We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Briar Lea Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Briar Lea Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Briar Lea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a fantastic trip in york and found the bed and breakfast was perfect for what we required as a family with two small children. the family room was split into two with an arch which meant we could put kids to bed and still watch TV. It is in a great location 10 mins walk from station and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a nice review. We are pleased you had a fantastic trip, and we were able to help you achieve it.

Sydney, Aust
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Lovely old building, but the stairs!! they were a hazzard. Very narrow and very steep, which made them difficult to climb with luggage & even more difficult to descend. If you have just an overnight bag, it probably wouldn't be an issue. Great location 10 min walk from town. Delicious full english breakfast in pleasant dining room. Owners allowed us...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue H
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location, and our delicious breakfast. As you say, "Lovely Old Building". The stairs to the upper floor can be a little steep in Victorian houses, but Nigel always offers assistance with luggage. You should have mentioned when booking, that you had trouble climbing stairs,...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location is ideal,easy reach to town and railway station,hosts very pleasent and helpful.Room was clean and comfortable,food great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamworthbird
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments. You were lovely guests, and we enjoyed having you stay with us.

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This B&B / Guest House was absolutely the best place we stayed in during our week long tour of the UK. The location is wonderful as it's a short walk by the river to town, the hosts Nigel & Norma are absolutely lovely (and are also amazing breakfast cooks), the prices are perfect and the rooms are comfortable and well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lkelsey
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

It is so nice when you say we were the best B & B you stayed in, during your trip to the UK. We really appreciate your comments. It is reviews like yours that makes our hard work worth while.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was the 4th time i've stayed at Briar Lea and I still can't fault the place ( only the weather this time ). Great food, great room, great location and once again a great friendly welcome by Nigel and Norma, a couple who really know how to run a guest house. I noticed from the guest book that people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Peter, you really are one of our regular guests now. Hopefully, we will welcome you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the start of the Jubilee weekend. She arrived at the B&B before me and found Norma to be really friendly and welcoming, helped her with her case on the stairs up to the room. When we checked out in the morning we didn't plan to leave York until after 8 in the evening,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IJGrieve
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed York. Hope to see you again.

Hampshire
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a lovely little guest house run by Nigel and Norma. Clean, lovely food. Only downside is the en-suite in the four poster room is so small. We kept knocking the shower door on the loo and was frightened of smashing the door. Other than that, lovely people, nice location and good food. Plus, York is the most wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank itismehdr
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you again in the future.

seaham
Reviewed 12 April 2012

we stayed at briar lea over easter and really enjoyed our stay.briar lea is only 5 mins from the city centre no matter which way you go ,We stayed in room 6 which is on the ground floor and regarding what other revievers have said we didnt have a problem ,the room had everything you require,spotless ,breakfast was excellent nigel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carl b
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had a nice time over Easter. You are so kind with your comments. Hope to see you soon.

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have visited here 3 times now, i came with my partner this time to go to races, its only 5 to ten min walk to station and centre with a riverside walk. they were flexible with check in time and the room was excellent and breakfast was gorgeous. Made to feel like you are at home. definatley be returning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dawngraham
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure to see you back in York. Thank you, and your family for being such wonderful guests.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We travelled as a family of four and was given the family room with its own ensuite which was excellent. Great location (10mins from city centre), private parking and great breakfast. Norma and Nigel were excellent hosts. Thank you for making our stay in York a memorable one. Highly recommended and will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oscar_oz37
yorkandproud, Owner at Briar Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. Comments such as yours make it all worth while. We would love to welcome you again.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 km away
Beech House
Beech House
#54 of 205 in York
281 reviews
0.1 km away
The Sycamore Guest House
0.0 km away
St. Mary's Guest House
St. Mary's Guest House
#47 of 205 in York
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
23 St. Mary's
23 St. Mary's
#15 of 205 in York
165 reviews
0.1 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#12 of 205 in York
664 reviews
0.2 km away
Airden House
Airden House
#65 of 205 in York
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Briar Lea Guest House

Address: 8 Longfield Terrace, York YO30 7DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Class:3 star — Briar Lea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Briar Lea Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Briar Lea Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose Room 1.”
 of 5 bubbles 1ParisLuv, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Approx 10 mins walk from railway station”
 of 5 bubbles nevdavies2014, 11 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Both rooms we have stayed in, have been brilliant.”
 of 5 bubbles But2nnose, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
“We had Room 5 at the rear of house which was great.”
 of 5 bubbles CheshireChallenger, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st or top floor. Avoid the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles iliketogoawanderin, 7 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5