We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Hotel

Show Prices
#16 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,090: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival very nice well equipped clean rooms. No view in our twin room (rather get out) Lovely lounge area to sit and relax nice bar area. Breakfast 1st class and staff once again lovely 😊. Railway station right opposite and hotel central to all restaurants and shops Great stay thanks to Royal and staff .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandy g
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Royal for your 40th birthday weekend. I am pleased that the weekend was a success and in particular that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and appreciated our lovely staff, who we are very proud of. We hope that you will stay with us again. Mike MacDermid General...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

OMG avoid avoid avoid. I'm not one to usually write a review or criticise, but if you want to stay in a dated literal building site then go ahead. There are MAJOR works going on around its entirety and the noise, dust and traffic is awful. But to top it, having travelled a long way to stay, not being able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Swampy2uk
PatronHandR, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review as clearly it was your intention to stay with us but because of the car park being full you decided against that. We have limited car parking at The Royal, which is bookable in advance, however we are fortunate to have 1,500 car parking spaces on our doorstep with prices ranging from £12...

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant location, right by the train station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast and all the food was great. Cocktails were reasonable priced. The room was clean and included a fruit basket. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank angelicapalmer
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and in particular your compliments regarding the quality of our food and staff Last but not least many thanks for recommending us to others and we do hope that we can look forward to see you again soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 5 April for our Wedding Anniversary on a wowcher deal - we had a really fantastic stay at the Royal. It was terrific value and situated in the centre of Bath. We booked a car parking space £8.50 for 24 hours which was perfect. On arrival we had our cream tea which was most welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kitten2017
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for awarding us 5 stars following your recent stay with us. I was to delighted to read not only how much you enjoyed your stay in general and in particular the food but also appreciate your kind compliments regarding the room service provided for you at breakfast by James, our Deputy...

torquay united kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

staff so friendly. clean hotel and relaxed atmosphere. the bar staff and reception were so good. we been once before and would definitely return. travelled by train and so convenient to station and also the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggieandrodwilson
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for awarding us 5 stars and for your compliments regarding your stay with us I am very pleased to note that you intend to return and hopefully this will be sometime soon. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, staff very friendly and helpful especially the receptionist who gave us hints and tips of places to visit. Stayed on a Wowcher deal which was fantastic value for money which included dinner and a glass of champagne. My friend and I both enjoyed our meals and my scrambled eggs with smoked salmon were done perfectly as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your compliments regarding breakfast and dinner and the value for money which we offer. I am sorry that the fish served with the fish and chips in the bar was not cooked through and we have taken note of this for future reference as indeed we will make sure that the bar is...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This stay was for my 60th birthday, On entering the bedroom I was amazed to find that chocolate mints had been put on the bed in the shape of the number 60. The room was small and quite dark, perhaps lighter wallpaper may help?. Having said that it was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable, the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darylandbev
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us at The Royal. I am pleased that we were able to offer you an alternative room on your second night as one of the attractions of The Royal is that every room has a different decor scheme so there is lots of choice hopefully to suit most tastes....

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel staff are pleasant, efficient and very helpful. Hotel is in excellent position opposite the station and convenient for sightseeing. Big table was arranged for us for meals, as there were 9 of us. Extensive menu with good sized portions. Mostly the food was of excellent quality, with just a couple of exceptions [breakfast eggs and the 'char grilled' bacon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet H
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review following your stay with a party of 8 friends. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our food with the exception of the eggs at breakfast and the bacon and Brie sandwich. Unfortunately you have not highlighted why these particular items disappointed, which would have enabled us to investigate and...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is so friendly and the food is excellent. We had a great time. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a few days in Bath. It has everything you could want, a great dining room, reasonably priced bar, quiet lounge, afternoon tea, and right opposite the station!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinewarner28
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for very much for awarding us 5 stars and for your lovely compliments regarding your stay at The Royal We very much look forward to seeing you again on a future occasion. Mike MacDermid General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just stayed here for 3 nights...and were pleasantly surprised by all of the extra comforts provided!! First of all, this hotel is as close as you can get to the train station!!! Great for those with luggage. And the room made us feel instantly welcome. However, it's the complimentary breakfast, including award-winning (in my mind) Eggs Benedict!!! I shall...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WanderingHeartLight
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and awarding us 5 stars. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular thank you for describing our breakfast as “award winning”, which indeed it is via the English Tourist Board. Please do not “dream” for too long before returning to us. Mike MacDermid General Manager

379 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Standard Room with Canopy Bed (24)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Double Room with Street View (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.8 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,340 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.1 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,322 reviews
0.8 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Brasserie Brunel
Brasserie Brunel
Cuisines: British, French, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Manvers Street, Bath BA1 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: €146 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bath
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Victoria
6 months ago
Brighton, England
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Cleveland, Ohio

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not the station side”
Aunty_anita, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stayed at the front. This was fine, no noise from nearby train station”
samanthaw99, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter”
CooperWSM, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we had twin room 21o was quiet”
maggieandrodwilson, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy”
126sharonj, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5