We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0SL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$86
View deal
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$85
View deal
Hotels.comUS$87
TravelocityUS$87
HolidayInn.com
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (159)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (34)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 17/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Updated 17/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 35 hotels in Reading
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 provides the perfect base for your stay in Reading, whether you are visiting the Reading Festival, taking your children to Legoland, or visiting the nearby Business Parks. Click here to book you Legoland Break including Accommodation, Breakfast & 2 day passes to the Park for up to 2 adults & 2 children. The Hotel is situated just half a mile from M4 Junction 11 and 2 miles from the centre of Reading. We have 202 fully air-conditioned bedrooms with High-speed Internet access, iron & boards, car parking and children stay and eat for free*. We are located only minutes away from Readings major business parks, Reading International Business Park, Green Park and Thames Valley Park. We are walking distance from the Madejski Stadium home to football team Reading FC and the London Irish Rugby Club. Nearby facilities include Legoland, Windsor Castle, Thorpe Park, Ascot & Newbury Race Courses and the Oracle Shopping Centre. Holiday Inn Reading South provides extensive leisure facilities in our Spirit Health Club with indoor pool, gym, sauna, solarium. * = Terms & Conditions Apply
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1146Reviews15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 389
  • 228
  • 114
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Felidae68 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Hotel was lovely, clean and welcoming. Customer service was excellent. We booked a family room for a trip to Legoland. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Bathroom was compact. I have joint problems with my knees so was unable to use the shower as it was over a bath with a fairly high side. The bed was also very hard which did not bode well with my joints. With hindsight I should have contacted the hotel before our visit to ask them about facilities to meet my needs and I am sure they would have helped. I would recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
emma s wrote a review Sep 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Room was nice and clean, big tv, comfortable bed. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking and Internet. Reception area looked nice and the cost of the room was reasonable. There were a couple of issues 1. Bathroom so small it was difficult to navigate with getting the door open and actually being able to get fully into the room but it was clean and tidy. The other issue was the dining in the evening. We got there at 6 as were warned it got busy from 7 and there were 2 other tables sat so we thought great perfect time to come. But the waiting staff didn't seem to communicate with each other so we waited a long time to order then long wait for food then even longer wait for plates to be cleared etc it continued with deserts. The food was nice if expensive but that's to be expected in a hotel. It was the service that let it down, no checking half way through if meal was OK, no drinks refills. It needed someone in charge to oversee it and it would be so much better. So overall lovely room, nice food but not perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hello DayTrip737113, We appreciate your feedback. It is great to hear from one of our valued guests. Here at Holiday Inn, we always ensure that we give the best hospitality in town. I am sorry about the issues you had during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with hotel management for review. We hope you can give us a chance to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie O'Hara wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
I have just returned from our sales meeting & I cannot fault the hotel Parking is easy & plentiful - great location The staff were welcoming & helpful, especially the breakfast team, who helped me with my heartburn & got me some ginger tea Food was delicious Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Karen E wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Rooms ok lovely breakfast, BUT awful Dinner if You could call it that!!, Poor service had to ask serval time for dishes to be replenished ,mains were dried out chickhen & squid ring (normally a starter,) .refried new potatoes, dred out pasta. Recycled fruit from breakfast and cut up choc cake for sweet!!!!!! The whole meal was so dry. . Maybe Coach parties are second class citizens .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peter M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Booked Holiday Inn for 1 night stay at the end of August, having paid in full in advance. I tried to cancel my reservation due to a change of travel plans 15 days in advance of stay but have been told that no refund is available, so I've paid £160 for the night with additional cost for breakfast and will get nothing for it. I really think this is appalling and would avoid at all costs booking with Holiday Inn again. Really disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2022
Hello peter_mnznz, Thanks for sharing feedback about your stay with us. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations. Your review was made known to the team, and I'm confident improvements will be made to deliver complete guest satisfaction. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy W wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Air conditioning in rooms which is fantastic, staff friendly, good location, food good in restaurant, free parking. Downsides are rooms could do with abit of a good clean. Stains on carpets and cushions, under our bed filled with lots of rubbish and food smeared on the walls. If you get the cleanliness right Holiday Inn your on to a winner!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Hello, amywN1875DG Thank you for letting us know about your experience and choosing our property. It's very important for us and will help improve the quality of our service. I talked to our management about your observations. I humbly apologize for the details you described. Our staff will make sure everything is reviewed and improved. Our commitment is always combining a feeling of comfort and happiness with exceptional touch to make you have a memorable experience. We look forward to serving you again. I'm sure you'll love the changes and improvements. Alejandro G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick wrote a review Aug 2022
Blackburn, United Kingdom33 contributions15 helpful votes
We visited this hotel as a family. We loved it. We highly recommend it. The lobby/foyer is spacious and clean. Staff are helpful. Our bed was super comfy. Housekeeping is great. Our room was clean and spacious as well. Breakfast - 8.5 out of 10. It was hot, delicious and well prepared. The Danish pastries are super delicious. For the price we paid, I think it was a bargain. We hope to stay at another Holiday Inn in the coming weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ColboySomersetUK wrote a review Aug 2022
Castle Cary, United Kingdom188 contributions110 helpful votes
From our arrival at the reception desk, to visiting the bar, to enjoying breakfast, each and every staff member we had contact with were welcoming, professional and friendly. Glenda in the restaurant was very helpful during our visit there. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bathroom spacious. A good nights sleep was had in the very comfortable bed. The location was perfect for our purposes, close to the M4 but not so close that traffic noise could be heard. It was a peaceful surrounding with a very good and convenient car park.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adam R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Charged my card £84 for a stay which was cancelled within the penalty free cancellation window. Tried for 2 months to reach their accounts dept to request reimbursement, but they do not answer their phones and it is not possible to email them. Tried also via IHG customer service but just as bad. Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Hi Hooner600, Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, thank you for telling us about your stay. Here at our hotel we strive to provide a quality stay in a space that everyone in the family can enjoy. I read your evaluation of our services and am sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. I know this is not what you expected from a quality chain like ours. I shared your remarks with our local area managers, and we took action to prevent this from occurring again. I sent you a private message so we can discuss your stay further. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so we can change your mind about us. Great wishes, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panderys wrote a review Jul 2022
Pontypridd, United Kingdom133 contributions41 helpful votes
Stumbled across this hotel looking for somewhere easily accessible for Royal Ascot and this was perfect. Just off the M4, free parking and ten minutes drive from Reading station. Lovely clean room and hotel and friendly staff. Will be staying again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn reading - south m4, jct.11 hotel reading, reading holiday inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireReading
NUMBER OF ROOMS
202
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Madejski Stadium (0.7 km), Reading Football Club (0.9 km), and The Mad House Soft Play and Party World (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zest At Lime Square, Fidget & Bob, and World Turned Upside Down Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pincents Hill (7.7 km), Greyfriars Church (4.0 km), and Holy Trinity Church Theale (7.8 km).
Is Holiday Inn Reading-South M4, JCT.11, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.