We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Post Office

Expedia.comUS$87*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Post Office
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Post Office
 Click to rate
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

My wife and I stayed for Friday and Saturday night. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, although a little basic. As we were making our way out on the Saturday night, I tripped and broke the bottle I was carrying. The staff were brilliant - caring, calming and efficient in clearing things up and making the place safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidpickering316
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Since nobody has responded to my complaint, I thought I'd share it on here. I booked a room at the Old Post Office for work related purposes. I'd booked on the proviso that it was "pay on arrival". I expected to receive the funds from my employer to use to pay on arrival. The small print states my card details...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
Darwin4416, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Caroline I am sorry you feel your cancellation was not handled correctly. When booking through a third party such as Late Rooms we are unable to alter or cancel your booking . Any changes must be made through them, this was explained when you called. This is not us being awkward, we physically can not amend anything as your contract...

Darwen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We paid a reasonable price for good clean basic accommodation right in the centre of Shrewsbury. Although our room wasn't en - suite it wasn't a problem as the shower room with toilet just across the corridor. Everything else was within the room. A full very nice English breakfast was included with cereals, juice and toast. There was meals available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We got a double room with en-suite for the bargain price of £39.50. Although the room was a little dated it was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Not all the rooms are en-suite so make sure you check before booking. Breakfast was included however we failed to get up in time. Check out is a little early, 10.30am. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leek1979
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Situated in centre of city. We stayed in room 3, en suite and well furnished. Noticeable improvements since last stay (new carpets etc). Bit noisy at night with band but to be expected staying in a pub hotel. Bar staff very polite and friendly. You don't have a choice of seating at breakfast and have to sit on table number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judthepud
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

As a "passing visitor" I popped into here for a beer (or 3 as it turned out) and was welcomed by the bar staff as well as the other "locals" already in attendance. Being made to feel welcomed was a great incentive to stay as long as I did. (Note: I didn't stay but can't finish my review without ticking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped here while shopping in Shrewsbury. The menu 2 for £12 great value and the faggots are to die for. Believe me you will not be disappointed and leave there full. Drinks are good to. Great staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anglesonium S
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Dropped in for a bite to eat and found prices, menu and staff super. Lovely setting in the square, Really good value for money, would definitely recommend.will be back in the summer to sit in the lovely courtyard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helen g
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel, this isn't it.. this is a pub with rooms and for what it is it does it very well! Great location, friendly check in and the staff continued to be helpful throughout the stay. The room was up a few flights of stairs and I don't know if they could accommodate anyone with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W
london
Reviewed 31 December 2016

And I mean on every level. It's a maze of higgledy piggledy upstairs downstairs but far from being an annoyance this is very much part of its charm and appeal. Other greats: Value for money. £40 for bed and breakfast (single occupancy in my case) with all the facilities you'd need including WiFi and en-suite bathroom. Breakfast. Generous helpings of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonKairos

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
0.1 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#2 of 14 in Shrewsbury
630 reviews
0.2 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,109 reviews
0.2 km away
Darwin's Townhouse
Darwin's Townhouse
#5 of 54 in Shrewsbury
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 1 Milk Street, Shrewsbury SY1 1SZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: €60 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Hotel Shrewsbury
The Old Post Office Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Post Office staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Post Office staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As there are only 6 rooms your not sure of getting a en-suite room”
X2467GMbrianh, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not advisable for disabled people or people who have problems with stairs”
scoop_1972, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Loft for meetings.”
christ046, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is no parking at this venue so park at Wyle Cop (NCP) just a short walk away.”
Scafell_10, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1 was a good size and comfortable”
timcT4410QS, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$87* /night
View Deal
Toprooms.comUS$90
Hotels.comUS$88
TravelocityUS$87
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates