We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ibis Sheffield City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Sheffield City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

596 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Sheffield City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 555: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I may be premature as I have not had my sleep yet but as sleep and unconscious are the same to me let's assume I slept well . I think the signage could be better , the small approach road has 3 hotels in the vicinity and I saw those before finding ibis, from certain angles the building sign is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

We're very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. We welcome all comments and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future. Kind regards Diane

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great stay here. So close to Ponds Forge so great for swimmers. Asked for twin room on the front on top floor and got a great room with lovely wet room/shower room. Twin beds with plenty of space. Great wifi and lots of TV channels. Breakfast fine for a nervous swimmer but make sure you book the day before to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Many thanks for your much valued review and we are pleased that you found our recently installed new TV's with Freeview to be much improved. We're especially delighted that you found our location across the road from Ponds Forge ideal for your visit and we hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre when you next...

St Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When all your need is a comfy night sleep and a hop over to Ponds Forge then the place is fine but it needs redecorating in all the reception and hall areas to brighten the very drab interior. It is also worth checking the pricing as at first it looks a bargain but then breakfast is not included and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lavallins
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and i'm sorry that you were disappointed by your overall experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. I am unable to say why the luggage trolley located in the entrance was unavailable unless it was in use by another guest at the time. Just to advise that the adjacent Q Park Car Park is £7.50 per...

Renmark, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed there for a month July 2014. The staff were excellent, the rooms although basic were comfortable and clean. Sound proofing was excellent as we left the window open one night and was kept awake by the trams crossing the bridge. Location near perfect very close to the town centre, the bus exchange and the railway station. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Exsparky
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre during your visit from Australia. My team and I really appreciate your kind review and. we hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Diane

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked the ‘Ibis’ in Sheffield about two months in advance because we were going to Tramlines Festival on the Saturday. It is situated in the City Centre and is within walking distance or you can get a cheap taxi onto Division Street for under a fiver. It is an easy booking process online and they ring to confirm a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GemmaK1984
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

My team and I very much appreciate your review and delighted that you found our location to be ideal for your visit to the Tramlines event. I apologise that you did not receive our normal service at check in, we do try to accommodate an earlier check- in where possible. We do hope that we can welcome you back to...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed at the Ibis this week when travelling to Sheffield for a football match at Hillsborough, it was the low price of the room that gave me the idea of turning this day trip into an overnight stay. I stay at a fairly large number of hotels for short UK breaks and 'pound for pound' I rate this Ibis...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick_J55
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I appreciate your kind words and we are so pleased that you found Ibis Sheffield City Centre ideal for your visit to the City and Hillsborough. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed for two night whilst the tramlines music festival was on. The hotel was in a great location and the rooms much better than I had expected. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good value. Everything you could want and more from a budget hotel. I will be staying again on my next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaC22
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, my team and I really appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on your next visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is a scam. Last week I booked a double room. Today the day before travel they sent me an email to say they had made a mistake and double booked the room. Their first instinct wasn't to apologise for the inconvenience and arrange for alternative accommodation for myself. It was to other me another more expensive room instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yatori
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for this communication, however we do not have a record of your name nor we operate the procedures that you describe, we have not had cause to book anyone out from this hotel. Have you been booked out to Ibis Sheffield City Centre from another hotel perhaps? If you would like to provide more information please contact myself...

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I came here with 13 of my friends for my birthday. It is perfectly, centrally placed. We were all in comfortable rooms which were perfect for what we needed. Would definitely stay here again. The staff were so friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

We're delighted that you and your friends had an enjoyable stay with us at ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I are grateful for your kind review and we hope that we can welcome you back when one of you has another Birthday celebration !! Kind regards Diane

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a night here because t was nice and cheap and close to the city where we were going out. We knew where the hotel was already as my partner used to love around the corner from it before moving away so we found it with no problem! The tram is only a short walk away so it's really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Homozygous
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting this review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Ibis Sheffield City Centre and I have noted your comment in respect of cleanliness which I take very seriously. We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Sheffield in the future. Kind regards Diane

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 km away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.5 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 55 in Sheffield
1,330 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 55 in Sheffield
1,857 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, just 5 minutes walk from the train and coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is ideally located for the Ponds Forge Internationnal Sport Centre (200 meters away) but also for all city centre destinations (University, Lyceum, Crucible theatre, Millenium Gallery, Winter garden....) The tram stop 150 meters away will bring you to the door step of Meadowhall shopping centre, the Arena or the Don Valley Stadium. The hotel boasts 95 ensuite bedrooms, all with internet connectivity, on demand movies, tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower. All our rooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: €37 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Rosslareharbour, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you like a firm bed you'll be ok”
 of 5 bubbles janehC7137HU, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“It was very quit even though a busy road outside”
 of 5 bubbles car0lew48, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Good hotel when cheap.”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniem607, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles NeilS956, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay