We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reading Lake Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reading Lake Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reading Lake Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Firstly - even before we arrived at the hotel - how odd that we had to follow signage for the hotels previous guise (The Copthorne) - why on earth would they not change the signs after all this time?? - on arrival greeted by very helpful and pleasant receptionist - but we were then handed the key to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were diappointed in your stay. We have had previous issues with cleanliness and attention to detail in our rooms however we now putting in processes to address these as quickly as possible. We have noted your comments regarding the restaurant and and agree that our customers should have been made aware...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Well wish I'd paid more attention to these reviews before I booked might not have been so disappointed. In no way is this a 4*Hotel. The location is excellent and the views from the rooms fantastic all rooms have a lake view and balcony however there is no table and chairs on the balcony. Due to the remoteness on our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelmfp
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My sister and I stayed there for the reading festival, not only after a 3 hour drive did we have to wait for a 30 min check in, when we got in the room there was a suspicious sock behind the curtain but we also had the delight of a horrendous skiddy toilet. Although we had a beautiful view, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebkah w
Paul H, Manager at The Reading Lake Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you had to wait 30 minutes to check in . During the Reading festival the majority of our guests arrived between 11am & 1pm to check in although our normal check-in time is later in the day. The vast majority of guests we were able to check-in immediately, however as our...

Godstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The best thing I can say about this hotel is the location and website!! How this can be a 4* hotel I do not know. We stayed at a Premier Inn the week before and the service, rooms and facilities were superior in everyway. The Hotel was full due to a triathlon taking place but I can honestly say there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked a night through Groupon and then read the reviews on here. We were then expecting the worst!!! The hotel setting is beautiful on the lake. We agree with some of the reviews, such as dirty windows and cobwebs. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, such as iron, hairdryer, fridge, tv, safe, comfy bed. We ate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a Groupon offer but after reading all the reviews was really worried abut what it would be like. However, we found the staff polite, friendly and very helpful. Yes there were some spiders in our room in the curtains where the balcony doors had been opened, but all we did was ask housekeeping to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cplepage
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Upon entering the room the first thing you notice is the disgusting state of the windows - they had not been cleaned in years. The door frames were rotten and had been patched up with plyboard in places. The bathroom had very dirty stained taps, with the toilet not looking that clean either. As for the spiders, yes there are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 771sp771
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I don't want to rant but my opinions are very much the same as the earlier reviews. Push the boat out (literally)!! And stay somewhere else, it will be the best extra £20 you will spend... I witnessed a waitress scratching food debris off a plate to re use rather than take it away for washing. Simply bone idle and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew3170
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It's really hard to rate a hotel like this. It's clear that management/staff aren't interested in putting in the extra effort to make this a great hotel (it really could be) but for what it is it's just fine. First. The hotel is on a lake surrounded by countryside. There will be bugs and where there is bugs there will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
london
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed here as a treat over the August bank holiday weekend and were very disappointed. On entering our room the stagnant smell was overwhelming, the room looked like something from the 80’s, peeling wallpaper, black marks and filthy doors. The view however is lovely however we were on the ground floor and the decking is covered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meloo123

233 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (217)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.1 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,708 reviews
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Reading Calcot Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,137 reviews
2.8 km away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 32 in Reading
286 reviews
3.9 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: €62 - €120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Reading Lake Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A shed in the garden?”
 of 5 bubbles Simmosworld83, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The room was at a very poor standard . Wi FI nit available in the room . The door base was moulded and cold air was blowing in the room.”
  • Screws around the walls
  • Humidity on the walls room very cold
  • Bad condition
  • Humidity on the walls no central heating
  • Holes on the door
  • Very poor interior , this us not a hotel
  • Lights were unserviceable
 of 5 bubbles frixoseleftheriou, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms have the best views and less noise from M4”
 of 5 bubbles nick1of2, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms 217 218 good views.”
 of 5 bubbles 624stewartg, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend a room AT A DIFFERENT HOTEL!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 13PeterA, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5