making lots of noise and saying goodbye to eachother and whatnot. Whilst this isn’t the fault of Greene King, they did decide to put rooms on the ground floor where people are constantly walking in and out, which may not have been the wisest thing. I had to ask if we could switch rooms because of all the noise, and the staff very kindly found as another room and let us use the new one. Room 33 was immediately better and there was no damp smell, but I think the positives pretty much end there. The floor was extremely creaky and old and made lots of noise when you so much as step on it, so I feel as though I complained about the people above us, but actually they may have just been walking normally and it was being amplified. As for the beds, I genuinely think this could be the worst nights sleep I have EVER had. The sad thing is, they’re actually really comfy but oh my god, they were SO HOT. I tossed and turned for over an hour and had to periodically keep changing the duvet and pillows over to the cold side because it seemed as though they were getting hot every millisecond. Not enjoyable at all and I was tired all day. I do agree with most of what these other reviews say- this place needs a serious update. It all feels very old and tired, and very lacking any TLC. The furniture was kind of shoddy and old-looking and for some reason, didn’t feel especially clean? Also the doors- I don’t know how else to describe it other than pressure from other doors being opened or closed, but periodically the doors to the rooms make a noise as if they are opening. Very annoying. The first bathroom was a nice size though with fresh towels. Overall, not crazy in love with this hotel and wouldn’t return to stay, however would absolutely drop by for some food and drinks if I’m ever round this way again. To the management: Please do something about that damp smell, it’s awful and really did affect my stay with you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Richs1077 wrote a review 15 Sep
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
Avoid this hotel, it’s shocking I stayed in room number 3, damp smell, mattress lumpy and the bathroom has mould on the ceiling Skirting boards rotten, and the carpet stained, floor in bathroom very spongy so something horrible going on underneath … Avoid and get better value elsewhere ! Shame as the staff are really nice, definitely not worth the money
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Definitely avoid and look elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Weathervane Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we really do apologize for the disappointment that was caused, and if you could please send us an email at 5305@greeneking.co.uk, we would be more than happy to discuss this further with you. Many thanks.
Read more
Ray and Paul wrote a review 13 Sep
Reading, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed at this hotel as part of a virgin experience with the Churnet Valley Railway. When we arrived the receptionist was very friendly and we had no problems on check in. Our room was best described as functional and we would say in definite need of an update. The furnishings are exceptionally tired and the decoration is a bit rough around the edges. On the positive the bed was really comfortable and provided an excellent few nights sleep. The Hungry Horse restaurant connected to the hotel provided good food reasonably priced. We must pass comment on all the staff who are exceptionally friendly and helpful. A good hotel for a few nights stay but please don’t have high expectations or you may be disappointed. Very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking on site and great access to travel the local area.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Colin T wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
room awfull did note stay over left straight away marks in the bed sheets bathroom toilet seat cracked and stains mould skirting boards amess side bed tables stains carpet dirty linen room in corridor stunck of body oder
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: go and stay some where else
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, Marketing at Weathervane Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there, we're very concerned to read your review. Would you mind please sending us an email on 5305@greeneking.co.uk to allow us to discuss your experience in further detail? Thank you.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
weather vane value hotel stoke-on-trent
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Stoke East
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandStaffordshireStoke-on-Trent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Weathervane Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Weathervane Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Weathervane Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Weathervane Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Weathervane Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hungry Horse - Weathervane, Blue Tiffin, and On the run cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Weathervane Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stoke-on-Trent Railway Station (7.4 km), Longton Cemetery Chapels (3.8 km), and Parish Church of St. John (6.0 km).
Is Weathervane Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.