We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Luttrell Arms

Save
Share
32-36 High Street, Dunster, Exmoor National Park TA24 6SG England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (274)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Dunster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Luttrell Arms is a 3 star, 28 room hotel. Set in the medieval village of Dunster with its many interesting buildings, under the shadow of the Castle and within the Exmoor National Park. The privately owned 14th century Luttrell Arms is surrounded by beautiful countryside making it the ideal destination for that weekend break or midweek getaway. Stroll around the village, walk the moor, or just sit by a log fire in a building where hospitality has been a way of life for hundreds of years. Heritage "If you could bottle the air in the bar at the Luttrell Arms and sell it you'd clean up" so wrote a local journalist. The smell of logs burning on the fire, a hint of hops from the pints of ale, add to this the smell of something aromatic being cooked in the kitchen, and the most essential element - the smell of history, it oozes out of the walls which have stood for 800 years. There are many outstanding architectural features, the medieval hall with its hammer beam roof (room 17) and twelve light window. History seeps out of the blackened frames, which had their glass rattled loose as Cromwell’s gunners laid siege to Dunster Castle from a defended strong point at the end of the garden. Cromwell’s Commander, Col. Robert Blake walked the corridors of the hotel, it was then called the Ship Inn and was used as his headquarters throughout the siege of the castle. Also of note is some very fine plasterwork on the ceiling of the lounge downstairs, and the plaster over mantle in room 12, showing Actaeon being devoured by hounds. The Arms of Luttrell that we use today carry us back to a Gentleman of 1261, the crest takes us only back to 1621, but the supporters are directly derived from one of the Barons who coerced King John into sealing Magna Carta. A more modern visitor is Hercule Poirot. In "The Cornish Mystery" he confronts the murderer in one of the hotel’s bedrooms.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
1102Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 691
  • 260
  • 75
  • 54
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dmrayfield wrote a review Dec 2020
50 contributions37 helpful votes
Just spent 3 nights here, escaping from lockdown at home. Perfect break. Exceptionally comfortable bed and friendly, helpful staff. Surprisingly, although we normally avoid hotel food, we ate nearly all our meals at the Luttrell Arms because the menu was interesting and the quality good. A very successful weekend away and now we need to find more hotels like the Luttrell Arms. So that we can repeat the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Becca Way, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Oldsololady wrote a review Dec 2020
Bath, United Kingdom38 contributions73 helpful votes
A friend and I stayed here for the weekend. What a picture perfect village, friendly people and interesting independent shops. And, of course, Dunster Castle, now a National Trust property and well worth at least half a day of your time. The Luttrell Arms was so cosy and friendly, lovely clean and comfortable rooms with excellent beds and lovely bathrooms. The kitchen is good, the staff were so helpful and the bar staff wonderful. Gently crackling fires in the communal rooms and good Covid care. Breakfast on our last morning coincided with a large group and low staffing and I gave up eventually because we needed to be on the road. I'm guessing it's the result of having to furlough staff and low occupancy and, although it was a little disappointing, it did not detract from the overall quality of the place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Becca Way, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Luttrell Arms and your visit to Dunster. Sorry to hear that breakfast service on your last morning was poor, I hope this wont deter you from choosing to stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Marcdr72 wrote a review Dec 2020
Taunton, United Kingdom50 contributions26 helpful votes
We visited here in September and it was really nice, food and service was exceptional. Today was totally different. Service slow, had to ask for cutlery and condiments. The fried egg was hard and rubbery and was given the pudding menu and waited 25 minutes for the order to be taken. Others had to ask to have the orders taken and another has the order lost from the waitress to the kitchen. Very poor Luttrell Arms, we won’t be back in a hurry and it wasn’t a cheap lunch.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Becca Way, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms
Responded 21 Jan 2021
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your last visit to The Luttrell Arms but thank you for taking the time to let us know where we went wrong. It sounds like there was an unusual technical issue with orders being lost/kitchen delays and perhaps we didn't deal with it particularly well, lots we can improve upon but please be assured this is not the norm. I hope that you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Read more
Helen L wrote a review Dec 2020
Croyde, United Kingdom43 contributions15 helpful votes
Well what a lunch we had on a Monday. Lovely menu, excellent main courses, attention to detail on meals were superb. Great value for money. Staff and service was so good, the Hotel decorated for Christmas really well, very homely and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Becca Way, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review.
Read more
JCQ19 wrote a review Nov 2020
Hampshire, United Kingdom110 contributions59 helpful votes
We’ve been here twice now, and since we hardly ever go anywhere twice, that’s a real compliment. We travel a great deal, abroad and in the UK. This hotel is in the most beautiful ancient building, on the pretty High Street of this lovely town. The rooms are warm, comfortable and immaculate, the public areas are gorgeous, especially the residents’ lounge. But best of all is the service: efficient and unremittingly cheerful and charming. Absolute full marks to this incredibly well run hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Becca Way, General Manager at The Luttrell Arms
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review, it is much appreciated. We hope that we will see you again soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the luttrell arms hotel dunster, luttrell arms hotel dunster, luttrell arms dunster
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExmoor National ParkDunster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Luttrell Arms
Which popular attractions are close to The Luttrell Arms?
Nearby attractions include Dunster Castle (0.3 km), Dunster Village (0.2 km), and Dunster Yarn Market (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Luttrell Arms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Luttrell Arms?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Luttrell Arms?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Luttrell Arms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tea Room at Chapel House, Reeves Restaurant, and Hathaways.
Is The Luttrell Arms located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Dunster.
Are pets allowed at The Luttrell Arms?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Luttrell Arms?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dunster Castle (0.3 km), Cleeve Abbey (6.3 km), and Church of All Saints (7.7 km).