We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Sheffield City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Sheffield City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Sheffield City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 580: English reviews
Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed here with my partner and his 9 year old daughter in a family room. Clean and tidy, however I don't think the rooms are really private enough with the shower being in the same room as the bedroom only separated by a door of glass opposite a mirror. Don't feel they are private enough for changing etc... resorting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey B
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at ibis Sheffield City Centre and for posting your comments here. I'm sorry that you didn't approve of our en suite bathrooms though I am a little confused that you mention the glass shower door within the bathroom and not the bathroom door which of course provides privacy. kind regards Diane

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

3rd best night of my life and it's only 16:49. Love the movable lights and the passive aggressive staff! Think the bathroom has been stolen from he easyjet! Special features include square plug socket.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we value your review posted here. We hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future. Kind regards Diane

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

I was a bit worried about staying here as being budget I expected lumpy mattresses, noisy rooms and a dodgy breakfast. Not at all, comfy bed, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom and the breakfast, whilst only serving the traditional fare was very good indeed. Another point worth noting is great coffee!!! Worth staying here for business or pleasure as it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to post this very kind review and recommendation. We hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on your next visit to the area. Kind regards Diane

france
Reviewed 22 January 2017

I always read the bad reviews first before booking a hotel, but I think some have been a little unfair to this hotel. Very well located for the shops, eateries, transport etc., all within easy walking distance and the hill is not that steep as one reviewer wrote. Next to a "locals" pub, which was also friendly, it could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotinfrance
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

We're really grateful to you for posting this detailed review, i'm delighted that you approve of our room upgrading and that our location was ideal for your visit. I really appreciate the kind comments in respect of our team member. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to the City. Kind regards...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Swift check in that was good. The room was sub-standard, bedding had old stains on it and the bathroom was interesting. I think I had a disabled room as it was a wet room and there was a chair in there, this didn't compel me to use it, although clean on the surface, again ground in black stains on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here, we value all comments. I hope, following our discussion at reception, that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on a future visit to the City. Kind regards Diane

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times now, but I just had to post this time as the rooms have just undergone refurbishment!! I would recommend staying if ever in Sheffield. 2.5 mins walk to city centre, Sheffield Hallam university and pond forge swimming and leisure centre. A really good location!!! New beds also!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeharrison74
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your college course, we're delighted that you like the refurbished rooms and we're really grateful that you have taken the time to post this very kind review here and for your recommendation. We hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on a future visit to the...

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Nice clean and tidy rooms, comfortable bed and the best shower ever, I will definitely stay here again. Close to everything, parking building across the road, easy to get to. Helpful friendly staff. A great hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6828CTdeborahm
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

My team and I are really grateful for your "Great Hotel" review, we're really pleased that you chose to stay with us and found our location ideal for your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre on your next visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in December with my husband and daughter. We originally were put on the 2nd floor, however it had just been repainted and smelled strongly of paint! Also the heater in the room was broken and so the room was freezing! As my baby was only 1 month old we asked to be moved to another room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m2017s
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here and for your kind recommendation though i'm sorry that you were initially inconvenienced. I do hope that you choose to stay with us on a future visit to Sheffield especially to experience the extensive refurbishments that we have undertaken. I'm delighted to say that the major upgrading work to the rooms (from the...

Nykoping, Sweden
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Booked this hotel because of the location, but didn't expect much, but how wrong was I. This hotel is a gem. Staff fantastic, modern clean rooms, really good breakfast and a nice and friendly atmosphere ln the restaurant / bar. We will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanetted2017
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us over the Christmas period whilst visiting family. My team and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and we're really grateful to you for posting these very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you all back on another family visit. Best wishes for 2017 Kind regards Diane

Scarborough, Tobago
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The rooms are upgraded with a modern look and are very clean, the hotel staff was pleasant I would recommend this hotel to any one , not forgetting 5 mins walk from city center and tram lines, the food is ok

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279natashaa
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review

I'm really pleased that the extensive refurbishments we've done so far are to your liking and we're most grateful for this kind review and recommendation. I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to Sheffield. Kind regards Diane

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
1,399 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.3 km away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#31 of 54 in Sheffield
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.6 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 km away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 54 in Sheffield
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert,sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 of the hotel's 95 all en suite bedrooms have received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Price Range: €46 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Sheffield City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rear facing rooms avoid all kinds of external overnight noise”
 of 5 bubbles scotsjimbo, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor(5 or 6)”
 of 5 bubbles scotinfrance, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for front facing room”
 of 5 bubbles Rosslareharbour, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you like a firm bed you'll be ok”
 of 5 bubbles janehC7137HU, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“It was very quit even though a busy road outside”
 of 5 bubbles car0lew48, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5