We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,034 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,029: English reviews
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed before twice and it has been OK. And being honest this time was OK if you are looking for a cheap bed for 1 night but the points that unimpressed me were... 1. I was given a key to someone else's room at checkin and to had to lug the luggage back/forth after finding I had the wrong key.... More 

Helpful?
Thank bertie136
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Central position but rooms and bathroom need upgrading. We did complain but were offered a room of equally poor quality. Price did not reflect the poor condition of room or bathroom. We were warned if outside noise but it didn't really bother us.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Susan W

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was in the third floor opposite the local nightclub. The music, screaming, sirens etc continued till 5am! It was so loud I felt I was in pop world! Another Hotel guest decided to smoke in the corridor resulting in our room stinking as it came in through the large gap under the door! We had to complain at... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank clairej656
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My friend and I stayed her for two nights to do abit of Xmas shopping. Check in was 3pm. We got there early. Our room was ready so we were allowed to check in early. Room was clean, twin beds. Our first night the toilet leaked, so we moved rooms. It wasn't a problem, and we moved straight away. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank ange_boro9
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the issue with the toilet in your room. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and husband stayed for a Saturday night whilst attending a friends birthday party. Nice central location. We had a room overlooking the nightclub, but apart from a little noise outside about midnight, it did not bother our us/our sleep, You could tell the hotel had been upgraded. The bathroom was neat clean (apart from an old razor blade cover... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deedee1001
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us... More 

Sunderland, Wearside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 1 night on 27th November and in an end room which was a disabled room on the 2nd floor room 246 , the wet room could have done with a clean the beds were 2 x single beds, they were the most uncomfortable beds i have ever slept in. Room was very basic , however reception staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank sootynsox
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. We are sorry to hear of the problems you faced whilst staying at Travelodge York Central Micklegate. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as this is far from the service we strive to provide. Thank you very much for... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel as a base to explore York and the Christmas markets. It was ideally situated for this purpose. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were able to leave our suitcase in a secure room while we went into the city. When we got back the room was ready for us... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Stevewild20014
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay, courteous staff and clean rooms, lovely breakfast and plenty of it, being on the 3rd floor also nice and quiet. Close to the city centre, walking was our preferred method but a host of local busses stop outside this Travelodge and will take you everywhere. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank robertwH4683CY
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice staff and comfortable rooms here. The hotel needed a bit of upkeep and a clean but nothing awful. I was in a corner room which overlooked a nightclub. The club was OK but the the young people coming and going made a row until after 1am.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank lisashendge
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central Micklegate, responded to this review

We fully appreciate that you have taken the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at York Central Micklegate Travelodge. We are pleased to learn that your room was clean and comfortable, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Please rest assured your feedback has been passed to our hotel team to... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A good basic place to stay. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. We had a room over looking the main street and it was a little 'shouty' in the early hours - it was also Graduation week so probably a bit of celebrating going on. It didn't really disturb us too much. Breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank susie1233

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Travelodge York Central
0.6 km away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#36 of 46 in York
1,701 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#34 of 46 in York
1,502 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central Micklegate

Address: Micklegate, York YO1 6JG, England (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: €49 - €128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge York Central Micklegate 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge York Central Micklegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Micklegate Hotel York
Ramada Hotel York
Ramada Encore York
Ramada York
York Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Hereford, United Kingdom

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central Micklegate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 246 ,however it was spacious and quiet just needed a good clean and new beds”
 of 5 bubbles sootynsox, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms at the back away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles susie1233, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front view was just fine”
 of 5 bubbles Crisken39, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the 3rd floor which is the 'quiet floor' for business and family stays”
  • walk-in shower flooded after me having shower
  • mouldy corners
  • more mould
  • mouldy again
  • flooding again
  • light not working
 of 5 bubbles 980elag, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the back of the hotel if you want quiet. its noisy otherwise all night”
 of 5 bubbles F4933HZmikeh, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay