We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pat's Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pat\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

7 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Pats cottage to attend a family wedding. On arrival we were met by the owner John, who lives next door. He was very helpful and friendly. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need for a weekend away. The first floor double bedroom is spacious. The bathroom has a very good power shower. The upstairs twin...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jilldoyle1
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We wanted to have a holiday in the peak district over half term, but the prices are astronomical. So knowing the area having grown up here, I searched for somewhere to stay in the south west of Sheffield. And up popped Pats Cottage. Sensible price, great location. What more could we ask? Seeing the photos on the website, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian150
John D, Owner at Pat's Cottage, responded to this review

Few review on TripAdvisor but many write pleasing comments in the Visitor's Book. These are examples written over the last few months: A lovely cottage, very sympathetically modernised so lots of character; lovely location - Debbie, David & family, Worcester. Really nice cottage that was clean and pleasant - David, Camilla & family, Stockholm, Sweden. Lovely period cottage, very cosy;...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This B & B was in a very convenient location and we went there because it would accept our god dog. We were immediately put off on arrival by the many notes all over the house about what to do and what not to do. Whether it was the storage radiators (ugh!) or the bathroom or the kitchen there would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
John D, Owner at Pat's Cottage, responded to this review

There appears to be a basic error; we offer an 18C self-catering cottage not B&B. We opened in 1998 and since then we have received guests from all over the world. Almost without exception, they have enjoyed their stay and written positive comments in the visitor's book. It is not our policy to accept dogs, however, we usually agree to...

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We have stayed at Pat's Cottage probably 5 times now because it is close to relatives living in Dore and Woodseats but gives us space on our own when visiting from the US. We are a lively family of 5 - our three children love to sleep up in the attic room (they set up an extra bed for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoloBlue
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we (3 adults 2 children)recently spent one week in Pats Cottage.on arrival we found the living room full of ants,old cob webs,dead insects and dirty carpets.more horrors continued upstairs with smelly carpets,mats and many more old cob webs.no batteries in smoke alarms and old grease dripping from the cooker hood.The upstairs open water tank(which also doubled as the wardrobe)was dripping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
John D, Owner at Pat's Cottage, responded to this review

We were present to greet the new guests on arrival; we live next door. I always invite guests to let me know if something is not to their satisfaction and have always given any issue our full attention at any time. We were disappointed to learn that a few ants had entered the living room under the front door. The...

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We recently returned from a pleasant stay we had in Pat's cottage. Both my wife and 3 young children were delighted with this accomodation. The cottage has very low ceiling with beams exposed, narrow and low doorways and steep staircases which all add character to the place. The property comprises of two bedrooms, a kitchen/dinette, shower room and lounge. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pastini
Hudson, Ohio
Reviewed 24 February 2008

The cottage is a very old building with VERY low ceilings. The stairs are narrow with a ceiling so low that I had to half crawl up and down - I am 5'8". The door to the upper bedroom (which is really a converted storage attic) is literally about 4 feet high - not really a door. At no point...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank CorfuCarol
John D, Owner at Pat's Cottage, responded to this review

This review initially expands on the Access Statement which appears on the web-site. We believe the cottage was built at the end of the 18C and reflects construction at that time. Consequently, some of the ceilings on the upper floors are lower than normal. More height is, however, available between the exposed ceiling joists. The stairs between ground and first...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
4.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
2.9 km away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 55 in Sheffield
317 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#9 of 55 in Sheffield
606 reviews
6.9 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
7.1 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An attractive 18th century stone cottage situated in the village of Dore on the edge of the Peak District and the City of Sheffield. Self catering cottage •Sleeps 4/6 •Two bedrooms •Swimming Pool (solar heated) •Internet Access •Off road parking •Lawns adjacent the park You are welcome to browse our website for more detailed information. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pat's Cottage

Address: 108 Townhead Road | Dore, Sheffield S17 3GB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Hotel Class:3 star — Pat's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pat's Cottage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Tiverton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pat's Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your own mattress!”
 of 5 bubbles 123PeterH123, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“This is an entire 2 bedroom cottage with - one bathroom, eat in kitchen and living room.”
 of 5 bubbles SoloBlue, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
2 of 2