We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown at Wells & Anton\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 515: English reviews
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we have been here before for food and have always been pleased but when we went on feb 12th it was awful, staff seemed very confused with all orders we waited 50 mins for our roast dinner which when arrived was the wrong order it was taken back to the kitchen and our dinner was brought out i had pork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank draper022016
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

We are so sorry for your experience. This was a one-off due to technical problems with our food order process and far from our usual service. Apologies again and do hope you will give us another try before too long.

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I attended The Crown on a busy Saturday afternoon with some friends. We had read the favourable reviews and decided to see for ourselves. Coming from the North-East, I was keen to try a Ploughmans lunch and was certainly not disappointed. Good size portions where the picked onion and scotch-egg were the stars of the show. The side-salad was rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us and we're pleased you all enjoyed your lunch with us.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited the beautiful city of Wells on Valentines Day. Wanted to find somewhere to eat lunch that was warm and served home cooked food. We were not disappointed. Sat in the bar area next to a log fire. Ham, egg and chips and a chicken Caesar burger all piled high with a beautifully prepared side salad. People on the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraDer4953
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Great to hear you left suitably full and satisfied. Thank you for your recommendation.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Pleased that we booked this establishment. A few disappontments some unavoidable. Eg Carpark closed for filming Poldark. Restaurant empty but bar was buzzing. Opted to eat in Bar. Food good choice and good homely standard. Breakfast disappointing. Scrambled egg dry and overdone. Tomatoes hard and undercooked. Bedroom ok. No ealkin shower made it difficult and overhead shower just adequate. Pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithe1950
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your disappointments. Do come again and please ask for a room with walk in shower. We hope you mentioned issues with the breakfast while here. This is not our norm.

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When we were researching this hotel, it was soon obvious that it was used as one of the locations for the film Hot Fuzz. When we arrived, a scene from Poldark was being filmed outside in the market square making it a little chaotic but great excitement for being able to watch it all from our bedroom window. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank willisgj55
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Such a great review, thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed the entertainment outside too!

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the best ploughmans lunch ever! Was served on a board scotch eggs,pate,ham,cheeses,pickled onions,butter and rolls,chutney,apple,grapes and with a large tasty fresh salad.There was so much there we struggled to eat it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahk592016
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Gosh, praise indeed, thank you.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose the pub as it was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Wells, we wanted somewhere that we could take the dogs in with us. We were greeted and served by a cheery barman who processed our order very quickly. The food arrived promptly (always a blessing when you have kids!) and was very tasty too,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelg33
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Super review, thank you so much.

Gemozac, France
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a nice lunch here with friends. I had the goat cheese and onion tart which was garnished with pea shoots and walnuts, really good, followed by haddock,chips and peas. The fish was very good but could have done with fewer chips and peas. The service was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thanks for your view and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal with us.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we'd booked, a table for four, in advance, neither the bar or the bistro(t), had any record of our confirmed internet booking, which was an embarrassing start to our lunch, as we were entertaining friends. Fortunately, there was a table available in the pub area. We sampled three different roasts and all were delicious, served with plenty of well-cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann572014
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Apologies for any error made with your booking. We do not have the facility to take bookings over the internet at the present time, but diners are welcome to make a query concerning a booking. We are glad you were able to be seated i the bar and enjoyed your food. We are very pleased to serve more gravy if...

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at a nearby hotel where accommodation and food rubbish ( WOOKEY HOLE) Wish we had booked here Will do next visit Had the Ploughman's for lunch Be warned .Only have a light breakfast if you order this Amazing Highly recommend this venue

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brian b
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot, responded to this review

Thank you for your praise and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again next time.

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wells hotels
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Swan Hotel
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wells
133 reviews
0.1 km away
Ancient Gate House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
927 reviews
1.5 km away
Beryl B & B
Beryl B & B
#1 of 40 in Wells
288 reviews
1.1 km away
Stoberry House
Stoberry House
#3 of 40 in Wells
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown is a 15th century coaching inn overlooking the Market Place in the heart of Wells. The Crown offers affordable accommodation, great food and friendly service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot

Address: Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wells
Price Range: €109 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown At Wells And Anton`s Bistrot
The Crown At Wells & Anton`s Bistrot Hotel Wells
The Crown Hotel Wells
The Crown At Wells & Anton's Bistrot Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown at Wells & Anton's Bistrot staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The whole hotel seemed very quiet to us, even though we were right in the centre of Wells.”
 of 5 bubbles barrym474, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Overlooking the square is good apart from the market setting up very early saturday morning...but ear plugs are provided which helped alot.”
 of 5 bubbles TracyP223, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Never stayed in rooms so unable to comment.”
 of 5 bubbles karen1904, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back will offer the best sleep”
 of 5 bubbles Investigatorgreat3, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This is a hotel with a large modern restaurant in the city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles MLFDPF, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5