We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwells Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwells Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Cromwells Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Just came back from staying overnight at this hotel . Had a lovely meal in the bar yesterday , my steak sandwich was delicious and excellent value for money , very good produce used in the kitchen here . Service in the bar and checking in was friendly and efficient despite the place being packed as it was a sunny...

Thank bunnygirlBolton
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend booked this place just for us to have a nice night away, room was close to a back courtyard. Local shops around and train stations is near by too. Lots of pubs and places to eat and also nice scenic places.

Thank Dawn B
Pickering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for three nights whilst visiting Shrewsbury and relatives. Great room ,comfortable bed ,well arranged bathroom and wonderfully sloping floors. The problem is parking but if you want a centrally placed hotel this is the downside. Parking is at NCP at the bottom of the hill,quite a climb if you are a little infirm. Breakfast was disappointing despite the...

Thank kevin d
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here valentines weekend, very claustrophobic!! First room bed was Very Very head down from a sinking floor, after few moments of disappointment we were very quickly relocated without a fuss, however compromised on space. Tea/coffee had to be made on floor as table in hallway couldn't even fit cups, bedroom area smaller than a box room, no bedside cabinet...

Thank samsmyth78
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your rather nasty and unfair 'review'. The room you chose was a budget room. The hallway you mention is still within the room. Unless you are of gaurgantuan proportions it should be acceptable. The building is a 500 year old Grade II Listed building originally designed as a house. We have three large rooms, with handmade four poster...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Been 3 x weeks running which was very good, This Sunday was not for the price of £12.50 for a one course, The beef was over done and the veg for 4 adults was a joke, 1 carrot each and a tinny bit of a two others, I was given that size last week on my own, Sorry but won't...

Thank darrencunnington
MichaelJAvery, Owner at Cromwells Hotel, responded to this review

Darren, I have looked for the three 'very good' experiences you may have published before taking the trouble to publish this one. I can't find it. Why didn't you publish three very good ones? You published just the one poor one. Just trying to get some balance and understanding on your motivation. All you had to do say was, 'Could...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Cromwells is one of the best places in town to have a quick drink after work, lazy Saturday afternoon drinks, Sunday lunch or a date night. They have a lovely raised terrace with heaters that actually keep you warm and lovely blankets for late night drinks! Highly recommend!

Thank Vicky R
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cromwell Hotel whilst visit the Shrewsbury area on a house hunting mission. We wanted to stay in the town so we could walk everywhere. This was a great location in the town and only a short walk to all areas of the town. Car parking isn't available at the hotel but an NCP car park is...

Thank Kevin M
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

I recently dropped into cromwells with friends I had been before but as I heard new kitchen staff I decided to give it another go a is a great location. Food is better now, place has a great atmosphere so can't knock a good thing Well done

Thank Jaydle15
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this bar/restaurant today had a lovely herbal tea as recommended by Zoe the bar tender Quite a few people were eating The food is consistently extremely good in here. A very cosy bar with excellent background music. The recent wall art is exquisite I highly recommend a visit

Thank Jeanette H
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2016

stayed in the hotel in dec, 2016 - staff really friendly and owner gave us a little bit of history of the hotel, room featured tudor wooden beams that you'd have to pay a lot more for in the likes of the rupert hotel. Breakfast top notch. thank you for a great stay!!

Thank malcolmhassan

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (22)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shrewsbury hotels
0.1 km away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
0.2 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
1,054 reviews
0.2 km away
Abbots Mead Hotel
Abbots Mead Hotel
#13 of 14 in Shrewsbury
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Shrewsbury Hotel
The Shrewsbury Hotel
#3 of 14 in Shrewsbury
609 reviews
0.2 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
598 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#13 of 54 in Shrewsbury
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cromwells Hotel

Address: 11 Dogpole, Shrewsbury SY1 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury
Price Range: €67 - €102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwells Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cromwells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwells Hotel Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwells Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms on the front are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles kevind549, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 4 poster. and eat in the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles robj776, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a romantic stay book a room with a four poster bed!”
 of 5 bubbles 921ems, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if they have rooms off the street - but if they do I'd ask for one.”
 of 5 bubbles stewartindia, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My advice is choose an alternative”
 of 5 bubbles 405mandyd, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5