We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gillygate Guest House

Show Prices
#53 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gillygate Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Start your review of Gillygate Guest House
 Click to rate
Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic little guest house with very welcoming hosts. Me and my boyfriend have just got back from a weekend in York and it was amazing, we loved every second. It was a ten minute walk from the guest house to the town center with lots of lovely places to eat and stop of for a drink all around. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannibear26
Redcar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Location of this guest-house was brilliant, York Minster & Shambles very nearby. Very clean & tidy, bedroom was comfortable, good choice of breakfast, owner was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elijahc1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2017. The location is fantastic being just literally 2 minutes from the city walls and 5 minutes from the very centre of York, all on foot of course. The Minster is a 3 minute walk away so you couldn't get much better placement for exploring this wonderful city. The room was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pr0ccy
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights in February. It is a lovely little guest house, very comfortable and run by a very nice couple. Room was spacious and clean, with a nice en-suite and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Parking is a bit of a squeeze but the owners manage to accommodate everyone's cars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andewcbn
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We spent four nights at the guest house on vacation from the US. The location is perfect, just a short walk to the Minster and York city in general. Although situated on a busy road, the double glazing meant noise was never a problem even though our room was overlooking the traffic. Our room was spacious and comfortable with toiletries...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andyabroad64
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely rooms really clean. Large selection for breakfast really nice hosts would definitely return on our next visit to york nice area close to york minster the shambles good location for the station thanks for the hospitality

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We had a 3 night stay here. It's a lovely little guest house about 200m at a guess from the nearest gate into York. Takes a few minutes to walk to the Minster so location wise spot on. We had room 2 which has a comfortable king sized bed. The only negative is the very tiny en suite but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emillergmiller
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to host you on your return to York Warm regards, Mark and Joyce

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

A good location, short walk to the Minster and all that's in the centre of York. A small car park that is tricky with more than two guests cars. Rooms are ok, a little noisy at the front, a little more investment in the rooms and this could be one of the best. The breakfast has a good choice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilsFamilyView
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, its all helpful, we continually strive to develop our guesthouse, when we get the chance, all rooms hallways, stairs and dining room were re set and painted earlier this month and we all be investing in the next few months as well. I'm sorry you feel breakfast was burnt, you should of said and I...

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January with our dog in rooms 7 and 8. Rooms were really well decorated, warm and clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The only real criticism is that the shower lacked any oomph which was a bit disappointing. The bar areas were really nice and the atmosphere was great, a nice departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thats grand you had a good stay at the Gillygate Pub with rooms but you have us mixed up, we are across the road and don't have a bar as we are the Gillygate Guesthouse.. But overall its great to hear you had a good time in York. Regards, Mark and Joyce

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This guesthouse is located in the city centre within walking distance of the Minster and National Railway Museum. There is a friendly welcome and the breakfast was freshly cooked. My single room was quite cramped and drafty, since this is an old building. But at the back there was no problem with traffic noise - this might be an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
traveler0181, Owner at Gillygate Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thanks for the review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.. Regards, Mark and Joyce

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 km away
The Gillygate
The Gillygate
#43 of 205 in York
365 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#31 of 205 in York
365 reviews
0.2 km away
Lamb & Lion Inn
Lamb & Lion Inn
#34 of 205 in York
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
No. 21 York
No. 21 York
#11 of 205 in York
683 reviews
0.4 km away
Minster Hotel
Minster Hotel
#25 of 205 in York
1,001 reviews
0.3 km away
Minster Walk Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished, high quality, boutique style accommodation offering locally sourced breakfast, next to the city walls and within 5 minute walk of the Minster and city centre. Luxury rooms all en-suite. Free private parking and WIFI throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gillygate Guest House

Address: 43 Gillygate, York YO31 7EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €88 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gillygate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gillygate Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the south sides are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles dannibear26, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms seem ok.”
 of 5 bubbles elijahc1, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Might be noisy at the front”
 of 5 bubbles stevepmorris, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Would advice those with poor mobility not to book the twin bedded room, but to choose a double room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles SheenaK569, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't book the attic unless you like cramped spaces and LOTS of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles marquittaholtsclaw, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5