We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel

George Street Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP England
Overview
George Street Lace Market, Nottingham NG1 3BP England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
Nottingham’s newest 4 star boutique hotel, now open following an 18 month, multi-million pound refurbishment. Originally a Georgian townhouse dating from 1822, the Mercure Nottingham City Centre has been More restored to its former glory, reclaiming its place as Nottingham’s finest hotel.Located in the heart of the fashionable Lace Market district, this chic property is perfectly placed only minutes from the Capital FM Arena, Old Market Square and Nottingham Castle. 76 individually designed bedrooms are completely unique, ranging from cute and cozy to grand and gorgeous. Every room is equipped with the latest amenities including ipod docking stations, interactive flat screen TV’s, air conditioning and free wifi.The hotel also boasts a stylish brasserie bar, spacious event rooms and a state of the art fitness centre to offer the best in guest comfort in a great city centre location. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Style
Romantic
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
Romantic
,
Luxury
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
76
Price range
US$59 - US$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Nottingham Comfort Inn
,
Comfort Inn Nottingham
Location
United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 40 nearby hotels
Ibis Nottingham Centre
1,374 reviews
.14 km away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
460 reviews
.30 km away
Hilton Nottingham
2,524 reviews
.41 km away
Travelodge Nottingham Central Hotel
935 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,411 nearby restaurants
Bar Iberico
454 reviews
.03 km away
Hartleys Coffee & Sandwich Bar
619 reviews
.05 km away
Dino's
273 reviews
.05 km away
Kayal
801 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 390 nearby attractions
Nottingham Arts Theatre
12 reviews
.10 km away
The National Videogame Museum
324 reviews
.03 km away
Six Barrel Drafthouse
40 reviews
.03 km away
ALT Gaming Lounge
22 reviews
.03 km away
Reviews & more
1,303Reviews
407Photos
18Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 479
  • 462
  • 221
  • 77
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
I’ve been staying at this hotel for the last 8 years and all I can say is what an excellent team of people apologies for not remembering all of the names of the staff but From Melanie who sets up the corporate deals who is lovely, Chris the Hotel Manager always willing to assist
Read more
Response from GuestRelations L, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Micktimmo65, Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments. It truly is a pleasure for the team and I to be able to keep welcoming you and on occasion your family to our hotel. The team and I really do look forward to each of your stays and are most thankful for your loyalty to us thus far. I will certainly share all of your kind words with the team which will provide much encouragement to us all. Thank you once again for your kind words and loyalty. The team and I wish you and your family a wonderful Christmas and New Year celebrations. If not before, we shall see you in 2019 and very much look forward to doing so. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Arrived to the receptionist greeting us with “You’ve booked a really small room”. I replied I’ve booked a standard double room. To which he replied yes it does have a double bed.
Went up to the room and could not believe how small it was. The bed was not a double but a 3/4 bed pu
Read more
Response from GuestRelations L, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear DavidW9806, Thank you for your review. I can indeed confirm as mentioned you booked a small rooms, our smallest room grade which is a City Pad. I am aware you made your reservation upon Expedia where photos are provided and do show a variety of our City Pads ( as no two rooms are the same ) where the best is placed next to the wall due to the small size of the room. Room size dimensions are also provided. These are put upon the website to assist guests in making a well informed decision rather than it coming as a surprise to them. I appreciate that booking without taking in any of this information does pose the risk of over inflated expectations. It is highly recommended when booking anything to take the time to look through images and room information to ensure ( in the case of hotel reservations ) the room will be to your liking and your expectations are in line with the room you are choosing to book. At Mercure Nottingham we do have a range of room grades from the small City Pad you resided in through to Standard King rooms, Privilege rooms and Suites. The latter provided more room should ample 'free space' be of importance. The Privilege rooms and Suites are our larger rooms and would certainly provided the additional space you may possible have desired / required. Thank you so much for your kind comments with regards to breakfast and the team here. This is most encouraging to hear and shall be shared with the team. Your comments throughout your review are all very well received and the team and I sincerely do appreciate you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. Should you wish to book again, we would be delighted to discuss our room grades with you to ensure you are booking a room more inline with your expectations. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
We stayed here to go to a concert at the motor point arena. It is only a short walk from the car park so not a problem it has no parking onsite.
Our room was large and well equipped if a little cold when we got in. After the heater had been on for a while it was nice and toasti
Read more
Response from GuestRelations L, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear PeterB344, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be a little too cold upon arrival but pleased our duel heating and AC system quickly warmed the room to a desirable temperature for you. Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping standards which I will pass onto the team along with your comments about breakfast. The team and I are most grateful for you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion. We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
I have stayed in this hotel a few times this year and have had a few upgrades to bigger and better rooms with a free drinks voucher

My recent stay was very nice as we got an upgrade to a suite on the top floor which was very comfortable with a lounge/bedroom/bathroom with bath
Read more
Response from GuestRelations L, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear marctiga, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay for the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, made even more enjoyable due to the complimentary upgrade for which you are most welcome. Thank you for your very kind words about the team. I will ensure these are shared with them which I have no doubt will provide much encouragement to each person. To hear you would recommend Mercure Nottingham truly is a wonderful comment and one I thank you for. The team and I are all sincerely thankful for you having chosen to stay with us on this occasion and very much hope we will have the pleasure to be able to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
This room is so small one can barely function in it. You can almost touch both walls on either side of the bed. The shower is minuscule. They is no way a couple could use this room. I have a book bag and a suitcase and there is no room to move around
In addition the mouse from
Read more
Response from GuestRelations L, General Manager at Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sirsmokeyjoe, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you found the Standard King room to be too small for you. The Standard King is one of our smaller room grades here at Mercure Nottingham. Contrary to your comment room 304 is frequented by 2 people successfully most nights. I however appreciate and respect different guests have different requirements with regards to the amount of space they require or desire. For guests preferring a larger space we recommend our Privilege rooms or Suites. I am sorry that our very central location was too vibrant for you during the night. We are surrounded by bars and nightlife and it is our location many of our guests choose to stay with us for. We have had no report of slow WiFi here before but thank you for bringing this to my attention which I shall have looked into immediately by our IT team to see whether they can identify an unusually slower service. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on this occasion. Should you wish to stay with us again ( which we hope you will ) we would be delighted to discuss room placements and room grades to ensure you are allocated a room more to your liking. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementMercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Classic room had a real homely feel.
bedroom with kingsize bed
Photo provided by managementMercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Previous
Dear Mr Butler, Whilst I appreciate bad reviews on here can be damaging, and maybe we should have demanded to be put through to you when I got no joy from the staff but , if they say there is nothing they can do is it up to customers to demand to speak to Manager especially late at night to get help? When we checked out my husband once again mentioned it to reception staff. They didn’t offer any complaint procedure. But I do suggest if any future guests have a problem, they ignore the staff who say there is nothing we can do and go direct to you.
Dear KerryZupp, Thank you for your message. Thank you for taking the time to further reply. Any guest that is not satisfied with any resolution after their stay can choose to leave a TripAdvisor review or alternatively I welcome being personally contacted. I can be contacted by phone or email and welcome any feedback whether good or bad. I appreciate many guests rather choose the method of TripAdvisor rather than contacting the manager of a hotel to personally discuss their stay and experience. I appreciate and respect you have chosen the option of leaving a review. Of course if I am not on duty and therefore not contactable I can either get in touch upon my return or my Operations Manager would certainly have done so. I very much hope we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back in the future where I hope we can deliver a much better experience to you. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
0 votes
The managers reply is an absolute lie.We were not told about a dj or music never mind until 12am. Or a choice of a quieter room if we came back at 3pm. We had no reason to accept an earlier room as we had left our luggage in the car and was meeting friends so wouldn’t be using the room until after 10pm. We were not offered another fan either as we would gladly have accepted a quieter room and a 2nd fan had they been offered. Turns out it was the friendly guy on reception around 12.30pm who is lying. We never mentioned the heat in the room so don’t know who is lying about us declining another fan. These answers make out we were at fault when it was the hotel manager accepting staff lies. Watch and listen to the cctv when we checked in and there is your answer. Dishonest staff.
Dear guest, Thank you for providing us with your version of events and I am genuinely sorry to hear your recollection differs to our own. It is in our interest to inform all guests upon check in to avoid such incidents so we do our upmost to ensure everyone is told. Thank you once again for your feedback. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Is this near motorpoint Arena and the train station
Dear JCT1962, Thank you for your message. I can confirm Mercure Nottingham is located close to both the Motorpoint Arena and Nottingham Train Station. Nottingham Train station is located 10 minutes walk from the hotel or is 1 tram stop away. The tram stop to exit the tram at is Lace Market. We are then 1 minute away by foot. Motorpoint Arena is located aprox 5 minutes away by foot. It is located at the foot of our road. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
I am SO excited. Being disabled I’m not able to get out too much, but my husband has booked a stay tomorrow night 6th July for our wedding anniversary (33 years!) - and we are also going to a concert. Sorry .. got carried away there. What I wanted to ask is, which is the best car park to park at please? I know there is an option of two, but for walking distance? Not that it really matters I guess ... just getting out of the house is a bonus! Thank you ..
Dear Saffy1999, Thank you for your message. I am very sorry for having not seen your question on this platform to assist. I am pleased to see you were however inundated by previous guests and thank them for providing answers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you and your husband for allowing us to be part of such a special occasion. I very much hope the team and I can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Do you have a room with a jacuzzi?
Dear RA, Thank you for your message. No bedroom has a jacuzzi within it but all bedrooms do have en suite facilities. If we can assist further in anyway, please do let me know. Kindest regards Chris Butler General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"They are all good clean nice rooms, no issues at all"
"Top floor rooms are quieter"
"Ask for a high floor as the old windows aren't great at keeping the noise out"
"Ask for a room at the back of the building and on the top floors to avoid noise from nearby bars and pubs."
"If you have mobility issues, ask for a room on the same level as the lift."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing