We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Highway Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Highway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 273: English reviews
Start your review of The Highway Inn
 Click to rate
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly greeting when we arrived and we were upgraded to the Burford room which is the four poster room pictured on the Trip Advisor web site. Lovely big room with a comfortable bed and modern ensuite bathroom with over the bath shower - lots of hot water. Free Wi-Fi is a bonus. The room overlooks the busy main street in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Was struggling to find somewhere local who served food on a Sunday night and so made our way to Burford. Stumbled across this small pub and experienced great service from friendly staff and exquisite food. I had a relatively healthy weekend so craved a burger and having had burgers in the USA as well as a vast variety in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim_howell83
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of nights over a weekend in Februrary. The location was on the highstreet of Burford. Parking on a side street was easy. The place was like a maze to find the room - it was quite fun! The building still had a lot of character with old beams, unreasonably low ceilings etc. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SheldonLovesFood
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, the food and service. We hope you will stay with us again when visiting the Cotswolds.

Cheshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointing just does not sufficiently describe our underwhelming experience. The place screams reinvest, become more contemporary yet retain your charm and undertake a deep clean focussing on attention to detail. The dining room, in my opinion, felt grubby and in need of some attention. Sticky tables, paper serviettes, not enough cutlery and dusty. Our room had a beautiful bathroom, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheshirePugwash
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear your stay with us was dissapointing.We are not a contemporary hotel, the building was built in 1480, we try to keep the rooms as original looking and quirky as possible. The sherry although not to everyones taste is complimentary and enjoyed by many guests. The water is also complimentary and therefore not replenished however...

New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here one night on a recent trip to the Cotswolds. Our room was charming and cozy (be ready some tight stairs and uneven ceilings/floors - but it all adds to the charm!). We had dinner at the restaurant downstairs and it was very good, as was the full English breakfast we were served in the morning. Parking on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABSkywalkr
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay look forward to welcoming you back again.

torrington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a great stay here.Stayed for one night with our 2 dogs which were welcomed with there own bed in the room and aloud in the bar which was lovely for us.Room was warm and very clean we had a lovely comfy bed and our own private bathroom across the landing.The food was fantastic can highly recommend there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank for the review. We do love dogs here and gald you brought them. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and I have passed on your glowing testomany for our Nut Roast to the chef. We look forward to your next visit.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend of pubs and walks. We arrived early - no problem, up graded - no problem. In fact nothing was a problem. The English breakfast was fresh and tasty the Burford Room was an excellent size with an en suite bathroom loads of hot water and a power shower. It does font on the high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
The_Highway_Inn, Manager at The Highway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope you can come back and stay with us again sometime. there are always new walks to discover.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had high hopes upon booking, as looked an idyllic reasonably priced package for DB&B, even though was a 2/3 hour journey just for one night. Upon arriving, road far busier than anticipated, and check in was somewhat slow due to understaffing. When shown to Fulford room, commented room was very cold, to be told heating would come on later, though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beeniecrew-182
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed here during a trip to the Cotswolds. The Highway Inn is a lovely friendly hotel, nice relaxed atmosphere with lots of character. The staff were really friendly & very helpful when needed. The hotel building is very old so has sloping floors & walls but this adds to the character of the place! Being a dog friendly hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank obinoble
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Beautiful location in Burford, lovely old building, comfortable bed with good pillows, quiet room = good nights sleep. Excellent meal in the evening followed by an equally excellent breakfast in the morning. Friendly staff. Local real ales. Only stayed one night but certainly worth going back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.1 km away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
475 reviews
3.8 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
336 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
461 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
301 reviews
0.1 km away
Burford House
Burford House
#7 of 8 in Burford
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Highway Inn is a family owned and run cosy Inn, right in the heart of Burford, in between Oxford and Cheltenham. The open fires, great food and cosy bedrooms will help you relax whether on business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Highway Inn

Address: 117 High Street, Burford OX18 4RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: €97 - €160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highway Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Highway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highway Hotel Burford
Highway Hotel Burford
The Highway Inn Burford, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highway Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Warwick, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Highway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Light sleepers may wish to have a room which does not overlook the busy main road.”
 of 5 bubbles KarenDerby, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are overlooking main street so traffic quite noisey”
 of 5 bubbles 893MandyW, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a lovely room at the front, with a bay window. The bed was a bit small though.”
 of 5 bubbles 1234Ruth4321, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at back away from road”
 of 5 bubbles carolinebuchanan89, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There was some road noise at the front of the hotel so maybe a room at the back would be quieter. It wasn't bad though.”
 of 5 bubbles BowensBandB, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5