We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The County Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 200: English reviews
Start your review of The County Hotel
 Click to rate
Hexham
Reviewed 1 week ago

The County is on the up and up thanks to Fiona it's new owner. It has at last had the TLC it deserves. It has a buzz now, and an atmosphere it never used to have. People eating and enjoying their food and staff that smile and eager to please. Dogs are welcomed on the hard wooden floor areas they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaHexham
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and we are very glad you had a lovely visit to us! hopefully see you again soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Since it has been refurbished the hotel has had some big changes. This is is our third visit since the refurbishment and we have never been disappointed. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the food is well cooked with a decent (but not too big) choice. The have the items marked where they are Vegetarian or Gluten...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelbrown2016
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are all happy that you had a lovely visit to us and hope to see you again in the future!

Tyne Valley, Northumberland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a lengthy and visually impressive refurbishment this place really underscores on the food and beverage front. Moderate pub food at best and a million miles behind any one of hundreds of similar venues down in North Yorkshire. Could do better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TyneTourist
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry that you had a less than perfect experience with us. Would you be willing to letting us know what it was exactly about the food and drink that you found to your disliking? We enjoy finding out so we can work to improve on these issues.

Norfolk, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was perfect for what we were doing. The room was absolutely gorgeous (room 4) and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the cooked breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious. A bit pricey and the room was quite warm even with the heating turned right down, but luckily there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milno0_0
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We are all very happy that you had a lovely stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dined here and found the prices very reasonable. The menu is not extensive but we enjoyed what we had . The salmon was excellent as was the goats cheese salad. Friendly, prompt service. The venue was busy with a couple of large parties. Well located on the High St.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy119186363
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for leaving this lovely review. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a large group for lunch. Service was quick and efficient. There were a couple of issues with some of the meals (2 mains and a dessert - chefs fault not waiting staff), which were dealt with by management very well. The customer service is great here and it's obvious that the management see the importance of customers leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCF1983
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a reivew. We are very sorry again for the issues you had but are extremely glad that you would return. Hope to see you again soon, and Thank you again for your review.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Stayed here whilst working in Hexham. The staff are very friendly and were happy to help where required. Had some issues with water pressure (basically non-existent) during an evening shower which I suspect may have been due to heavy water use elsewhere in the building (the rooms are above the pub), however no problems the following morning. Room nicely decorated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. We will be looking into the water pressure issue so we can stop this happening in the future.

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We were going to Hexham for Valentines in a cottage , parking up we saw the county hotel & decided to go for lunch . They do a lunch menu for £4-95 plus all the usual eats. My husband had sausage & mash with veg from the £4-95 menu ,I had a bacon & Brie panini with a genourus salad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vfwoody30
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review! We are glad you had a lovely time with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely decor, looks as though it has recently been refurbished. We had the lunchtime special, 2 main courses, 2 desserts, & 2 coffees were less than £20. Burger and wedges were good quality, and reasonable size portion. The day's special was meatloaf, which wasn't really special, tbh. The accompanying mash and veg was good, but the meatloaf was quite dry....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanddancer steve
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this lovely review. Im sorry that your meatloaf special wasnt to your liking. We hope next time you visit, it will be perfect!

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This is our second stay here and it won't be our last. The hotel is modern and contemporary whilst retaining a cosy and welcoming feel. Rooms are comfortable and spotless. The food is really excellent quality and good value. We had the Valentine's Menu - which was exceptionally good. The big thing for us is that not only is our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suee1232015
county2016, Manager at The County Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this lovely review! We enjoy having yourselves and obi here too! Hopefully see you again soon.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hexham hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
10.5 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,052 reviews
6.9 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
2,745 reviews
0.2 km away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#20 of 63 in Hexham
61 reviews
0.1 km away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#57 of 63 in Hexham
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located in the Town Centre of Hexham, just a short walk from the Bus & Train Station. We have 7 beautiful En-suite Bedrooms fully furnished to a High Modern standard. We have a lovely Restaurant and busy bar area serving food right through until 9pm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: Priestpopple, Hexham NE46 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Price Range: €118 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The County Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotel.de so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Hexham
The County Hotel Hexham, Northumberland, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The County Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles Vfwoody30, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper best to avoid this room.”
 of 5 bubbles ahcp2017, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont go at the weekends - very rowdy”
 of 5 bubbles gerryjwatson, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try get a room not overlooking the busy through road”
 of 5 bubbles B818INmartinb, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles quizpeople, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5