We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 939: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a table for an evening meal. Arrived and were promised attention from a waitress. Nothing happened. Had to request service from the bar. Distracted waitress showed us to a table - no evidence of the booking we had made. Waitress was uncertain of the menu contents. Ordered "nibbles" that did not arrive. Asked for an estimate for the time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smitch2017
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Darwins restaurant. I was most disturbed to read your comments in regards to the service. I will investigate the issue with my management team to alleviate such problems in the future. As the reviews on this site will testify it is most unusual to receive such comments. Please be assured your feedback is important...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent, room was in very good condition we slept every well We were very impressed with the efficiency of the staff. The meal we had in the Darwin restaurant was very good. And the breakfast was very well cooked. Overall the stay was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. All feedback is personally passed onto the staff within each department, who are all highly praised. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean,pleasant hotel in centre of Lichfield. Staff were efficient and happy to help. Check in was quick and straightforward, and the room was perfectly adequate and clean. Reasonable price for twin room. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. Good free parking with plenty of pubs,restaurants right outside. Ideally for a short stay in picturesque Lichfield!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elevenfiftysix
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Room was on the smallish size, needed decorating (flaky paint above bath) and was very hot. They hadn't quite got their centrally controlled heating right for an April night. Only way to control the temperature was to put on the very old noisy and ineffective air conditioning unit - hence sleepless night. Not worth the £129 paid for one night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments. I was most disturbed to read about your overnight experience. We are currently upgrading our rooms individually, which includes new décor and facilities/furnishings within each one. Please be assured your feedback is important to us as we strive to improve quality of areas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were booked to stay at The George next weekend with a large group of people. Unfortunately myself and my husband are unable to travel due to my ill health. My husband rang them on Sunday to ask if the booking for the 2 of us could be changed to a later date. We didn't want a refund so didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonasplin
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the George Hotel. I am extremely sorry that it may feel as though you are not receiving the option that you are currently wanting. If you would like to contact our Operations Manager personally at mail@thegeorgelichfield.co.uk this will get looked into and reviewed for you.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Sited in the centre of the town , local to many wine bars , pubs and a great mixture of restaurants , hotel as been upgraded from my last visit , bar and restaurant upgraded , room still bright and clean parking on site , everywhere walkable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMorriss
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return in the future.

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely building very well maintained. We were upgraded on our arrival to a lovely big room. Unfortunately although we needed the air conditioning it did not appear to be working and due to the windows not opening we were extremely hot! The reception staff were very courteous and helpful but we were disappointed with the attitude of the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theblossoms
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and the upgrade that was provided to you upon check-in. I am extremely sorry that the service of the staff at breakfast was not as satisfactory as you had wished. As the reviews on this site will testify it is most unusual to receive...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Arrival we were upgraded to an Executive double room at no cost . Parked our car behind the hotel in a permit only car park . The room was nice and clean and spacious.The hotel staff were nice and nothing too much trouble .The breakfast next morning was amazing. Will definitely stay there again. First class . .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF1962
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and kind remarks. It is pleasing to hear of the upgrade that we were able to do for you, and for the satisfaction of the stay as a whole. We look forward to welcoming you back to the George in the near future.

Harrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was comfortable and was quiet even when a function was going on. Breakfast was very good (cooked option) and the one occasion that we used the bar, the barmeal was fine. Restaurant not used. Location was excellent for central Lichfield and the Cathedral and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 151cliff
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are very pleased that everything was to you satisfaction during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband loved the George hotel, so it had to be the place for us to join together family and friends after his funeral. It was a lovely intimate setting, a small gathering of 30. We had a warm welcome from Tim on our return, lovely tea/coffee, sandwiches, cakes and pastries. All lovely and fresh, may I add, we also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz2020

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lichfield hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lichfield
337 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lichfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Swinfen Hall Hotel
Swinfen Hall Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lichfield
306 reviews
1.7 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield North East (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of the historic city of Lichfield, Best Western The George Hotel is conveniently located for the Midlands motorway network, Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the National Arboretum. This charming 18th century former coaching inn is just a five minute stroll away from the city's famous cathedral and the Garrick Theatre. At The George you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay including free wi-fi, free parking, a cosy lounge bar, a lunchtime carvery and Darwin's, a stylish restaurant serving the best of British food each evening from 6pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel

Address: 12-14 Bird Street, Lichfield WS13 6PR, England (Formerly Best Western The George Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Lichfield
Price Range: €64 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel Staffordshire
Lichfield Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As our window would not open due to a safety factor, make sure the air conditioning is working”
theblossoms, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Executive double rooms spacious”
ChrisF1962, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“view of three spires is very pleasant to see. The bathrooms are especially well fitted out and provide good hot showers without losing character. ”
patriciag962, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The superior double room was well equipped and very comfortable.We would certainly recommend booking one .”
Leafyjane, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room fine, except blinds did not work but they were mended quickly”
125trevorw, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5