We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,067 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge York Central Micklegate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,062: English reviews
Brixham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great stay as always. Requested a room out the back which I got. Only downside lift was not working and was on 3rd floor. Clean and well maintained. Very helpful staff. Extra tea and coffee was available for the room

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jacks1975_10
hull
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived mid afternoon, checkin was trouble free, 3rd floor room was large with TV and tea & coffee facilities. Comfortable bed and extra pillows were welcome. This is a very central hotel, fairly quiet and very clean. Lifts were not working at all during our 2 day stay, some complained ( and i suppose i would if i had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank phils1969
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No lift and sited on top floor with 7 month old baby and all that accompanies them as well as our luggage! Travel cot took 3 calls and a manager to finally arrange but on arrival it smelt of urine. An excellent member of staff took it upon themselves to not only source another travel cot but to assist us...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank owens102
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is everything you would expect from a budget hotel. Nothing really nice to say about the room or downstairs bar. The lift wasn't working so we had to struggle up three flights of stairs with our bags. On the plus side the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Very good central location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DSINGER111
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We're thankful to learn that our hotel team were helpful and friendly throughout your recent stay with us at our York Central Micklegate Travelodge and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you had a great stay and we will be sure to pass your feedback onto the hotel for you....

Sheffield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here many times and i know its a no frills budget hotel but this time round standards have slipped.The duvet on one bed was terribly stained but still covered by staff with a sheet ,the room looked tired with numerous stains on the walls and a dirty sink.Breakfast was a huge disapiontment .We were in the room for 9.30...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judycharma
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the breakfast service and the cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year with my two daughters. Was more expensive than normal but guess this was due to the time of year. I would expect this to mean good service, however the reception staff were not at all friendly. I needed my parking ticket endorsing for the NCP carpark. My ticket was taken...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K812EDmichelleh
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Many Thanks for submitting your review. We're so sorry to hear about your recent stay with us at our York Central Micklegate Travelodge where the staff were not polite and helpful. It is the utmost importance to us that guests receive a warm welcome and their needs are met during their visit so we are truly sorry that this did...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and comfy, in a great location that is easy to walk to all the main attractions. The noise at night outside the hotel was very bad with drunken people shouting and swearing. I didn't get much sleep because of this.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jolizb
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In my previous review I said if they changed the pillows by next visit I would give a 5 rating. 3 of us stayed on 19th December, and only booked on the morning of our stay. The pillows have been improved, and the room was as comfortable and clean as on all our other visits. Didn't stay for breakfast so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wendy s
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our York Central Micklegate Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that our hotel team were friendly and cheerful and your room was clean and tidy. We're really happy to see that we made a more positive impact on you since your last stay. We intend to offer our guests a quality and...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights from 16/12. Mum, dad and our 21 year old daughter. We have stayed here many times and never had a problem. Yes the rooms a basic but they serve the purpose of a city break. The location is great. I love the approach to the centre over the micklegate bridge. We have stayed in other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian S
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We pride ourselves in offering stays in convenient locations and we are pleased to see that we were able to provide you with a great stay in a location that was ideal for your trip to York. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location and typically comfortable Travelodge bed. The side lights didn't work so I couldn't indulge in my evening read before nodding off. The bathroom wasn't very nice, a cold and basic wet room style. I didn't try it out. Whole room looked pretty tired. The breakfast wasn't good, the mushrooms were practically dripping in oil and looked like they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheshiregal15
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're sincerely sorry to learn that you were not positively impressed with the standard of your accommodation and you were disappointed with our bar/cafe food quality. We will be sure to raise your feedback with our hotel management team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back and continue improving your views...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Travelodge York Central
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 46 in York
1,527 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.6 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €48 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Wakefield, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“anything about ground floor is OK”
 of 5 bubbles phils1969, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“So close to the city centre, it would be difficult to find a better value hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 230wendys, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No because I may not get it next time. Only joking we like front over micklegate”
 of 5 bubbles 98gillians, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the top floor overlooking the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasB390, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room not overlooking George Hudson Street where Popworld is situated.”
 of 5 bubbles 24marshallp, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay