We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxford Spires Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oxford Spires Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,599: English reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We had a twin and a double room. The twin room was spacious and luxurious, as was the double. The double bed was huge! Very clean and comfortable. I appeared that the rooms were recently refurbished to a high standard. Nice bonus of an upstairs residents lounge with board games which we enjoyed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen L, Thank you for your review, I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to us and the facilities the hotel had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

Kirk Sandall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Booked this as a twixmas treat and upgraded to a deluxe room. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Had also booked the evening meal. Shame about the dining room not a very nice room. They gave us the quiet corner just opposite the screaming children. The started was OK. Unfortunately I ordered a chicken burger that was not cooked.they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark W, Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and I hope you were able to explore the delights of Oxford. However, I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience at the hotel. I will be sure to feed this back to the chefs and investigate with the staff on...

Reviewed 29 December 2015

I will start with the nice points about this hotel - nice comfortable room - quite large, nicely stocked mini bar, friendly staff, and a good location with nice surroundings (about 15 minutes walk to Oxford High Street). The bar serves a range of drinks late into the night. There are however, quite a few bad points. The breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pankaj B
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pankaj B, Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you found the room to be comfortable and I agree the location is perfect for exploring Oxford. We have recently upped our offering at breakfast and have recieved many positive comments so I will check that we are using the correct sausages and are maintaining our...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

December is not a good time to stay at any hotels but this one with the parties,drunks and very loud women talking in the smoking area.This unfortunately is what greets you as you drive up to the main entrance smokers puffing away while you battle through the smoke hoping that as a non smoker you don't breathe in the smog...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie E, Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. During Decembe,r hotels are very busy and we are no exception to this. We do try to manage the noise and minimise disruption caused to our hotel residents and on the whole we are succesful on this...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2015

The best thing about this hotel is the proximity to Oxford centre - an easy walk along the road or along the Thames of about 15 minutes. We booked a standard room, for 2 nights, at £304, which was really that, standard, to be honest. We were up early to use the spa facilities which were good, although I thought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulina O
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 72Polly69, Thank you for your review. I apologise for the inconvenience of the fire alarm, however the safety of our guests is paramount and all nessessary procedures were followed in the circumstances - I am sure you can appreciate we are not in the nature of taking risks with such a safety precaution. Thank you for your patience on...

Watkinsville, Georgia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I think the room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. In terms of my work, it was a nice walk each day to the University but if you're in a hurry, a bus would probably be a better bet. The hotel's outside surroundings were lovely and I liked the view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia2011J
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cecilia2011J, Thank you for your review - I was so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

March, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

This hotel is on the outskirts of Oxford with a short walk into the city centre, in lovely grounds right next to the river, the hotel is in places very tired and the rooms are very standard, and doesn't really represent good value fr money, the staff were really not very helpful, not rude but definitely did nit go anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna_hallas
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna_hallas, Thank you for your review. I agree that our location is great for visiting historic Oxford - being only a 15 minute walk along the Thames. We are currently rolling out a refurbishment which is seeing 10 more bedrooms being completed in January. I was sorry to here you found the staff not to be helpful - we...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night in December. Not very impressed. 1. Shower didn't work properly (leaked from main pipe, which affected water pressure) - see picture. 2. Room a bit tired and could do with a refurb. 3. On pulling back bed cover, found clumps of hair (not mine) on the sheet - see picture. 4. Bed sheet itself was odd,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mail4matt
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mail4matt, Thank you for your rveiew and I am sorry to hear you found your stay to be dissapointing, however I agree our location is very convienent for the city centre. I have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team, as we usually recieve great praise for the hotel cleanliness. We are in the process of rolling out a...

Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Reception, welcoming and well organised. Public areas clean and bright. Plenty of parking and close to the heart of Oxford. Room excellent clean and well presented. Meeting rooms very well managed with appropriate IT display and meeting paraphernalia. Buffet lunch in meeting area excellent. Break fast and dinning excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChefJDD
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChefJDD Thank you for your review. I was so pleased to hear you found the conference facilties to be well managed, and enjoyed our food and beverage offering throughout your stay. I will be sure to pass on your review to the hotel team members. Kind Regards

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Altogether very good. Deluxe room was spacious - everything worked fine. Good replenishment of water bottles, chocolate, toiletries etc. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times. Excellent breakfast - and very well presented - very good management of dining room. Parking excellent but I did notice that this could be a problem if you arrive on Saturday night when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim-In-North
Elle G, Operations Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim-In-North, Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed the facilties the hotel has to offer. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments regarding the staff and restaurant management to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards

466 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (214)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (19)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (24)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (24)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.4 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.7 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.4 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,139 reviews
1.3 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.8 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England (Formerly Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: €120 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Spires Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel England
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Oxford Spires Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the horse pastures”
danielg416, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You need to check that the guests could manage the top room in the cottage!”
Felixevesham, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had a room that overlooked the rear of the Hotel, there was occasional noise from the kitchen staff but entirely bearable.”
JaneF940, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you get the chance room 43”
636brianff, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back have a nice view of the river”
GlasgowAmelie, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5