We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Burford House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Burford House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 267: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was very expensive small portions it was very tasty but as I said the portions were far to small also the Italian larger was four pounds ninety a pint which I thought was a bit steep .wont be going back better places in burford the mermaid for example.

Thank David P
London, UK
Level Contributor
472 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were passing through Burford on a Sunday afternoon and wanted somewhere for tea. The other cafes were either full or closing but we managed to get a table at Burford House. Tea is served in an traditional oak-panelled room. We had cakes and cream tea. Service was quick. The food was excellent and the portions were quite large. I... More 

Thank RIchard035
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu visit, but definitely a delightful one. So pleased to see the new owners have put in a manager who understands the importance of customer service and clearly enjoys what he does! Very warm welcome when we walked in without a booking and were offered a drink in the bar or at a table. The menu is simple, but... More 

Thank jojoOxford
Kingsland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We booked a table for 6 people for afternoon tea on Tue 25th Oct. We did not want the full option as we were going to be having dinner in the evening elsewhere. I am unsure whether the lady who served us was bordering on rude or just felt that she was doing us a favour by serving us. Yes... More 

Thank Andrew P
Management response:

Firstly may we apologise for your unfortunate experience whilst lunching with us here at the Burford House. If I can just explain that we have recently taken over the hotel in mid-may, and we are working very hard to improve the staffing. Personally I am horrified on this particular comment, we welcome parties and are here to give the best... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A classy place to stop for a quick cup of tea. Plenty of cakes to chose from too. Service was friendly and atmosphere convivial. Could have done without the music - but that's a bit of a personal gripe.

1 Thank N D
Management response:

Delighted with your comment, come and see us again, we always have a great selection of cakes to tempt :) More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We had both dinner and lunch here. It had a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. Nice selection of homemade cakes during the day. Food in the evening was very good, I highly recommend the Lamb and the crumble dessert!

Thank 183glen
Management response:

Excellent :) We are so grateful for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Booked one night on business trip but accompanied by my wife. Good location right on main street, no private parking but wasn't an issue on the High St for safe overnight parking. We had top room 'Taynton' with no complaints at all. This is an OLD BUILDING so don't expect all the cutting edge décor of a new business hotel,... More 

1 Thank davebedford
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

First time in burford and we wanted a cup of tea/coffee so popped in to this place,.it looked nice from the outside and we weren't disappointed Nice friendly and quick service in a relaxing place. At a reasonable price Recommended

Thank Holidayer164
Management response:

Thank you so much for your review. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future :) More 

Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful Cotswold village of Burford has this Hotel on the Main Street. You cannot park outside the hotel with ease. You can unload here but then park in the public car park. No car park for the hotel. Lovely property but the welcome was a little disappointing. You have to walk up to the first floor to check in, no... More 

Thank Carolyn F
Management response:

We do feel a tiny bit disappointed as we haven't experienced none, if any bad reviews when it comes to our bedrooms, however, I feel I should sum up what has been mentioned in this review. We are a 17th century property, hence why we do not have a lift, like all hotels in Burford. We have and still are... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous boutique hotel with friendly staff, delicious food (we had the Thai curry, lamb stew and full English) oh and cake lots of cake. The G&T's are very good too, think I tried four with different herbs and fruits. We had a four poster bed that was extremely comfy and a bathroom that I would love to have... More 

2 Thank Nety1958
Management response:

We are extremely grateful for your review, as this is exactly what we are aiming to do; we want our customers to leave incredibly happy and be returning guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (67)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Room/Suite (15)
Dining (12)
Bathroom (4)
View from Room (4)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (12)
Bathroom (1)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burford hotels
0.0 km away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
443 reviews
3.8 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
309 reviews
0.2 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
#5 of 8 in Burford
433 reviews
0.2 km away
Bay Tree Hotel
Bay Tree Hotel
#3 of 8 in Burford
559 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Burford House

Address: 99 High Street, Burford OX18 4QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Price Range: €144 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Burford House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Burford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burford House Hotel Burford
Burford Hotel
Burford House Oxfordshire
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Family Hotel in Burford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Burford House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
London, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Burford House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a look at Rooms, All Very Big - Ensuites! Look forward to trying it”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Situated in heart of town large lorries at all times of day and night ear plugs supplied in rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles D1304GZnicolag, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice depends if you want a 4 poster bed.”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmf651, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Certainly not the ground floor courtyard room.”
 of 5 bubbles terrymcgoldrick, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Choose to face away from the main road if you prefer it absolutely quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles AutumninChicago, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay