We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,040 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,035: English reviews
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Budget hotel.. not much to tell. Very basic surroundings, clean and modern. Centrally located for all York has to offer. No car park but there's the NCP about 3 mins walk away and they give you a discount as a guest. Breakfast was a joyless experience with small choice of cereal, tepid milk and fruit salad. Sound proofing windows seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManInBlack64
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

It's been a good many years since we stayed at a Travelodge, but we got a good Superbreak deal to travel by train to York and stay there for 3 nights. The room was fine, but there was only a plastic (and uncomfortable) chair to sit on, when we are used to having at least a proper armchair. All the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott1949
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not a great experience this time. Room above the busy main road- even though it's December the room was so warm that we had to open the window but the noise was very loud and went on until 2am. Bars and pubs below within outside smoking area etc. The room was standard for travelodge so no real issue with bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked as last minute stay for the Christmas market. The room was well kept the bed extremely comfy. The shower was lovely. The staff very helpful. Thank you travel lodge you made our stay memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We're delighted to hear that your experience with us in our York Central Micklegate Travelodge was positive. Please allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is so pleasing to hear our staff have provided our expected high standard of service and we are thankful to learn this has been achieved. We hope that we can...

Larkhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good value for money, great location for exploring York enjoyed the Christmas markets and walking around the town. Enjoyed being near the river and close to good bars and restaurants. York is a beautiful city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night in November. Basic clean room, had all you would need for a stop over stay. Strange layout electrically as all of the usable sockets were together under the desk. Slept well and bed was comfy enough. Only downside for me was no local parking other than an NCP or if you waited around long enough and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefitnesswanderers
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive and you experienced a good night's sleep as this is what we like to hear. We will be sure to raise your feedback with our hotel management team. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we hope...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed before twice and it has been OK. And being honest this time was OK if you are looking for a cheap bed for 1 night but the points that unimpressed me were... 1. I was given a key to someone else's room at checkin and to had to lug the luggage back/forth after finding I had the wrong key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertie136
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge York Central Micklegate. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Central position but rooms and bathroom need upgrading. We did complain but were offered a room of equally poor quality. Price did not reflect the poor condition of room or bathroom. We were warned if outside noise but it didn't really bother us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Travelodge York Central Micklegate. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your...

Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our room was in the third floor opposite the local nightclub. The music, screaming, sirens etc continued till 5am! It was so loud I felt I was in pop world! Another Hotel guest decided to smoke in the corridor resulting in our room stinking as it came in through the large gap under the door! We had to complain at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairej656
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced in regards to room smell during your stay with us at Travelodge York Central Micklegate. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback....

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed her for two nights to do abit of Xmas shopping. Check in was 3pm. We got there early. Our room was ready so we were allowed to check in early. Room was clean, twin beds. Our first night the toilet leaked, so we moved rooms. It wasn't a problem, and we moved straight away. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ange_boro9
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the issue with the toilet in your room. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Travelodge York Central
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#35 of 46 in York
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €48 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 246 ,however it was spacious and quiet just needed a good clean and new beds”
 of 5 bubbles sootynsox, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles susie1233, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front view was just fine”
 of 5 bubbles Crisken39, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the 3rd floor which is the 'quiet floor' for business and family stays”
  • light not working
  • flooding again
  • mouldy again
  • more mould
  • mouldy corners
  • walk-in shower flooded after me having shower
 of 5 bubbles 980elag, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the back of the hotel if you want quiet. its noisy otherwise all night”
 of 5 bubbles F4933HZmikeh, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay