We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Griffin Inn

Show Prices
#46 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Griffin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Griffin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lovely single room at the top of the pub with some beautiful artwork on the walls. I also found a friendly welcome note in my room with the offer of a complimentary drink in the bar. My friends and I made the most of this and the excellent selection of wines. The huge and delicious breakfast the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Victoria W, Such a pleasure to have you to stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sam

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for an overnight stay with some family members. My initial opinion was that the bar area was well kept and the hotel seemed clean. I stayed in a room overlooking the street and it was VERY loud. It was a weekend but people seemed to be gathering outside at around 1.30am after the pubs had closed. It did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemie13
Prince_of_Ales, Manager at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gemie13, Thank you for your comment posted yesterday, regarding your stay with us back in November. Firstly I am sorry that the noise outside your room (in the street) kept you awake. Being based in the city centre it is unfortunately a problems that is completely out of our control. We are very sorry that you had problems with...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed her me one night whilst visiting Bath on business and at £75 it was a bargain. An old pub, very authentic with a very comfortable room. The breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. The lady who served breakfast was incredibly helpful with directions to my meeting. It was a tiny bit noisy (next door bedroom talking very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea S
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and I would always encourage guests to phone ahead if they think that they might be arriving out of hours (7.30 am - 11pm) so that we can arrange for someone to let you in. Sam

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely works Christmas party at the Griffin last night. Great food, wine and beer, a lovely atmosphere, fabulous service and friendly staff. We recommend a visit and will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bathmassies
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Delighted that you had a great time, looking forward to seeing you in the new year. Sam

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Travelled from France back to Bath for my 50th Birthday party, we were very well looked after. Booked everything via email with Kate the manager, tables were reserved, fantastic food and even the music was sorted for us!! A truly great experience, the staff were very friendly and efficient and everyone made the evening very special. A very good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, You are welcome any time, thank you for coming and Happy Birthday! Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff and good service. Being a pub it has a good selection of beers. The mulled cider was a little odd though. Serves a decent Sunday lunch, albeit my Yorkshire pudding was a little undercooked. Dog-friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4DeltaMike
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear 4DeltaMike, I am very happy to hear that you had a lovely Sunday lunch with us, please come again soon! Thanks Sam

Mayenne, France
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We recently travelled all the way back from where we now live in France to celebrate my husbands birthday with family & friends at The Griffin. Thank you so much to all the staff for all their care, support and attention in making it a truly wonderful night. Great pub. Great staff. Great atmosphere. Great food. Great night. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bexbryant01
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear bexbryant01, Thank you so much, it was a pleasure to have you. Bon Voyage! Sam

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

It is my secound time here last Christmas and this one . Love it here 'food very good friendly staff manager lovely lady . Rooms small but clean and confutable I sleep very well here , a very short walk into the town ideal spot for every thing . I have to say it's the only place I will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Victoria M, Delighted that you loved your stay, please come again soon! Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Nice pub but terrible service. I tried to order a beer but there was only one person serving behind the bar. She took a very long time to serve a group in front of me, and once she had finished, she left the bar and said 'I'll be back'. I waited another 5-10 minutes before she returned without apologising that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeaTedd
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear BeaTedd, We are very sorry that there was only one person on duty that evening, unfortunately her colleague was held up and so she had to cope on her as best she could during one of the busiest Saturdays of the year. As for the chef alerting you to the fact that the rear room was reserved for a...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Visited bath for the Christmas market and following a visit to our usual lunch spot and finding there was no tables left we stumbled across the griffin inn. It was not particularly busy inside as it was a bit more out the way which was nice to get away from the crowds. Staff were friendly enough, the menu wasn't particularly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ami2601
Sam G, Owner at The Griffin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ami2601, So sorry that the burger wasn't to your taste; as with all our food, they are all prepared on site and cooked to a level that most find appealing: 6oz Homemade British Beef burger, with caramelised onions, Monterey Jack Cheddar & crisp lettuce. Served in a brioche bun with triple cooked chips. As for the timeliness of the...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 km away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#25 of 193 in Bath
772 reviews
0.4 km away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.5 km away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.6 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 193 in Bath
1,005 reviews
0.6 km away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#15 of 193 in Bath
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At nearly 300 years old, The Griffin Inn has never looked so good - founded in 1730, it has changed a lot since then - comfortable en-suite rooms, free wifi & a wholesome breakfast, delicious fresh cooked food, 18 craft ales & ciders and a wine list fit for a king! Welcome to our Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Griffin Inn

Address: Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Price Range: €68 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Griffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griffin Hotel Bath
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Griffin Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Griffin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have luggage get a room closer to the stairway by the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles BaLMaharaj, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in the Abby Room or any room at the front of the hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Gemie13, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for front facing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles vincenzobagnasco, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Circus room”
 of 5 bubbles sdavies91, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms suit the middle aged ... we are 75's and ours was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles Balcombes2013, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay