We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
#15 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,002: English reviews
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 25 September 2015

The first impression of the hotel was a not a good one. I arrived around 11.30am and asked if I could possibly check in. I was very rudely and abruptly told that "Check in isnt until 2pm, did no-one tell you that?" by a very rude and man on reception. Quite taken a back, I asked if there was anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorksgirl12
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed and surprised to read your review and of course promptly investigated the issues which you have raised Although check in is at 2 p.m. there can be no excuse for any of our staff being abrupt with you when you requested an early check in. The member of staff on duty on this occasion is someone...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I'm sorry to say that this hotel did not meet my expectations at all. There was a mix up with our room to start and this was changed immediately very efficiently, but even the room we ended up with was not good. It was a bit grubby, especially behind the bedside table, there were splashes and marks on the wall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GerbilQueen
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was very concerned to read your review and wish to respond to the individual issues raised. Firstly I apologise for the mix up in the room allocation and although the room which you eventually were given was a family room which was suitable for the three of you and unfortunately this particular room did have some marks on the...

Reviewed 19 September 2015

Nothing is troublesome for the staff at this hotel, they are pleasant and helpful with great customer care skills. The rooms we have stayed in a comfortable and clean with excellent servicing every morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and in particular for your very kind compliments regarding our staff, who we are enormously proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a traditional City centre hotel that was designed by Brunel and built to serve the adjacent railway station in 1846. Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated but of different sizes. Our standard room was quite small but perfectly comfortable and adequate for a short stay. It was inward facing so had no view but there was no traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluebird224
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Convenient for the rail station and city centre Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for your kind comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and in particular our excellent “full English” We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Strood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

As nearly all hotels in Bath had been sold out, this was our last chance to get a hotel room. To be honest for £160 a night you'd expect something posher, nicer... but then, the room was nice, the staff was really friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, location amazing - nothing to complain. Yes, the rooms could do...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dieliebekati
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay with us I am pleased that you found the room nice and our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast I am surprised that you said the room you stayed in “could do with a refurb” given that you also said it was “nice”. Our rooms are...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Just returned from a two night stay at the royal, five of us ladies who work together, first of all a big thank you to Heidi on reception who was very friendly and helpful we had a twin room an a triple room next to each other plenty of room for us all and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taff965
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for awarding us 5 stars following your two night stay with four friends Thank you also for your very kind comments regarding our receptionist Heidi. I am delighted that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and that you also found our bar staff friendly and professional. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Had a fantastic few days in Bath, all centred around our stay at this delightful hotel. The experience got off to a good start even before arrival when I rang ahead to discuss my booking with Heidi. She proved most helpful including explaining I could reserve a parking bay at £8.25 a day - which proved an excellent decision, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber62
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for awarding us 5 stars and for writing such an extensive complimentary review following your stay with us. I am delighted that you appear to have enjoyed every aspect of what we offer at The Royal and I have noted your special mention for Heidi and Ellie, two of our receptionists who you found pleasant and...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times before and just love it. This trip I have just called in for a drink and and a meal. The service from the barman just exalent the food outstanding as always. This hotel would be one of my favourite hotels for so many reasons. I would encourage anybody coming to Bath to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary F
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your super review and your lovely complimentary comments regarding The Royal. I am delighted that you have selected it as one of your favourite hotels and thank you for recommending us to others. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 9 September 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the Thermal Spa around the corner - a give from friends. The best thing we experienced in this hotel was the dessert menu! it's worth giving it a go. Other than that, a standard stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren B
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal in October 2014. I am sorry that we do not appear to have met your expectations. All of our rooms vary in size and we offer a choice of standard, superior, family and four poster rooms. However, each room is individually decorated and furnished on the recommendation of our...

Tenterden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Lovely hotel, staff, decor and location. I contacted them a few days before to make sure we had reserved parking, which was organised already. I managed to get a bottle of fizz in an ice bucket for my Wife's birthday surprise, waiting in our room on arrival. Good breakfasts and I also asked them to put it on a tray...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyMagic9688
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that all went to plan for your wife’s birthday surprise and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

366 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Canopy Bed (24)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Street View (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,265 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
2,566 reviews
0.6 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#7 of 34 in Bath
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Brunel
Brasserie Brunel
Cuisines: British, French, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: €124 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Victoria
3 months ago
Brighton, England
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Cleveland, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared for a little noise if room opposite the train station-, the glazing isn't as sound proof as the modern cubes we are used to.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaBaxt71, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles marygF9050GS, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Give reception your requirements-they will help you choose”
 of 5 bubbles CW320, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“superior rooms have a safe standard rooms do not”
 of 5 bubbles sandyBerkshire, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Worth seeking a quiet room - remember trans and buses are nearby!”
 of 5 bubbles densilv, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay