We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Oxford Thames

Orbitz.comUS$140*
View Deal
#5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$175*
US$140*
US$175*
US$140*
US$146*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
De Vere Oxford Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Oxford Thames
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,067: English reviews
Cardiff
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a night for a wedding. We requested an early check in so we could change and they were able to allow us to do this. My room was on the ground floor with French windows to a patio. A lovely rural view. The rooms are well equipped and really quiet. The grounds go down to the river and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicky53cardiff
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear vicky53cardiff, Thanks for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted with your comments and that you really enjoyed your stay with us, meeting your expectations and most importantly that the staff were friendly and helpful. We hope you will visit De Vere Oxford Thames again soon. Best regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for my birthday treat. A very relaxing hotel, the room was spotless and very comfortable. The restaurant overlooked the garden, the food was amazing and service excellent. I would be quite happy to stay here again, but do have two criticisms!! The hotel staff were excellent, until we visited the bar, where we made to feel quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123wiseowl
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear 123wiseowl, Thank you for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us to celebrate your birthday and that overall you were well looked after. I am sorry that you felt that some of the Bar team on duty did not show you the warmth of welcome and high levels...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great room overlooking river and green. Wonderful to see the barges, ducks and many different types of birds. Great room, very clean and comfortable bed. Great barn room. Very interesting history. All the staff friendly and keep to the mission statement of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterPeter99
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear PeterPeter99, Thank you for your generous feedback of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. I am so pleased too that the staff really stood out and gave a genuine welcome and friendliness at all times. We look forward to your return visit to De...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I travel extensively and this is one of the best hotels, in this price range, that we have stayed at. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. I have had many,many a sideways look in the UK when they hear my Australian accent but not here - top professional people. The room was magnificent. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MelbourneArchitect
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear MelbourneArchitect Thank you for your excellent review of De Vere Oxford Thames and we are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Oxford Thames. Regards Mairi S

Headley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a deluxe double with a view. This turned out to be a ground floor garden wing room with its own small terrace and a view over parkland to the nearby Thames. The room, decor and comfort level were excellent. One complaint about the room was there was no hotel directory available to give you information regarding telephone,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike N
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Mike N, Thank you for your positive review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you chose to stay with us and had such an enjoyable time, especially in one of our Garden bedrooms overlooking the gardens and Thames. I am sorry that the Hotel Directory was not available for you. We do have one, but we...

NaomiO
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this through Secret Escapes with my sister - we just wanted a couple of nights away to relax in peace and quiet. We weren't disappointed! Firstly we were upgraded for free, our dinner was lovely, wine in our room for free. The breakfast is really nice. Our room right big, clean and modern. Staff so helpful and friendly. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NaomiO
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear NaomiO, Thank you for your all round wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames and so pleased to hear that you will be returning again soon. Kind regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff are professional, relaxed and very friendly. I had not long had an operation and Natasha on reception very kindly took my case to my room for me. The rooms are well equipped and the beds and pillows very comfortable. During our stay the fire alarm went off while we were using the pool. Cristina came with additional towels...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Esiotrot73
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Esiotrot73, Thanks for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that overall you had a very good stay and the team looked after you well. I am sorry for the issues you have raised which have been noted and will be discussed with our team, but we hope you will visit De Vere Oxford Thames again...

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent just one night at the De Vere Oxford Thames but would have liked to stay longer. We had booked a garden view room which was beautifully and comfortably furnished with good-quality linens and soft furnishings. The view from the room was beautiful - a lake, complete with swan and ducks - magic. We ate in the restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindaraw
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear lindaraw, Thank you for your kind email review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the Garden bedroom, with views of the gardens and river Thames. Thanks for your constructive comments, which we have reviewed as a management team and we have formulated...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a very pleasant stay. Rest in the restaurant, much better than expected and quite busy so the reviews must be good. Cristian stood out for service in the restaurant, with his humour, wine knowledge and helpfulness - one to watch for the future. Very impressed all round, very clean, will definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at De Vere Oxford Thames. I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experiences with us; notably the Restaurant and our award winning food. Thank you for highlighting Cristian, who I know is extremely proud of his mention. Do...

Onchan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had one night at this hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of service particularly in the restaurant. The food was very good and the service great. The waiters were very attentive indeed . We would definitely go back .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosalyn C
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Rosalyn C, Thank you for your super review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am so pleased that we exceeded your expectations and particularly that the service and food stood out for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Oxford Thames soon. Best regards, Jonathan Oldroyd

545 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (160)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.8 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.1 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.7 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,698 reviews
5.5 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: €130 - €275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
De Vere Oxford Thames England
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room overlooked the front of the hotel but there was no disturbing noise at all.”
marione484, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms nearest towards river are good on first floor”
PeterPeter99, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are excellent, with the ground floor garden rooms having french doors and a small terrace with chairs and a table”
837miken, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Garden room's are lovely, french doors onto a private patio and the river themes”
sb89654, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 24/25 overlook the garden and were quiet”
eckingtonrooms, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$140
Booking.comUS$146
CancelonUS$175
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates