We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hopping Hare

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hopping Hare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hopping Hare
See the most recent reviews
Showing 438: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for a Valentines meal and the menu had been very well thought out and the food was very good. Have eaten here a few times and never had a bad meal. Service was a little slow, but understandable as they were very busy. Is a nice environment to sit and chat in any case.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Marc T
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Marc, Thank you very much for choosing The Hopping Hare to celebrate Valentine's Day and for awarding the team top marks, which is very much appreciated. Every dish is prepared and cooked in-house by our team of talented and skilled chefs, using the finest produce and I do believe we are one of the very best restaurants in the...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I often spend a night away in various locations and hotels and although the apartment itself was really nice and clean, unfortunately the poor service at dinner lef it down. The service was already slow however they continued to seat customers even though they clearly couldn't cope we finished our meals and our drinks waited for dessert...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andy496
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Andy, I am really sorry about the slow service. We were exceedingly busy the night you stayed with us, but that is no excuse. We have had a thorough review and have made improvements to ensure that, even on the busiest nights, our customer service is delivered to our usual very high standards. I do wish you had spoken...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went today with my immediate family. Really happy with the service, everyone really nice and helpful and polite and welcoming. The food was very good, no complaints, the veg were all freshly made. Starters, mains and dessert all fab. Children's menu was also very good. Importantly we all felt very comfortable and were not rushed in any way. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare. Excellent quality food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and I am very pleased we delivered on both. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind regards, David.

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was average. NO granary bread available, even though it was Saturday lunchtime. The restaurant was cold, and had to put her jacket on. The service couldn't be faulted. Can't say that I would be in a hurry to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val B
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Val, Sorry you were disappointed. Restaurant should not have been cold, I can only imagine that the radiators had been turned down, but should have been spotted by the Supervisor in charge. Kind regards

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was a little expensive but still good. Waitress was miserable and had no customer service skills. First pint of beer I had tasted rank and staff reluctant to swap it so won't be going back in a hurry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCP2014
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, I am pleased that you enjoyed our food offer. All our food is cooked in-house by our excellent brigade of chefs, using prime quality produce and we have been acclaimed by The Sunday Times as offering outstanding value for money. Sorry about your pint, we are Cask Marque accredited and do look after our beer exceptionally well, so...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've recently been to the HH twice, once just to eat and the other to stay over. The service is so good and that can be a rarity these days. I want to mention Ellie in particular - she is a delight and so very natural, she should be cloned! If there were more people like Ellie, customer service in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucks1971
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Lucks, Many thanks for your kind review and for recommending The Hopping Hare, Much appreciated by us all. The team members do give 100% effort and commitment to delivering exceptional customer service and I am always most pleased when their efforts are appreciated. Thank you for also highlighting the quality and value for money of our food offer, I...

Beddgelert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Was in Northampton for daughters graduation.we booked a family meal at this restaurant on a recommendation from a work colleague.Thanks for a great suggestion.We visited on a early Sunday evening.The restaurant was fairly busy but there was still plenty of free tables.The staff were efficient and also very friendly,our waitress asking where we were from,and what brought us to Northampton?we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angus M
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Angus, Very many congratulations to your daughter and we are really pleased that you chose The Hopping Hare for your celebration. We have an excellent team of chefs, led by Head Chef, Nick Kimber and the presentation and quality of our food is exceptionally good and I believe that our reputation is going from strength to strength. Thank you...

Staverton
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A perfect place to have lunch when around Northampton, a wide range from a very good restaurant to some excellent bar snacks. Always good service, decent wine by the glass and very good food. The hotel bar is always a pleasant environment, suitable for a business lunch or meeting up with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith S
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Many thanks for your kind comments and for awarding the team top marks, which is very much appreciated by us all. We are committed to serving excellent quality food with first class customer service and I am very pleased we delivered on both. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, David.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome from staff. A very comfortable room. The food was outstanding.... would have been happy to just keep eating and try everything on the menu. Even the 'pub lunch' was delicious. A relaxed atmosphere which was needed after a long drive. Will visit again definitely.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank frances_ward
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Frances, Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted that you have discovered The Hopping Hare. We have a new Head Chef on board and are in the early stages of implementing our plan of establishing The Hopping Hare as one of the very highest quality restaurants in the County. A restaurant with a reputation for outstanding...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Very spacious and warm setting throughout. The service was very efficient and the staff are lovely. The food is sublime and the dessert to share is a must. There was a minor issue with the bill which was resolved with the utmost professionalism.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sid J
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Sid, Many thanks for your review and for awarding The Hopping Hare top marks. It really does mean a lot to the team and is very much appreciated. First class customer service and excellent quality food are our highest priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, David.

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
6.9 km away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
315 reviews
5.4 km away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
477 reviews
17.2 km away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
4.8 km away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
610 reviews
20.4 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Price Range: €92 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton, Northamptonshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hopping Hare staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
newcastle upon tyne

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hopping Hare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are about 20 rooms, all sizes, all nicely furnished. There is one very small single room, room 7, which is very small”
 of 5 bubbles daforth, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 2 - can't say for rest but nicely set out and quiet enough not to be disturbed”
 of 5 bubbles markh330, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely room”
 of 5 bubbles andy496, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Better elsewhere for same money.”
 of 5 bubbles HotRev, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 10 is in the eaves and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SussexChap1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5