We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Exmoor House

Certificate of Excellence
08/06/2017 09/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Exmoor House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Exmoor House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Thames Valley
Reviewed 8 May 2015

Stayed briefly for just one night prior to visiting the West Somerset Railway. Friendly welcome on arrival, comfortable room and an excellent, well cooked breakfast. Oh and a good pub right next door! What more could you want. Happy to recommend Exmore House p.s. only gripe is the iron framed bedhead against which it's impossible to get comfortable while sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich5ltr
S P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Glad you found the room comfortable. We are always happy to provide extra pillows or bedding if required.

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2015

We have just returned from a 3 night stay, on arrival we were offered tea and cakes and assistance taking our bags upstairs. Our room was nicely decorated,the bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of nice little touches, like shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in smart dispensers on the bathroom wall. The breakfast was excellent with so many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments

Griffith, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

we stayed here as 2 family couples and it was excellent!! Drinks and a warm welcome on arrival and very friendly. Steep stairs but our bags were taken to our rooms. Fantastic cooked breakfast and rooms with all the trimmings!!! Great location central and quiet. Would stay no were else in Dunster!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warwick D
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

It was very nice to meet you and we appreciate your comments

Roche, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We recently stayed here for three nights and it was great. Lovely welcome with tea and cake from friendly helpful hosts. Nicely decorated rooms with lots of nice little touches, including a fridge on the landing with fresh milk for your tea and coffee instead of horrible uht stuff. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Great location in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

We are grateful for your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

We have stayed in many B&Bs in Dunster which have all been good but Exmoor House is exceptional. A friendly welcome with tea and cake, great rooms with extremely comfortable beds and a lovely sitting room. The breakfast has a wide choice and all cooked to perfection. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb G
Steve P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

We are flattered by your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you

Bristol
Reviewed 9 December 2014

We stayed two nights in Exmoor House in a wet weekend in October. The house is warm and welcoming - we were offered freshly baked cake before being shown to our room. Dunster is a charming place (check castle opening times of traveling in winter). We found parking directly opposite the b&b but this may be more difficult at a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bristol_Family
North Molton
Reviewed 30 November 2014

We love Dunster and decided to have a night there to treat ourselves. We had stayed at Exmoor House about 20 years ago but it has now been upgraded to a very high standard. We had a very warm welcome with tea and cake, even though we were early and our room was'nt quite ready. Our room was lovely with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonFamily13
S P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014

My wife and have just spent two nights at Exmoor House (October 2014). Fabulous! Conveniently located on the edge of Exmoor. Warm welcome, beautiful room, very comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and give this our whole hearted recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter B b
S P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again

Le Mans
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We managed to get a last minute booking at Exmoor House this weekend, as a late anniversary weekend away, and we were not disappointed. Exmoor House is set in an excellent position, nestled among other historic buildings and a stone throw away from Dunster Castle. It is a charming guest house and offered everything one could want. Our en-suite four...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilBrook67
S P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Always pleased to know you were happy with your stay. Thank you

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2014

Steve and Sheila were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they have a good knowledge of the area so could advise where to visit and eat. The room was very nice, clean and well equipped. Also the breakfast was very good, with lots of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm B
S P, Owner at Exmoor House, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
08/06/2017 09/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunster
0.3 km away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
666 reviews
0.3 km away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
183 reviews
3.6 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
330 reviews
3.9 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
220 reviews
0.2 km away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunster
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay with us in our Grade 11 listed Georgian house dating from 1725. Although classified as Guest Accommodation Exmoor House has the look and feel of a country hotel. Relax in one of our six en-suite bedrooms. You have the choice of doubles, twins or kingsize beds or spend the night in our luxury 4-poster bedroom. WiFi available. Local free range/organic produce used in our Full Exmoor Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Exmoor House

Address: 12 West Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Dunster
Price Range: €85 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exmoor House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Exmoor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor House Dunster, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Exmoor House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Exmoor House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms are individual and therefore cannot recommend any particular one.”
davidsU2652ZS, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“It's quieter at the back, but quite close to the windows of nearby houses - if privacy matters a lot you might want to check this.”
ClareS331, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room with the four poster bed”
SpeedTwin1961, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We went for the room with the four poster bed, which was wonderful.”
billyseagull, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms to the garden side are more quiet. Free Wifi was fine.”
leneogole, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates