We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phyllis Court Club

Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Phyllis Court Club is situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Henley on Thames, set in 18 acres of picturesque lawns that sweep down to the river Thames. This renowned private members' Club opens its doors to offer a warm welcome to you for your business meetings, wedding, special occasion or even just a couple of nights stay in one of the 17, luxurious bedrooms overlooking the Thames.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
79Somewhat walkable
Grade: 79 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
176Reviews
67Photos
3Q+A
46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 46
  • 15
  • 14
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Phyllis Court is not a Hotel. It is a Members club, and as such hotel paying guests are not permitted in the bar or able to the use the gym, both of which they advertise as facilities for guests. God forbid you are unfortunate enough to reside there when a members event is on,
Read more
Response from EmmaW4838, Guest Relations Manager at Phyllis Court Club
Responded 1 week ago
Dear paulgraham2018, We take great pride in providing luxury hotel rooms in, as you say, a beautiful establishment. This is reflected in the 80% of "Excellent" and "Very Good" reviews we have received so I'm most disappointed that you were not pleased. We are indeed a Member's Club and as a result of planning permission some areas are exclusive to Club Membership. However we're pleased to invite Hotel and Function guests to enjoy using our grounds, the Lounge, Dining Room and Orangery. We endeavour to inform all hotel guests of this by including information on our website and on booking confirmations, so I would like to offer my sincere apologies that this message did not reach you. Excellent customer service and food are key parts of the service we offer, and I'm concerned that you do not feel you experience these. Please can you contact me on emma.wilson@phylliscourt.co.uk to discuss further? I look forward to hearing from you and resolving your concerns, Kind regards, Emma Wilson
Read more
Our massive room with lovely views of the river, comfortable beds and quiet atmosphere suited us perfectly. The short walk to the centre of Henley is another plus point, and the only minus was what often lets hotels down - the very ordinary continental breakfast and
Read more
Response from EmmaW4838, Guest Relations Manager at Phyllis Court Club
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Dear Paul A, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased that our room suited your perfectly and you were able to make the most of our central location. We hope to welcome you back again soon, Kind regards, Emma Wilson
Read more
You cannot fail to be impressed with the location and the grand old splendour of this building. The décor is redolent of the 1930's - a time when most countries on the map were pink. The place has a colonial feel to it, right down to the people who frequent it. This is not a
Read more
Response from EmmaW4838, Guest Relations Manager at Phyllis Court Club
Responded 6 Dec 2018
Dear TheRealDerbyTup, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. I'm pleased that you liked Club House and location. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to continue to improve. We pride ourselves on excellent service, so I apologise that you did not feel you experienced this during your visit. I'm pleased to share that last week three extra Receptionists joined our team. The extra capacity will ensure Reception are able to provide a high standard of service to all customers. We are indeed a Member's Club and as a result of planning permission some areas are exclusive to Club Membership. However we're pleased to invite Hotel and Function guests to enjoy using our grounds, the Lounge, Dining Room and Orangery. We endeavour to inform all hotel guests of this by including information on our website and on booking confirmations, so I would like to offer my sincere apologies that this message did not reach you. Our hotel room are three different sizes and for guests who enjoy lots of space, I can thoroughly recommend our deluxe rooms which are substantial and have a lounge area. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Kind regards, Emma Wilson
Read more
Stayed 2 nights refused entry in bar members only refused in fitness club members only room small and bed small not comfortable waited 1hour for breakfast and again waited 30mins for breakfast. Beautiful surrounding service very poor This is 20th Century no need to have
Read more
Response from EmmaW4838, Guest Relations Manager at Phyllis Court Club
Responded 6 Dec 2018
Dear Anjla R, We take great pride in providing luxury hotel rooms in, as you say, beautiful surroundings, so I'm disappointed that you were not pleased. We strive to serve our freshly prepared breakfasts within 30 minutes, so please be assured that I will investigate. We are indeed a Member's Club and as a result of planning permission some areas are exclusive to Club Membership. However we're pleased to invite Hotel and Function guests to enjoy using our grounds, the Lounge, Dining Room and Orangery. We endeavour to inform all hotel guests of this by including information on our website and on booking confirmations, so I would like to offer my sincere apologies that this message did not reach you. Kind regards, Emma Wilson
Read more
A members club,open to guests and the public, with curious and outdated rules. Men in colorful corduroy trousers, pontificating pompously about when they ran the country accompanied by chiffon clad ladies fragrant of Youth Dew. Croquet on the lawn, members parking by the club,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Badezimmer
view from the grounds of Phyllis Court Club
Early morning view of the river
Always plenty of cushions (my wife would approve)
PreviousNext
1234567
Is there a gym?
Hi saglondon, We're currently building a Fitness Centre which will include a pool. Kind regards, Emma
0 votes
Is there a pool
Nope
0 votes
"don't choose one at all!"
"Try a different hotel?"
"all are excellent, we stayed in no 10."
"Overlooking the river are best"
"Number 3 is very large and overlooks lawn and river,"
PreviousNext
12345610
PRICE RANGE
US$214 - US$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
phyllis court club hotel henley-on-thamesphyllis court hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHenley-on-Thames
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing